19 Jul 2015 12:45 #264356
by dillinger10
It will never happen. He hasn't played much four-day cricket in recent years and his average (33.34) over the last year of his Test career is right in line with Bell's average (30.94) over the last 12 months. Bairstow and Hales are the next two in line. Bairstow for Bell, Hales for Lyth. However, I suspect England will give both Lyth and Bell the rest of the series to prove themselves.
19 Jul 2015 12:50 #264359
deh shud recall him but they wont. nutten like the determination of those who are wrong :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
bala24
20 Jul 2015 11:00 #264450
by bala24
His overall Avg is 47 and against Aus he has averaged 44,he surely deserves a chance after that ousting.
KP has first hand experience on how to steady matches.
Remember Ashes-2005 ??
He had scored overall 473 runs and especially his 158 in the 5th and final Test.I will wager on him anyday.
Oh wait..will they recall him first ??
20 Jul 2015 12:03 #264478
by dillinger10
Runs from 10 years ago mean nothing. If that was the case, no player would ever retire or be dropped. In his last 10 Test matches played, all against Australia, he averaged 34.10. That's not an upgrade over Ian Bell. Given his age, the off field the stuff and the fact that he hasn't played much 4 day cricket since being dropped from the Test team, there is just no chance he dons an England shirt again.
Ian Trott averages 48.26 against Australia, should England call him up and ask if he wants a game again? Sadly, players get old and their form tails off. I wish KP was 25 and still in his prime. He is not.
bala24
20 Jul 2015 12:13 #264480
by bala24
I did check and his avg against Aus is 44,not 34 ..

I understand,but i said KP knows it better at pacing his innings.

Ian Bell ?? Or jonathan Trott

You seemed to have brought out a new variant by combining them both
bala24
21 Jul 2015 10:53 #264561
by bala24
Ok..I have learnt not to debate or better doubt you in terms of stats.
@ketchim : can we give him the statsguru title

Quite befitting.
21 Jul 2015 11:53 #264575
dillinger keep things in perspective
bala , I saw KP tweet
Kevin Pietersen â€
@KP24
Deep in thought right now...ridiculous that I'm lying on a beach when I should be in UK prepping for the 3rd Test!
So silly really! Sad!
Batting as well as ever & the team have huge issues with top order! What a waste, just lying on a beach! I wish I could help!
Rally Around West Indies!