Chin
19 Jul 2015 08:05 #264314
by Chin
FORMER English wicketkeeper Matt Prior has slammed the condition of the Lord’s pitch — saying it has left the home side at a disadvantage.
England has taken just eight wickets in the match as Australia enters day four at 0/108 in its second innings with a lead of 362 runs. David Warner (60) and Chris Rogers (44) are the not out batsmen.
Writing for The Independent, Prior said the English quicks would be furious with the state of the wicket. “If anyone thinks that Stuart Broad and Jimmy Anderson are sat in that dressing room pleased with the pitches we’ve seen this summer then they’re off their heads. Their hearts would have sank on that first morning, firstly when they saw the surface and secondly when they found out they were going to have to bowl first on it,†Prior wrote.
“The pitches in this country have to improve and I don’t for one minute believe that England have asked for these kind of wickets. You have to give credit to Broad because he bowled really, really well in that Australian first innings but as Jimmy and Mark Wood found bowling on this surface on the opening day, when potentially there should be a bit of lateral movement and a bit of pace, it was a pretty thankless task.
“For me, it’s one of the great things about playing in Australia. Yes, we lost the 2013-14 series on quick wickets but there was always something going on, always something in it for the bowlers and plenty in it for the batsmen too. We saw that at the World Cup Down Under too, the Australians have got their preparation pitch-perfect. You can’t say the same for us.â€
Broad noted the change in the pitch from England’s last match at Lord’s in his column for the Daily Mail. “This Lord’s pitch does not have the pace it had when we played New Zealand earlier in the summer and it’s been hard work for a bowler like me who likes to hit the deck hard,†Broad wrote. “Our attack contains bowlers who nibble the ball around off the pitch and there’s been absolutely no sideways movement on this pitch. It’s hard work for fast bowlers.â€
Legendary Australian quick Glenn McGrath said “the English team should take this pitch as an insultâ€. “We do not know whether the groundsman was working on orders from the home team’s management or whether it is just bad luck, but whatever the reason England should have learned a lesson from this Test,†McGrath wrote for The Telegraph. “For the rest of the series they should be asking for pitches that offer some assistance to the bowlers. If they ask for more slow surfaces then that negativity will be their downfall because Australia have the lightning pace capable of taking wickets even on the dullest of pitches.â€
19 Jul 2015 11:27 #264330
the pitch did not trouble australia.....
looking fuh excuse ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
skidso england ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: idiot england!
cant hold on to a good position if their life depended....
zsk77