Destructive Gayle up there with Viv Richards, says Simmons

17 Mar 2016 08:22 #296826 by chairman
MUMBAI, (Reuters) – Not many players over the years have been compared to Viv Richards but Chris Gayle’s ability to destroy opposition attacks puts him right up there with the batting great, according to West Indies coach Phil Simmons.

The tall left-handed West Indies opener made a mockery of a steep 183-run target set by England at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday, smashing an unbeaten 100 to set alight the World Twenty20.

Simmons, who has seen his fair share of maverick West Indies batsmen during his long career, reserved the highest praise for Gayle after he clubbed 11 sixes to overtake Brendon McCullum’s career record for the most in internationals in the format.

“To destroy an attack like that, the only person in my time that I would put him with is Sir Vivian because Sir Vivian used to go out there and destroy attacks like that,” Simmons told reporters after the match.

“I think he is up there with Sir Viv in the way he tears apart attacks.”

The gum-chewing Richard ripped apart bowling attacks with a swagger that is part of cricketing folklore and the now 64-year-old Antiguan is considered a benchmark for attacking batting.

A number of batsmen over the years have gone on to achieve more than Richards did but very few have been able to strike as much fear in the minds of bowlers.

“Bat 15 overs for me. That’s all I need from you,” Simmons said when asked what he tells Gayle before the opener walks out to bat.

“I know that once you bat fifteen overs, we would be somewhere near to the target we want to be setting or chasing.”

Gayle’s unbeaten 100 on Wednesday, his second century at a World Twenty20, helped paper over the cracks of West Indies’ tumultuous build-up.

The 2012 champions were embroiled in a contract dispute with their board, who threatened to send a second string team to the tournament.

The victory over 2010 champions England, almost without breaking sweat, underlined their status as one of the most dangerous teams in the tournament.

South Africa, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan — the other teams in Group One — will already be hoping Gayle has an off day against them.

“You think it is a big statement, but there is more to come,” Simmons promised.

• Observer
17 Mar 2016 10:19 #296831 by Observer
Yes, I agree that Gayle is up there. In fact, I believe he is a more destructive batsman than Viv was. It was awesome seeing Gayle ticking off those sixes against England without much bother. Viv would have been better at placement to the boundaries, however, he would not be able to match the sheer power hitting of Chris Gayle.

17 Mar 2016 10:21 #296832 by ketchim
Trini Simmons comess as per usual !

Chin would post this thread !  ::LOL::

17 Mar 2016 10:48 #296838 by timmyj51
Yuh, muhn, CG strikly follwin' "cricket tactics"    ::LOL:: 8)

Time to create page: 0.165 seconds
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 02:16)(02:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 19:51)(19:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
Alden