CARICOM upping pressure on WICB over cricket

20 Feb 2016 10:44 #292943 by chairman

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, CMC – Regional grouping CARICOM has warned the West Indies Cricket Board it will “explore all options” to ensure the recommendations of its Cricket Governance Committee Report are implemented.

The new resolve to tackle the contentious issue comes following the 27th Inter-Sessional Conference of CARICOM Head of Government in Belize this week where regional prime ministers endorsed the recommendations of the Governance Panel’s report and “affirmed that they must be implemented.”

Speaking to CMC Sports on Friday, chairman of CARICOM’s Prime Ministerial sub-committee on cricket – Grenada’s Prime Minister Dr Keith Mitchell – said Heads were not “joking around” with the issue and would be approaching international bodies like cricket world’s governing body, the ICC, along with the powerful Indian Cricket Board, to make their position known.

“The Heads agreed to explore all options available to achieve the desired outcome of improved governance of West Indies cricket and undertook to inform concerned parties of their position,” Mitchell said.

“In other words, all relevant organisations involved in West Indies cricket will be informed of the entire Heads of Government position on this extremely important matter.

“There was unanimous support for the report of the Governance Committee and we have indicated also that we will be making contact with the international bodies and the BCCI to inform them of the governments’ position.”

The major recommendation of the Governance Report was the “immediate dissolution of the West Indies Cricket Board and the appointment of an interim board whose structure and composition would be radically different from the now proven, obsolete governance framework.”

Additionally, the report called for the appointment of an interim board and a change management expert to run the affairs of regional cricket until the new governance structure was implemented.

Last December, the WICB flat out rejected the main recommendations of the Committee, branding them “unnecessary and intrusive.” The board criticised the Committee’s investigations as being “limited in scope” and argued this had resulted in findings which “are not supported by the facts.”

Mitchell, though, remained adamant that CARICOM would be resolute in ensuring the report’s recommendations were followed through on.

“The fact that we have said that we will use all options to ensure that the report is implemented, the West Indies Cricket Board can say it is dead but they may not have the wherewithal to ensure that it is dead,” Mitchell stressed.

“If the Heads represent the entire population of the region and the Heads have stated firmly that this is an issue that concerns the entire … peoples of the region. I don’t know any organisation that represents just a few persons can in fact negate that position of the Heads.

“If one does not respect the people in any community in any organisation then you are in fact worthless, as far as we are concerned so I don’t think there is any question that the Heads will ensure that this report – its substance and conclusion – are given teeth and this is precisely what we will be doing.”

Barbados’ Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, speaking on the fringes of the conference, said the Heads planned to approach the ICC “with a view to heightening awareness about the governance problems that have been be-devilling the administration of West Indies cricket.”

Stuart assured that CARICOM was not attempting “to take over West Indies cricket or to try to run West Indies cricket” but said the WICB’s “standards of corporate governance at the moment are undesirable, and that they have been doing much to undermine the integrity of West Indies cricket, and certainly, are compromising the standards to which we in the Caribbean have grown accustomed.”

He added: “Some Heads of Government have already come to the conclusion that it is a waste of time trying to engage [in discussions with] the present West Indies Cricket Board and therefore, there has to be an appeal elsewhere and other measures have to be adopted to sensitise the West Indies Cricket Board to the concerns of both Heads of Government and the people of the region”.

The Governance Committee was headed by UWI Cave Hill Principal Professor Eudine Barriteau and included Sir Dennis Byron, president of the Caribbean Court of Justice; West Indies cricket legend Deryck Murray; Warren Smith, president of the Caribbean Development Bank; and Dwain Gill, president of the Grenada Cricket Association.

20 Feb 2016 11:12 #292949 by ketchim
All Talk .....

23 Feb 2016 23:43 #293492 by mapoui
why the eff they have to go to the ICC and to the BCCI  for::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
::angry:: ::angry:: ::angry:: ::angry::

nutten pissin' me off like that.  the must go to the west indian people who put they deh and to whom they are responsible...not the BCCI/ICC.  phuck dem!!!!! what deh have to do with the west indies >:( >:( >:( we have to answer to them for our cricket...

not them!!!... the west indian people.  deh must go to the west indian people and then remove the wicb from existence/muirhead and company.

how can these wicb guys function in the region if the regional secretariat want them out and they buck up >:( >:( >:( >:(  I don't understand that at all.  the wicb is just a lil simple NGO.  weh the eff the wicb get all this power from to buck the powers that be in the region ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

I wud imagine a few well placed phone calls and skameron is toast in the region..banks accounts frozen, no job..all manner of difficulties in his way like his mortgage called etc etc e

I have never been more ashamed to be west indian than I am now in this total ridiculous unmanly crap I am seeing here

I wud imagine a few well placed phone calls and skameron is toast in the region..banks accounts frozen, no job..all manner of difficulties in his way like his mortgage called etc etc etc.

and I imagine once they get rid of this wicb they must organize its replacement in ways to ensure it never gets as powerful as these guys appear to be

• Observer
26 Feb 2016 09:24 #293824 by Observer
Caricom, is there a Caricom? I do believe that there should be organization or structure which should regulate the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) because it seems they are accountable to no one. However, when I hear of this Caricom resolution I have a laugh. Caricom is no different than the WICB. They have hardly been able to agree on anything and they constantly violate those treaties that they endorse. To me, Caricom is a non-entity.
What is been done here is an attempt by some to further their insular desires. We should be able to come up with a credible committee to  oversight the WICB, without these leaders being directly involved.

15 Apr 2017 18:47 #339674 by BORA AND PORK
I might be wrong, but if I own a brand, I will not want it to be associated with the product that is West Indies cricket.

Time to create page: 0.206 seconds
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 20:22)(20:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 18:40)(18:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 02:16)(02:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 19:51)(19:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
Annika