The ultimate WI ODI team?

23 Jun 2016 07:57 - 23 Jun 2016 08:02 #309098 by TRINIDADDY
Marlon Samuels' recent ODI form got me thinking: could Samuels make an ALL TIME WI ODI XI?

I'm thinking this is our best lineup:

Greenidge
Haynes
Lara
Viv
Sarwan
Gayle
Ambrose
Narine
Garner
Andy Roberts
Malcolm Marshall

You could probably drop Haynes, but I'm not sure for who. You could probably also find a spinner better than Narine (Gibbs? Sonny Ramadhin?).
Last edit: 23 Jun 2016 08:02 by TRINIDADDY.

23 Jun 2016 09:01 - 23 Jun 2016 14:15 #309100 by mapoui
DI'ZE AH GOOD TEAM. i LIKE DAT TEAM.  BUT IT HAVE ONE SMALL PROBLEM..NO KEEPER!

Narine is the spin man..proven in the format and not by any simple margin nidah. 

Gibbs and dem wud have to learn and dat wud take time.  deh wud have only disdain fuh the short format and dat wud be a problem....

drop Haynes fuh whom...Kanhai dats who!  he is a legend who would have take to ODI/T20 like duck to wartuh.  and he was a greater bat dan Haynes.

AND KANHAI CUD KEEP WICKETS :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

and with dat bowling teams wud make little to no runs against west indies.  as long as dem test an dem stay fit they wud rule the world
Last edit: 23 Jun 2016 14:15 by mapoui.

23 Jun 2016 09:03 #309101 by mapoui
AND IF WE MUS' INSIS' ON A KEEPER THEN DUJUN OF COURSE..DROP ANDY :( :( :( :( :(

23 Jun 2016 10:35 #309109 by ketchim
Nice thread !

Mapoui , we did win the 60 overs format

Twice and was gonna 3peat !

• Mail
23 Jun 2016 11:00 #309115 by Mail
1.  Greenidge
2.  Fredericks
3.  Vivian
4.  Lara
5.  Kanhai (+)
6.  Sobers
7.  Collis King
8.  Marshall
9.  Ramadhin
10. Ambrose
11. Garner

12. Kallicharan
13. Roberts

I know the tradition is to stick with Greenidge and Haynes but I opted for Fredericks with his old opening partner.

Fredericks had great technique, quick on his feet and swivelled well on the hook, so he gets my nod.

I have conformed to the age of Batsman Keeper and I have give the original Master Blaster and the innovator himself Kanhai the number 5 batting spot and the keeping position.

A surprise for many might be Collis King but coming in at 7 with Marshall yet to come makes a formidable batting line up. King hits the ball hard and can destroy attacks.

The spin attack will be lead by the great Ramadhin supported by Richard and if required Sobers who would also, with King, provide medium pace options.

Then we have the greatest West Indian fast bowler of all time, Marshall who is also no mug with the bat.

Ambrose and Garner will just tie batsman into submission.

I had to get another two greats in the 13, Kallicharan and Roberts

23 Jun 2016 13:04 #309143 by mapoui
Mail..we have to do as much justice as we can to the real history of the shorter forms of the game

which means we have to give precedence to those who excelled at them..at world class levels...which is why Sarwan is a first choice.  he was one of the best ever ODI batsmen.

Viv and Greenidge select themselves and Kanhai too.  and if you want to go back to Fredericks you are on solid ground because of Fredericks greatness and batting style.  Fredericks fits right in..a massive choice.

as with Sarwan so with Narine.  Narine is unimpeachable as a shorter form guy and by WORLD STANDARDS too. not by personal opinion and argument.  there aint no body our there better than he has been. 

Narine cant be left out for Ramadin who had no idea of 50-60 overs and T20. and Gibbs too.  we have Narine and he is the best man for the job by any and all margins and standards.

so dat is fixed..finished..one spinner for the team and its Narine ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

23 Jun 2016 13:09 #309145 by ketchim

BTW do anyone recall the reason for chopping 10 overs off

and make ODI just 50 overs from the 60 in the Inaugural WC 75, 79 and 83  ????

maybe dillinger ..... :-\

23 Jun 2016 13:13 #309146 by mapoui
so weh Dillinger..statistics cricket gunslinger :-[ :-[ :-[

23 Jun 2016 13:13 #309147 by ketchim

better than Collis King ....lemme pull player profile !

www.espncricinfo.com/westindies/content/player/52290.html

www.espncricinfo.com/westindies/content/player/52969.html

23 versus 43 ODI average !  :-[

18 versus 181 matches

23 Jun 2016 13:19 - 24 Jun 2016 12:34 #309150 by mapoui
Even Baptiste was better than King. 

and doh talk about Julien... before he surrendered to his inner party monster ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
Last edit: 24 Jun 2016 12:34 by mapoui.

Time to create page: 0.192 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Jamarion