17 Jul 2016 13:13 #312679
Magnificent win under pressure by Pak. Reckon will be a series where batsmen will be under pressure because bowlers of both teams so good!
17 Jul 2016 13:23 #312683
by DownUnda
Jinx!
this defeat should bring you Poms back down to earth, y'all was getting a bit too cocky
17 Jul 2016 14:45 #312699
Ow Cuz, have some compassion nah !
dillinger, sorry meh brethren ....better luck at Old Trafford
Just think Lionel Messi and Soccer
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRAvdNf4T-PCGyvOoH0M1DnQOYgHBR_HS7nPa8q5PuOeNlclUXk0g
17 Jul 2016 18:51 #312702
Dilly and mail. Sorry guys. I feel for you. Think about us windies fans and how we feel so many times
17 Jul 2016 19:59 #312707
by dillinger10
Agree on this completely. England have only three consistent run scorers - Cook, Root and Bairstow. Too much pressure is being put on their shoulders to perform. Vince, while beautiful to watch, has continually found ways to get himself out. The jury is still out on Hales. Struggled against South Africa, scored heavily against a weak Sri Lankan attack. This series will be a big test for him.
Not a banner match for Moeen with bat or ball. He really has struggled over the last year, to the point where I'd play Rashid at Old Trafford. Rashid, Stokes and Anderson in for Moeen, Ball and Finn.
17 Jul 2016 20:04 #312708
by dillinger10
What an enthralling Test match. Edge of the seat stuff that last day. Seven and a half hours of gripping cricket. Anyone that says Test cricket is boring or dead needs to watch this on a loop. Incredible back and forth stuff.
Pakistan threw the kitchen sink at England. The Woakes and Bairstow partnership was a seriously intense two plus hours. They somehow pulled England back in with a sniff of a chance, only for Bairstow to be bowled by arguably the second worse ball Yasir bowled in the match. The pained expression on his face said it all. I felt bad for poor Woakes. 11 wickets in the match and two excellent innings with the bat, yet ended up on the losing side.
Fantastic atmosphere. Fans from both sides in full voice, cheering every good delivery and every run. Magnificent. If the remaining three matches are even half as good as this one, we are in for some series.
18 Jul 2016 04:54 #312731
Although a bitter pill to swallow, Pakistan created more opportunities and deserved to win.
This is a victory in 4 days and had they taken their catches it could have been over earlier.
You cannot blame the whole defeat on Moeen but he was very irresponsible in his approach and would not be surprised if he is now dropped, never to return.
Congrats to Pakistan and we will be back.
18 Jul 2016 05:58 #312733
That middle order is a bit problematic.
I have little time for Balance so I was surprised he returned to the team.
Halo really needs to start clicking consistently and eradicate these really soft dismissals, Vince needs a run.
Great fan of Mo but he too has to go but I suspect the selectors have shown, consistently and with some justification, a reluctance to make too many changes.
I would give Halo the next two tests, drop Moeen for Rashid and drop Ballance and bring back Bell.
1. Halo
2. Chef
3. Bell
4. Roooooot
5. Vince
6. Bairstow
7. Stokes
8. Woakes
9. Rashid
10. Broad
11. Jimmy
18 Jul 2016 10:24 #312744
In spite of, the naysers will remind us there is still ONE day left
in this 5 day format !
Sun, 17 Jul - day 4 - England 2nd innings 207 (75.5 ov) - end of match
**** England v Pakistan 1st Test Lords ****
Time to create page: 0.216 seconds