17 May 2016 10:19 #304710
Mapoui , that is all I ask zacaroni NOT to do :
when writing, hit home at any malfeasance
(great word in this context, Maps)
real or perceived !
and not just be a romantic with goo goo gah gah kissing up .......
This style only maintains the status quo.
17 May 2016 11:07 #304719
the 'I like Button' doh wuk anymore.
good replay ketchim!
{ I Like}
17 May 2016 11:25 #304722
LoL ...I also tried on your post but de damn button not working !
I did not see it as speaking ill of the dead , at all at all !!
17 May 2016 14:47 - 17 May 2016 22:42 #304747
they have a critical role to play Mail. they did not play that role, have not played that role, still do not play that role.
that role is to speak the truth about west indies cricket on all levels of its existence. that helps the public to participate effectively in the game. it also makes the players position known andgives them a fighting chance to get action on their case, some kind of compromise that works and keeps the cricket going.
if the journos do their jobs...there is no way in hell Skameron can do what he did/do as he does and get away with it. no way in hell.
in fact properly covered skameron could not even get elected, far less re-elected to the wicb presidency.
Skameron and Wavell Hinds are utterly corrupt, totally corrupt. they have contravened historic social achievements by the west indian people, in their struggle for social fairness, decent wages for services rendered etc.
Hinds and Skameron have taken labor relations in the west indies backward by at least 2 generations...if not all the way back to Frank Worrell at the end of the 19-forties in the west indies.
LOOK AT THAT EH mAIL! ALL OF THAT AND THE MEDIA NEVER EVER ONCE DISCUSSED THAT ISSUE, FROM THAT POINT OF VIEW.
I HAVE SEEN NOWHERE AT ALL ANY OF THEM APPROACH THAT ISSUE AS WIDELY AS POSSIBLE, TO DEMONSTRATE TO THE PEOPLE WHAT IN FACT HAPPENED IN THE CRICKET BY THAT COLLUSION BETWEEN hINDS AND sKAMERON...THE UTTER CORRUPTION OF THOSE 2 MEN.
IN AMERICA THEY WOULD HAVE BEEN ARRESTED AND CHARGED WITH COLLUSION TO SUBVERT THE LABOR NEGOTIATION/ARBITRATION PROCESS AND FACED SERIOUS JAIL TIME
NO JOURNO PLACED THAT COLLUSION IN PROPER HISTORICAL AND CURRENT PERSPECTIVE... AND WHAT IT REALLY AND TRULY MEANS NOT ONLY FOR WEST INDIES CRICKET..BUT FOR LABOR RELATIONS IN THE REGION.
IF CROZIER WAS SO GREAT THAT IS THE FIRST THING HE WOULD HAVE DONE, FOR HE WOULD HAVE IN RECOGNIZING THE CRUCIAL NATURE OF THAT DEVELOPMENT EXPLAINED IT TO THE PEOPLE.
CROZIER DID NOT SUCH THING. THE WICB GOT OFF SCOT FREE BY HIM, FAZEER, BISHOP, DUJON..BY ALL OF THEM
Last edit: 17 May 2016 22:42 by mapoui.
17 May 2016 17:29 #304764
I agree they have a role to play in reporting the truth objectively but in my view cannot be held culpable for the demise of West Indian cricket!
That to me is preposterous as the demise is a combination of a number of factors, not least the poor, cumbersome, governance absent administration.
As I said if CARICOM cannot make a difference???
zacaroni
17 May 2016 18:21 #304771
by zacaroni
But what if these men don't agree with your point of view? What if they think the WICB has been doing the best they can?
It seems your main problems with them is that they have not carried the fight you think they should be carrying. What if they disagree?
17 May 2016 19:08 #304772
Zac,
I cannot imagine anyone in their right, objective, independent minds would agree with what the WICB has been doing fro many years now.
The WICB does not adopt effective governance full stop!
No organisation can be accountable without governance, embedded into its operational consciousness.
The Wilkins recommendations, commissioned by the WICB, was largely ignored after which he terminated his association.
It made sense, practical and would have taken steps to address its growing costs in light of dwindling income.
It is a gravy train.
17 May 2016 22:31 #304778
I agree in principle that the journos could be of a collective mind in line with the wicb. I could see Bish there..Dujon too.
Fazeer is wishy washy and I don't know where he will light ideologically.
but Crozier and Reds, Becca... would all light on the side of the wicb almost regardless of what they do up in there... although I thought I saw Crozier hovering around what may have been his limit once or twice..around the behavior of Hinds/Skameron, and the Indian fiasco.
but the wicb wields a big stick and we cant really be sure how those guys would cover the cricket with a free hand.
yet as Mail noted the behavior of the wicb is so egregious, destructive, that no one in their right mind could agree with much they do from any ideological angle/perspective
yet despite wicb power, there ought to have been some courage among the journos. there appears to be none at all Zac...no courage or care.. strong enough to buck the trend and power of the wicb
18 May 2016 09:40 #304797
The Crux of the matter is that newspapers are the MOST informative
TO the general public and Journalist do have a responsibility
to be fortright and honest with its Citizens/readership.
None.... during the decline of west Indies Cricket....were hard hitting
on the bureaucrats !
and continue to this day .
zacaroni
18 May 2016 10:13 #304812
by zacaroni
Again I will ask: What if they didn't share your point of view? You want them to say things they don't believe?
Tony Cozier Tribute: WI Cricket Has Lost Its Voice
Time to create page: 0.233 seconds