20 Sep 2015 10:09 #272194
PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad (CMC) -- Former West Indies Test opener Philo Wallace has disagreed with the decision to appoint Jason Holder Test captain and believes the responsibility will prove too much of a burden for the young player.
Wallace said Holder had displayed leadership potential, but warned that the new responsibility was a premature move by selectors.
"Jason has shown good leadership qualities so far, but I think to put him as Test captain at the age of 23 is just not right," the Trinidad Guardian quoted Wallace as saying on the CRICKET360 show here.
"He has not led Barbados in the PCL (Professional Cricket League) and to give him captaincy in the longer format without the experience is too much at this stage in my opinion.
"Jason has a tremendous amount to offer West Indies cricket, but we must be careful that we don't push him too soon, which I think is what is happening here."
Holder was earlier this month named to replace Denesh Ramdin as Test skipper, adding to the responsibility of One Day captain.
At 23, Holder has played only eight Tests and 33 One Day Internationals in a fledgling career, but is highly regarded among the Clive Lloyd-led selection panel.
Wallace said, however, that Holder's appointment could also cause some disruption in the Barbados set-up where Kraigg Brathwaite was already captain.
"When you look at the Barbados set-up, Kraigg Brathwaite is the captain of the team in the PCL. Kraigg, who was put as understudy to Ramdin, remains the vice-captain, and this is also puzzling to me," said Barbadian Wallace, who played seven Tests and 33 ODIs.
"He is the captain of the Barbados team in the longer format, Jason plays under him and now he will play under Jason in the Test team.
"This puts the Barbados Cricket Association in a very interesting position and they will now have to decide whether they continue with Brathwaite as captain, or remove him and put Holder."
Holder will lead the Test squad for the first time when they travel to face Sri Lanka in two Tests starting next month.
20 Sep 2015 11:01 - 20 Sep 2015 11:17 #272214
deh do not care Philo..they do not care if he burns out. if he does they will get another force ripe youth to fill the spot..maybe Dowrich ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
what they want is all the seniors off the team..to have an underpaid totally controlled team on the field that does what its told told, led around by its collective nose by Whinds/WIPA ..no possibility of labour strife.
all this talk about young Jase is cover. they do not care about lil Jase at all. he is just a tool to be used to further wicb purpose..total control of the cricket to ensure their own survival as a rapacious bureaucracy.
they do not even care about the cricket whether west indies win or lose. they do not care if the team is any dam good as long as it is out there the centre of a flow of cash that pays for all that goes on in the west indian game..especially their salaries
under this kind of management west indies will never win again..will never be good again. the wicb knows that they will not be getting any real talent anymore for they pay too little to attract quality players anymore
BUT THEY WICB DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THAT. THAT IS NOT THEIR REAL PURPOSE..TO DEVELOP REAL SUCCESSFUL WEST INDIES CRICKET.
THEIR PURPOSE IS TO MAINTAIN THEIR BUREAU AT THE EXPENSE OF THE CRICKET. THEY DO NOT GIVE AN EFF ABOUT ANYTHING BUT THAT..CERTAINLY NOT ABOUT LIL JASON HOLDER..NOR DINESH RAMDIN AND SO ON..
west indies cricket is now an abomination in a neo-liberalized game. good luck to it!
Last edit: 20 Sep 2015 11:17 by mapoui.
413x
20 Sep 2015 11:59 #272235
by 413x
Wallace you are so correct. Hope you are not just saying this to go against popular opinion. Where do we go with Brathwaite. What is Barbados' reaction to the situation. Is Holder now the captain of Barbados, with Brathwaite leading Barbados only when Holder is away. The selectors are starting to believe there own story, "it was the captains that did it for the WI Teams back in the days."
We need to hear from Sir Garfield, if he would speak his mind.
20 Sep 2015 12:09 #272240
Holder is a good choice for captain, providing he does well with the bat and moves up the order a bit. We don't want Brathwaite burdened with captaining. He is young, and an opener. That's enough stress for him to handle.
Philo Wallace has disagreed with the decision to appoint Jason Holder
Time to create page: 0.198 seconds