31 Jul 2015 09:53 #265895 by Chin
Only WI to blame
Ex-selector Findlay laments likely Champions Trophy exclusion

Published on Jul 30, 2015, 9:00 pm AST
By Mark Pouchet

Former West Indies selector Michael Findlay says the Caribbean team has only themselves to blame if they do not qualify for the ICC 2017 Champions Trophy.

The top eight ranked International Cricket Council (ICC) teams qualify for the ODI competition in two year’s time. But with the tri-nations tournament between Zimbabwe, West Indies and Pakistan now officially off, the West Indies are now ranked ninth and outside the qualification criteria and will have no other opportunity to improve their ranking before the September 30 cut-off date.

“Like most West Indians, I am disappointed that the West Indies won’t be going to that tournament. But we have only ourselves to blame because we haven’t been playing good cricket,” Findlay told the Express.

Findlay said that the West Indies being in ninth position in the ICC rankings emphasises the poor state of WI cricket.

“We have moved from virtually world champions when we almost played unbeaten for 15 years to the other end of the spectrum. And even though we have won the Champions trophy once (2004) and been runners-up on two occasions, now we can’t even qualify,” Findlay added

Findlay said the problem lies in the amount of technical faults and flaws with which Wets Indies cricketers enter international cricket.

Findlay believed that One-day and Twenty20 cricket have helped to improve not only the West Indies performance in fielding, but fielding across all countries. But the former West Indies wicketkeeper said the region has not systematically addressed the bowling and batting flaws.

“The core of the problem is we are not doing the fundamentals stuff correctly. When you analyse it, why are our batsmen begin caught behind the wicket so many times? It is because they are playing away from their bodies, they don’t know where their off stump is and so on, “ Findlay related.

While commending the WICB’s Scotiabank Kiddies Cricket initiative, Findlay said the technical issues needed to be targeted at the primary school level more than the secondary school level, way before players reach the under-15 and under-19 stages. He said Caricom, which has signalled it wants to become more involved in West Indies cricket, should concentrate its efforts on implementing good coaching and programmes at the primary school level.

“We should not at the stage of first-class and international level be looking at cricketers who have so many technical flaws,” Findlay said, adding that the Australians made the West Indies look like fools in their 2-0 win in the Caribbean earlier this year.

Findlay added that the WICB and the national cricket associations also needed to find a system to properly identify talent and monitor the progression from primary school and to every subsequent level .

Saying the region contained several talented players, Findlay said the cricketers also needed to apply themselves better by thinking through situations on the field of play.

Asked when he expected the West Indies to get back to the near dominance of their glory years, Findlay said; “I am going to be 72 and I don’t think I will live to see us getting back close to that until and unless we start seriously addressing these issues.”

31 Jul 2015 13:32 #265993 by chairman
need a lara and ambrose to develop quick

31 Jul 2015 14:08 #266009 by Rowe992
Of course the West Indies cricket board is to be blamed as well as the players for their poor performances over the years. Losing to Ireland in the world cup opening was just the icing on the cake.

31 Jul 2015 14:53 #266017 by ketchim
Mapoui blames the Board for the wukliss players performance !

AND condones a "Walk Off The Job " by 3 wukliss Trinis

...that cost the Board 42 million bucks...

31 Jul 2015 18:17 - 01 Aug 2015 12:49 #266057 by mapoui
chairman..can you do something about sketchim telling lies on the board when the truth is obvious:

the players had the right to strike..it was a labour dispute after all.

the wicb is responsible to see that all commitments they make are carried out.  so if there was a threat to the tour then the board should have made haste to reconcile it so that the tour could go on...or otherwise arrange to send another side there to carry out the tour.

the tours are the wicb responsibility to arrange and to cancel.  the players are to see after their interest as labour, and if they are not properly met, and the admin refuses to negotiate they can walk, which is what they did.

the wicb through its president cancelled the tour...did not negotiate at all to preserve the tour, far less negotiate in bad faith.  skameron never tried.  he said what was agreed to between he and Hinds stood.  that was it take it or leave it.  the players walked and he Skameron with the authority vested in him cancelled the tour.

that is the truth..the only truth..and nothing but. 

I cannot stand ketchim any more going on and opn with the lies, beating up on Bravo and Pollard..and now Ramdin too is getting punished for no good reason save the absolute nasty, brutal and barbarous behavior of Skameron, the wicb chairman, who has brought west indies cricket to its lowest ebb ever..Skameron even worse than Hunter.

Skameron is so rotten the BCCI tried to get him out of west indies cricket which was wrong. they were interfering but I know how they feel.

now west indies miss an important tournament due to skamerons mismanagement.  how much more will Sakameron cost west indies cricket before Ketchim stops his bullsh!t ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

west indies cricket is dying in front of our eyes and all sketchim goes on with is the most egregious, unhelpful crap there is. he is letting smakeron walk, giving him a pass instead of looking to lock his rarse up!

workers have a right to strike.  the wicb was on the warparth. Skameron set up the bacchanal with Hinds... both of them... and he refused to budge.  he was out to break the union period. but he is a dotish and pompous man that Skameron...  he is all ego and no mental skills and training in logic.  he is not smart at all, precipitating constantly, events that destroy west indies cricket.

Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard are not be blamed at all for the cancellation of the Indian tour of India.  no party to this issue ever even hinted at blame for them..not the BCCI  most significantly.  not a peep from them on those 2.

the BCCI blames Skameron and the wicb.  they have sued the wicb.. not Bravo and Pollard.

I come to this board to participate in some common sense not to get pissed off constantly by dotishness like this..especially at this time when the crisis is at hand. 

I mean if I am wrong about anything I can correct myself or be corrected.  but to go on and on with the same lie, especially about players who stood up in their interest like big men should..players who have acted strongly in traditional west indian ways..players who for that reason and more I respect a whole lot.

we should be giving those 2 players their dues for standing up.  that is the example we want our young people to see and emulate..to stand and fight for our rights, for progress, the betterment of things generally.

why the phrig are we beating upon good men for solid behavior ::confused::

we beat up on uncle Toms and arse kissers, on sell out and traitors. and right here we have 2 men who have stood up like the way we want and need all our people too to stand up... and Ketchim constantly beats them down..against all evidence, against all truth >:( >:( >:( >:(

I cant take this crap anymore.  let sketchim take the whole board and all day long let him chat his constant crap, beat up whats right and celebrate whats wrong...I don't give and eff.  but I don't want to hear it thats all

the players had a right to walk when the wicb refused to negotiate.  that's it!  they are not bound by any law or common responsibility to see the tour through at their own expense..just like sketchim has the right to talk any amount of crap here regardless of my displeasure.  but I don't have to hear it, see  it, or read the dam nonsense
Last edit: 01 Aug 2015 12:49 by mapoui.

01 Aug 2015 05:27 - 01 Aug 2015 12:35 #266066 by mapoui
to keep blaming Bravo and Pollard..to blame them in the first place one must prove intent......

did they go to India with the intent of sabotaging the tour..to create an issue that would allow them to strike and so cancel the tour to the huge pending west indian financial cost ::confused::

how can that be when they went on faith and could have had no idea what was afoot between wavel hinds and skameron ::confused:: 

and why was the deal announced at such a time..when he players were on tour with no agreement ::confused::

who decided that that was the best time to expose that deal and why ::confused::

that deal destabilized the relations between the wicb and the players who expressed their disagreement and sought explanation and redress, for they had not given their leader the right to so negotiate.  what is clear is that a collusion took place between the wicb president and players leader that put west indies cricket at risk.

2 grown men..Skameron and hinds got together clearly and organized to beat the players down, to drive their renumaration from the game through the floor, to take the game backwards, past the time when Sir Frank Worrell took his action to fight the old board on pay for play.

Can sketchim in good conscience, take the position he does on this flow of atrocious wicb behavior ::confused::

we are looking here at a wicb administration which to call it rightwing would be kind. 

it is the worst of neo liberal elitist bullsh!t!  and to note that it is black west indians behind it is a sickening realization indeed..we do this to our own. and now we have an idiot sketchim besides himself in support of this stone age elitist policy.

look it is all well and good to play devil's advocate you know..but in doing so there must be good logic to it, and good purpose.  the process must be a learning one, a purposeful one. but joke is one thing..dam joke is another.. as we say back in Trinidad. dam joke is jackass and dangerous..while real good joke is funny and logical learning experience.

this here with sketchim is now dam joke..stupid and destructive joke..joke that by Googsm that it is legit for Hinds to collude with Skam to produce this crap, as if the totally destructive consequences are not obvious.

look it wont end:  there is the compensatory BCCI lawsuit and on-going punishment of players, Ramdin's turn now. not to mention the total re-construction of the team to produce such a locho west indian team that we are now #9 and falling fast

this is the result of a most stupid and incompetent dictator running west indies cricket at the head of a parasitic board which will not reign him in... because they are all feeding at the cricket trough.  Skameron must be the absolute worst chair of west indies cricket ever.  in that regard he bears comparison to Errol Dos Santos back in the mid 19-fifties who was a truly destructive cricket official...the worst previous to our current boy

somebody is surely paying for Skameron... just like they were paying for David Granger to become PM of Demerara..EXXON.  imagine Skameron as PM of the yard one day not so distant!  oh mi god!

but someone is likely also paying for sketchim, for him to proliferate the range of truly ridiculous and backward opinions he fills this board with, that mucks up good debate, deflects pursuit of truth and occupies all our time with stultifying nonsense

I say freedom of speech but truth.  all talk shud be towards the discovery of truth, its expansion and development, or we are in a corrupt realm of talk.  talk becomes propaganda for corrupt purposes if it is not truthful a base. if I need corrupt talk, all I got to do is to read any news or listen or watch news on a screen..or read almost any printed material

that's what we have here now with sketchin..the constant repetition of lies which is mental conditioning.  repetition of lies..the same lies, almost word for word all the time... impervious to and unaffected by any contrary reasoning no matter how obviously more truthful and accurate it is,opposed to the repeated lies.  yet sketchim goes on and on with the same nonsense, punishing people for no apparent and worthy reason..this time Pollard ad Dwayne Bravo

why destroy those 2 solid men ::confused:: what did they do to deserve such determined vicious attack ::confused:: ::confused::

the are not general great cricketers but in their chosen format they are very exciting players, indeed prolly great there.  but if they are not great otherwise its not their fault.  they do the best they can. why beat them up because they do not play tests like Sobers or Lloyd ::confused::

and as Human beings Pollard and and Bravo are solid young men who have taken care of themselves, earn a living and are not in jail or in trouble on west indian streets.

I don't understand what sketchim is all about, but it seems ridiculous, destructive to me..very religious even..as if by some jackass doctrine the players were supposed to take wicb dictat regardless of what it is, and keep playing regardless..as if it were their duty to do so no matter what was done to them by the wicb..as if the wicb is god in heaven and its acts are unfathomable.

anyone can say slavery ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::  try it..it is not a difficult word at all ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

but I am tired of that sketchim religious crap..tired of sketchins constant punitive, destructive, going- nowhere, pointless and upsetting nonsense
Last edit: 01 Aug 2015 12:35 by mapoui.

Time to create page: 0.203 seconds
BryantRomario Shepherd hits the FATEST FIFTY for any batter in RCB colours!
Second fastest fifty in the history of the IPL.
(03.05.2025, 15:16)(15:16)0
JamisonTrump celebrates the Super Bowl champ Eagles at White House(30.04.2025, 18:26)(18:26)0
JamisonUNC’s Belichick defends Hudson as ‘doing her job’ after interjecting during CBS interview(30.04.2025, 18:25)(18:25)0
JamisonHundreds of scholars say U.S. is swiftly heading toward authoritarianism(22.04.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
BridgerWest Indies cricket team official website(23.03.2025, 00:23)(00:23)0
LyricUnfortunately, after spending 9 months in space, looking over the entire earth, the two Astronauts failed to locate APNU/AFC SOPs.(18.03.2025, 22:04)(22:04)0
LyricThe hour we lost was the one when I was planning to go to the gym(11.03.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
GianniWest Indies latest Test match scorecard(11.03.2025, 11:34)(11:34)0
ScarletSteven Smith South Africa cricket(10.03.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
ketchimCanada get new Prime Minister : Edmonton Mark Carney !(09.03.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
ConnerDr. Ashni Singh quote on government's stance on corrupt practices(08.03.2025, 16:12)(16:12)0
LyricGuy scored 368 bowl out Jam for 44 & didn't enforce the follow-on? That's bull crap(07.03.2025, 09:37)(09:37)0
LyricYesterday, my wife thought she saw a cockroach in the kitchen. She sprayed everything down and cleaned thoroughly.
Today I'm putting the cockroach in the bathroom.
(06.03.2025, 17:19)(17:19)0
ShilohU.S. says consequences for Maduro regime if provocation continues(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
Shiloh–Guyana stands firmly against Venezuela’s incursion(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 21:22)(21:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 03:16)(03:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 12:35)(12:35)0
(30.01.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 07:40)(07:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 11:44)(11:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 19:55)(19:55)0
DeaconCumberbatch(22.01.2025, 12:19)(12:19)0
Marissa$135 fuh reporting yuh mattie to ICE,deez nex few monts going to be quite interesting(22.01.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
AndersExxonMobil write-down natural gas fields(21.01.2025, 00:42)(00:42)0
MarissaJangoo should be in next game , captain should be dropped,Kacy karty, should be dropped,if roach is fit I would bring him in at the expense of st Clair.(20.01.2025, 17:41)(17:41)0
Baileymessage(20.01.2025, 15:25)(15:25)0
MercyKensington Oval stadium ticket policy(20.01.2025, 00:36)(00:36)0

(18.01.2025, 19:00)(19:00)0
(17.01.2025, 18:56)(18:56)0
ByronAmir jangoo replace dasilva(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
ByronTevin imlach gets debut(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
LindaMy question about the West Indies cricket team.(13.01.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
ByronWhy doesn't England have big cricket stadiums like those in Australia and India..?(11.01.2025, 16:31)(16:31)0
MaliyahHow do I purchase tickets for the upcoming cricket match at Kensington Oval in Barbados?(11.01.2025, 16:27)(16:27)0
ArielWest Indies vs India T20 match(11.01.2025, 15:59)(15:59)0
LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 19:11)(19:11)0
AmosAndrew Strauss steps down as England's director of cricket(10.01.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
DylanChris Gayle T20 statistics(09.01.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
SeanHello, I'm excited to join the conversation!(09.01.2025, 05:47)(05:47)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 21:03)(21:03)0
LanceYounis Khan to mentor Afghanistan at Champions Trophy 2025(08.01.2025, 21:02)(21:02)0
MercySouth Africa cricket team upcoming matches schedule(07.01.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
JavierType something here and click Submit or hit Enter...(07.01.2025, 08:37)(08:37)0
IvannaTest comment for registration.(06.01.2025, 17:33)(17:33)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Autumn