06 Jun 2015 08:43 #258681
ROSEAU, Dominica, CMC – Captain Denesh Ramdin said yesterday West Indies had been guilty of not capitalising on positions of strength, and had also failed to cope with the pressure Australia created during the opening Test at Windsor Park.
West Indies slumped to a nine-wicket loss here yesterday after suffering yet another batting capitulation. Trailing by 170 runs on first innings, the Windies were 181 for three at one stage just prior to tea but lost seven wickets for 35 runs to be all out for 216 in their second innings.
Australia raced to their target of 47 in just five overs, for the loss of David Warner for 28, to complete victory inside three days.
“We’ll try and take the positives out of this game and move forward. As I said, they are a good unit and we need to play a lot tougher cricket,†Ramdin explained.
“When we are in positions of strength we need to carry that on. That partnership with Marlon (Samuels) and young (Shane) Dowrich, if they could have taken it to maybe 200 [that would have been good].
“It’s a very difficult pitch to start [but] guys who got starts went on. You saw Adam Voges, he got that start and he made a big hundred for his team.
“They swung the ball, they bowled good areas, they created pressure which they normally do and we didn’t handle that pressure as well as we could have.â€
The day was highlighted by excellent half-centuries by Samuels who hit a top score of 74 and debutant Dowrich, who stroked 70. They put on 144 for the fourth wicket to pull West Indies around from 37 for three inside the first hour, when Darren Bravo perished for five in the sixth over of the day.
Once Dowrich fell nine minutes before tea, however, the innings went into rapid decline with no other batsman getting past 12.
Ramdin pointed out that West Indies’ problems had stemmed from a poor first innings performance.
“It’s not the start that we wanted. We didn’t bat as well as we could’ve in the first innings. We made 148 on a good pitch and then we had them with nine wickets down [for 221] but that partnership for the last wicket (97 between Adam Voges and Josh Hazlewood) took it away from us,†he explained.
“Marlon Samuels and young Dowrich batted really well but that hour before and after the tea break is where we lost the game.â€
Ramdin also batted away suggestions that West Indies should have bowled first.
“We decided once we won the toss we were going to bat. That was no excuse, we batted poorly. Our shot selection wasn’t up to standard.â€
West Indies face Australia in the second Test at Sabina Park in Jamaica starting next Thursday.
06 Jun 2015 09:49 #258683
What positives?
Well de "replacement" mek 70 so dats a minor positive.
bala24
06 Jun 2015 11:28 #258708
by bala24
victory inside three days and Ramdin says they weren't good enough.
They were pathetic.
Apart from Dowrich and Samuels innings,noting else was good.
06 Jun 2015 11:46 #258710
by Rowe992
Chanderpaul must be having a laugh right now. They dropped him for his lack of performance and yet still only two batsmen in this lineup managed to make any significant contribution to the innings.
06 Jun 2015 11:49 #258711
by dillinger10
Don't forget Bishoo. He was the pick of all bowlers on display. He can hold his head up high. Just hope his finger injury doesn't prevent him playing in Jamaica.
06 Jun 2015 12:22 #258715
I am getting pissed with Ramdin...seriously pissed. I don't want to hear or see him talk anymore.
he is the captain of a weak side...suddenly made weaker by jackass selection policy. Ramdin as captain has one path to follow..lifting his own play compensate. that is his job as captain..to lead by word and example. he is one of 3 remaining experienced players on the side..along with Samuels and Taylor. he must lift his game.
if Ramdin does not lift his game this side will sink into the mud and disappear. all time for talk is over. Ramdin is not a rookie anymore, he is approaching 30 a fully grown man and player..captain. nor 'potential' will work. he has to stand and deliver NOW!
Ramdin has been far too obsequious as captain, has hardly raised a profile in the games he has led. he is still a face in the crowd, not an individualized leader everyone knows by personality and deeds. that has to stop now that such a captain is essential. Ramdin must have perspective, a world view that is based on who he is..a west indian at time when west indies is faced with a distinctive situation in which a captains role is crucial by its tone and quality. Ramidn must have some sort of idea as to what to do to solve the situation, to make it better. he has to have tht and go out and try to effect it..let it show in his attitude and in his play on the field
Ramdin evinces somewhat of the same problem I tried to describe recently with the white captains of the 19-fifties and previously. they were not nationalists, had no nationalist west indian perspective at all, save narrow spectrum white planter concerns. they never fought hard for the west indies..were mild at the best, saboteurs at the worst
Ramdin is no saboteur! and I guess his dig at Samuels demonstrates good emotion and commitment to his job. so the dig at Samules may not be all bad. at least Ramdin cares and that is great. but we need more..much more. let Ramdin turn that emotion on himself to go lead by example..then on the team to drive them to do better by his example which would give him the right to really lead the team, to talk and direct his players.
Ramdin must fight for the west indies..his west indies, tuff it out, take all the leads he should and must take. let his inner self show regardless. he is not out to kill anyone, commit crime, be delinquent. he is out to win and to develop a winning side. nutten wrong with that... that is his job. who see thats their business, what they think likewise. if they like good. if they dont go tell the radio
06 Jun 2015 12:33 #258718
by dillinger10
Presented below are team batting averages over the last 2 years. The numbers exclude matches against Bangladesh and Zimbabwe.
The numbers show that batting has been a major problem for West Indies as they average just 26.32 per wicket - lower than ever team bar Zimbabwe.
When it comes to bowling, things aren't much better - their average of 41.82 is higher than every team bar Bangladesh.
Are there any bowlers - specifically seamers - on the horizon that could potentially step up and be a difference maker?
06 Jun 2015 13:02 #258720
but we jess beat england.....
stats are stats. like math in general they can describe what has happened.. but they cannot tell what will happen...although they can be useful guidelines in predicting what will happen
boomer
07 Jun 2015 17:07 #258805
by boomer
How much money we lose with these 3-day matches that exclude the weekends when the crowds are likely to be at their biggest?
Windies weren’t good enough, laments Ramdin
Time to create page: 0.184 seconds