• Chin
03 Aug 2016 18:43 #315965 by Chin
Poor turnout in Tests worries WICB
by Cricbuzz Staff •
Last updated on Wednesday, 03 August, 2016, 12:45 PM

To compound the woes of their struggles on the field, West Indies cricket is also enduring a tough time off it, as empty stands have become a common sight in the ongoing Test series at home against India. The fans, clearly unhappy with the team's performances and the way things are run by the administration, haven't flocked the stands, leaving the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) in a state disarray.

Dave Cameron, the president of the WICB, expressed his concerns over the predicament and felt the board needed to step up their efforts in attracting audiences to the grounds. "As the West Indies Cricket Board, we need to do a lot more in terms of entertaining people at the ground," he said on Tuesday (August 2). "Right now, a lot needs to be done. We need to have wifi in the grounds, we need to be able to cater for children in a better way.

"Cricket, especially Test matches, is an entire-day experience. Parents want to be able to take their kids to the cricket, to be able to enjoy the cricket, and not be too mindful that their kids are going to drop off a chair. So I think there's a lot that we can do, in terms of 'sportainment', to ensure that the fans come out to the game and not just sit at home and watch the game."

The growing disparity in the quality of the West Indies teams in different formats could also be part of the problem. Between January and April, West Indies managed to clinch three World titles - U-19 World Cup, World T20 and Women's World T20 - but the Test team's form has been abysmal. In the ongoing series too, West Indies have been thoroughly outplayed by a far superior Indian outfit. Yet, Cameron firmly believes that the sport isn't dead in the country and there are supporters who still take keen interest.

"A lot of people, fans out there, are interested in what is going on. So it's not that the game is dead, it's how do you get eyes coming into the ground and watching it versus those who are watching on social media or on television.

"Part of why we don't have as much crowds today is the team is not the best team, and when I say the best team, meaning we're not winning at this point in time," he pointed out. "But, that said, I can assure you, based on our Professional Cricket League [the regional first-class competition] and where we're at right now in terms of development, in another year or so we'll see people coming back to watch Test cricket."

03 Aug 2016 19:39 #315971 by timmyj51

Euthanasia fully legal in cricket.  Jurassic going dodo...remove life support.    :'(

• hades_leae
04 Aug 2016 04:04 #315993 by hades_leae
I saw some footage of the stands being empty all the way around, it was pretty disappointing. I don't want to say that it's really anything wrong with that, I prefer to have all the seats to myself.

I saw some groups of people, but like you said, it's always mostly empty. Maybe the promoting of the game isn't reaching target audiences.

• Mail
04 Aug 2016 04:35 #315997 by Mail
When the Indian take over the WICB they will make them successful again.

I recall when the ESPN deal was signed I discussed the need to undertake initiatives to encourage crowds back to watch cricket but the focus was on TV revenues and yet the WICB is in financial turmoil.

As a player, especially playing at home, the support motivates and in fact that atmosphere is a good selling of the brand.

So the WICB has to ask itself what steps have we taken to ensure the games are marketed, promoted, subsidised for the young and old etc.

There is also the issue of spreading games far too thinly and some time ago you had over 75% of a tour being made available to less that 10% of the regions population and even those were played to empty Stadia.

Nice to have grounds in St Kitts etc but are those viable options.

I have heard about restructure the Professional league etc but have heard nothing about pitch improvements. Until that is done, a brand of cricket unfamiliar to the Caribbean will be produced.

The performance yesterday by Chase and Dowrich will go along way to speaking to supporters.

04 Aug 2016 07:51 #316009 by pwarbi
There seems to be a mixed opinion on the state of test match cricket, and even though a lot of game organisers are struggling to get the grounds filled, at the same time they are saying that attendances are on the up from what they used to be.

If that is the case and the attendances are on the increase again, then surely there isn't anything to worry about and in 5 years time every ground in the world will be packed to the rafters? No...I can't see it either...

04 Aug 2016 07:53 #316010 by mapoui

sureeee!  jess like the paradise they said deh wud make of TT wen deh take ovah! hahahaha

04 Aug 2016 08:01 #316014 by mapoui

Liar an' dem. deh all want to kill test cricket.  greeeeeed and visions of sugar plum in deh head wen deh considier a world full of T20 an' ODI

deh see american billions like baseball and baskeball.  deh see a river, an ocean of cash, dollars, rupees, pounds sterling.  deh see gold and silver, diamonds...money, money... money.....wealth, wealth, wealth..riches..endless riches from the huge cricket audience in the world...bigger than american 300 million :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

oh geeeeeed! 

wat tes' cricket ::confused::  dat is dino fuh dem..jurassic..way too late in the world.  shud have been interred already ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::deh doing their bes' to help it on its way.  hahahahaha.

but english grounds full..especially when is ashes.  Oz grounds too.  and if this stinking wicb of ours is cleaned up and we put a winning team back on the field, full of big fast bowlers, terrific batsmen amazing fieldsmen... BOOOOM!  look out!  here we go again!

doh min' dem. deh kilin' tes' cricket..is deliberate..a serious case of anticipated greeeeeeeeeeed >:( >:( >:(

04 Aug 2016 08:16 #316018 by pwarbi

Do you think it will be as simple as that though, to get people back watching test match cricket again in the West Indies? I do think that the entertainment factor is a big issue and with a more exciting team selection and proof that the team is going to play with a bit of excitement will no doubt bring the attendances up again, but will that be enough?

It's a genuine question by the way, as I know (as I'm sure we all do) what issues the WICB as had in recent years, and if it IS all down to money then I think that shows that until the WICB is totally restructured then there won't be any hope for test match cricket in the est Indies and you might as well just pack it in now.

04 Aug 2016 12:13 #316106 by timmyj51
Put yur Che beret away, Maps, da revolution iz DEAD... ::dead::

Only dodos still around are stuffed...taxiderm de tests...  ::yawn::

"And there shall be a new birth of
cricket FOR THE PEOPLE, ::love:: OF THE PEOPLE,  ::love::  [/size] BY THE PEOPLE" ::love:: 

04 Aug 2016 15:03 #316176 by mapoui

yes I do

Time to create page: 0.247 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Rylie