24 Jun 2016 23:38 #309447
Must win game? Semi final or final? Chasing?
Choke. Choke. Choke.
Time and time again.
South Africa has some kind of jinx on it.
25 Jun 2016 09:05 - 26 Jun 2016 12:15 #309448
Hashim Amla..I call him Alma..is not a player I admire at all. I don't see him as a great batsman.
Alma has scored a lot but he is not in my line up of really good Pakistani derived batsmen...like Majid Khan who used to stand up to west indian pace mano ah mano and deliver....or Miandad who was so hard to get out you often wud have had to shoot him and stretcher him off, because you cud get him no other way
now those are batsmen. Alma is just a boy compared to those. I don't even see him in the great Saffie line up as well.
and of course I don't want to like Alma as well ever since he refused to open the innings in test which is what he is qualified to do exposing Ashwell Prince to a bad situation for him
Last edit: 26 Jun 2016 12:15 by mapoui.
25 Jun 2016 09:51 #309459
Was that really a Choke ? Win Toss....send us in to Bat ?
a west indian record partnership ? Poor decision at the Toss by ABDV
25 Jun 2016 10:00 #309462
Remember whe we sent them in after Win Toss ?
343 is still the highest amount in this Tourney !
Amla Ton.
25 Jun 2016 11:45 #309493
Yes, it was. No matter the opposition, these guys repeatedly fail in clutch matches like this.
Amla in particular averages very poorly in ODI semi finals (in the 20s).
South Africa have no ICC trophies at all. They always seem to collapse spectacularly when they come close.
25 Jun 2016 12:02 #309497
I hear you BUT I still feel the decision at the Toss : is NOT a choke
lets hear dillinger
![:) :)](/media/kunena/emoticons/smile.png)
as a deciding ballot !
25 Jun 2016 14:15 #309525
by Big Cat
South Africa has a problem. You cannot afford to have such a world class and talented team and not win tournaments.
25 Jun 2016 14:17 #309526
by dillinger10
Just quickly digging through the numbers and doing some calculations.
West Indies 285 was the sixth highest score (in 64 completed innings) at the Kensington Oval. South Africa's 185 was far below the average score of 215.
Teams winning the toss have won 20 matches and lost 12. 1 match finished in a no result.
The majority of captains winning the toss opt to bowl first here. Teams winning the toss have bowled first in 23 matches. They have won 14 matches and lost 8 matches. 1 match finished in a no result.
Captains winning the toss and opting to bat first have won 6 and lost 4 in 10 matches.
Odds dictate that once South Africa won the toss and elected to bowl first, they should win 64% of the time.
25 Jun 2016 14:26 #309528
by dillinger10
I will add that my biggest problem with this current South African side is the makeup of the team. Their batting is incredibly thin. Behardien at 5 and Duminy at 6 isn't a recipe for success, IMO.
Over the last 2 years, South Africa have relied heavily on Amla, ABdV, de Kock and du Plessis to do all the scoring. If you can get them out cheaply, South Africa fold like a cheap suit. The only batsman outside of the big four to have put up respectable numbers with the bat is David Miller, but he has gone through a lean patch as of late and been omitted from the side.
26 Jun 2016 09:40 #309559
deh need ah dose of courage...some black blood in the team.
but wait!!!! :
dont' deh have a lot of african derived players in the side now ::confused::
oh guuuuuuuuuude!!! oh geeed! so if its not more black blood wat is it den::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
Ive never seen great batsmen choke as much as Amla and ABDV
Time to create page: 0.199 seconds