10 Aug 2016 20:05 #317013
by dillinger10
I thought he looked a bit nervy to start with. Definitely a lack of foot movement, got pinned on the crease a few times, and then got a slice of luck as he wafted at one but Rahul couldn't hang on. It wasn't a fluent innings, but he showed good tenacity. Certainly deserving of his place in the side, IMO.
Brathwaite and Johnson have 3 out of the top 6 highest opening wicket partnerships over the last 2 years. They have opened the batting on 3 occassions together, and have accumulated a fifty partnership in all 3 innings.
13 Aug 2016 16:04 - 14 Aug 2016 08:20 #317486
hear nuh man. seriously. Leon Johnson is what 27-28 years old, with long regional career behind him that is hardly outstanding.
Leon Johnson as a race horse would have no chance of winning a race at all. he would be an older horse still in the starting ranks facing real younger guys who have already done better than he has in 10 tears.
there is literally no chance that Leon will have a successful test career just like a similar horse will not have any such career if he even wins a race.
you see dat horse wold be 4, 5, 6 years old and not won. and every horse he runs against would have done something better than he has. there is not the slightest chance that he can do anything at all with his younger competition.
you get my point. Leon has no chance of developing a successful test career. he is simply not good enuff.
its like Shive at 16-17 years old. he had done at that time what others at 20 and older had not done, against the same class and quality of opposition. you need nutten else...you know therefore that this guy is good, the real deal.
how many Guyanan players are like Leon? a lot of them.
Permaul and Bishoo have the advantage of taking a lot of wickets all along so if they make it even late, we know deh have a chance. as a batman Leon has not done that.
the Oz brought in a lot of older players who do well. when we look a their domestic records we see guys who have a chance because they have not made the side due to bad luck... but they are/were good.
its the same dam thing with Samules... we have his record. what the eff is he doing in the team?
Samules will never get better especially as he is aging. he is done, finished. as a race horse no real betting man will ever bet on Samules again. deh would look for younger players who are doing things, have something to show, judge the quality of that something and bet on the best assumption based on the best facts they can gather on the young tyros
when I look at Leon and Hope I am dismayed..yet I wud have bet on Hope because Leon is useless and 28, despite the fifty partnership in the first. second innings Bam!!! Duck soup
Last edit: 14 Aug 2016 08:20 by mapoui.
15 Aug 2016 10:47 #317607
by dillinger10
There is no disputing Leon's overall first-class numbers, but he has been pretty impressive in the PCL over the last two years with an average of 47.88 in 28 innings with 2 centuries and 5 fifties.
Looking over the numbers for opening batsman in the PCL over the last 2 years is depressing. Nary an average above 30 to be found. I guess Evin Lewis would be next in line, although his numbers in the PCL over the last 2 years are not as impressive as Leon's. In 15 innings, Lewis has an average of 38.80 with 1 century and 3 fifties.
The only other options would appear to be hoping for Gayle to return, moving Shai Hope up the order, or going back to Devon Smith (I was almost able to type that with a straight face).
The cupboard isn't just bare - the doors and shelves have been kicked in. West Indies aren't alone in this category though. There is a real dearth of quality young openers in the game today.
15 Aug 2016 10:57 #317611
yes we hardly have a cupboard anymore. but how did it come to this..that is the Q.
the wicb is the problem..cricket admin. it has to change or the cricket will die. its almost dead already
Rally Around West Indies!
We dont like Cricket. We love it.
Leon
Time to create page: 0.182 seconds