Will Shiv CHANDERPAUL PULL A George HEADLEY ?

29 May 2015 13:28 - 29 May 2015 23:27 #257356 by Rev Al
* I'm sure you guys are thinking what does the Rev mean by Chanderpaul pulling a Headley ?
:D

CHECK THIS:

* Headley played in 22 tests from 1930 to 1954 ---24 years

* Headley's penultimate test---his 21st was in 1948----he was 39 years old.

* GUESS WHAT YEAR HEADLEY PLAYED HIS FINAL TEST ?

* That's right! Headley was brought back in 1954---6 years after he played his penultimate test against India in India.

* Headley was 45 when he played his final test in Jamaica.

howstat.com/cricket/Statistics/Players/P...at.asp?PlayerID=0738

QUESTION:

* CAN 41 YEAR OLD SHIV PULL A HEADLEY ?

* Shiv has been dropped by Lloyd and Simmons---but if he keeps playing---he may be able to return to the WI team after Lloyd and Simmons are fired by the WICB.

* WHAT DO YOU FOLKS THINK ?

Last edit: 29 May 2015 23:27 by Rev Al.

29 May 2015 16:15 - 31 May 2015 13:08 #257383 by mapoui
Shive naw come back man.

Headley had played 20 test to 1939 then war break out.  Headley had 10 years of rest before 1947 when things start back.  they made him captain but big dispute.  the caucasian dudes did not like dat.

by 1954 lots of noise fuh George.  he had scored in the Lancashire leagues and yardies made noise.  so ill advisedly deh brougt him back

Shive play for 21 years.  it would be miraculous if he has even now, a great more to give.  Shive is worth these last 2 and a proper goodbye.  that is what must happen.

if fact if they were as observant as they say deh were to see Shive struggle because of creeping old age they should have pulled him aside long time and told him what was up:the English 3 would have been his farewell"

but if they so good at their jobs and knew Shive was done why didn't deh move like that?  that would have precluded all the comess dat developed.

is it that Big Simmo and Lloyd dont give an eff about how to treat our heros..that giving out 3 english games was enuff ::confused::

it seems to me they were besides themselves in haste to drop Shive.  man! deh want dat position badly.  fuh whooo...who deh go give it too ::confused:: ::confused::
Last edit: 31 May 2015 13:08 by mapoui.

29 May 2015 17:02 #257398 by Rev Al

*  As you know the Rev no longer supports the West Indies.

* I am hoping for the Aussies to pulverize the WI in the 2 test series.;Then I am hoping for Zimbabwe to pull off a miracle and defeat the WI; then I am hoping for the Lankans to defeat the WI in Lanka; then the WI will tour Australia in Dec/Jan and get slaughtered.

* ONCE THE WI KEEPS GETTING SLAUGHTERED SHIV WILL NOT BE FORGOTTEN.

* But if the WI were to miraculously start winning----Lloyd and Simmons will be praised to the hilt and Shiv will be forgotten.

* That win against England was a rarity---a deviation from the norm----WI will return to their losing ways. Bet the house on that.

RE: SHIV RETURNING TO THE WI TEAM

* Those nasty, filthy pigs at the WICB will never allow that.

29 May 2015 20:12 #257416 by Rev Al
https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTw0WSB_Mj2a047iSSJRv_2VEXhj0mwwW2Ws0SSRaei7QenS3cb

* We know Shiv has the patience of biblical character JOB!

* Shiv can wait patiently until selector Clive Lloyd dies and coach Phil Simmons is fired---then he Shiv can return for one test match----that's all Shiv needs----one test match to say a proper goodbye to his fans.

29 May 2015 20:49 #257423 by mapoui
dat record is crucial to you.  as you can see from the west indian reaction to his drop the record means nothing to the people with regard to Shive.

for them Shive is worthy no matter what...record or no record
:D :D :D :D :D
:D :D :D :D
:D :D :D
:D :D

29 May 2015 23:19 #257428 by Rev Al

* Lemme surprise you!

* I am very happy that Shiv ended his career averaging 50+ ---first Guyanese to do so---Kanhai, Lloyd, Kali, Freddo---they all averaged in the 40s

* LARA IS THE GREATEST BATSMAN THAT EVER PLAYED FOR THE WI----HE DESERVES THE RECORD FOR MOST RUNS SCORED.

* Shiv settles for most tests played by a West Indian. ;D

* To be honest---the selectors may have done Shiv a great favor---he wanted to play one more year----in my estimation---in that one year his test average would definitely have fallen below 50.

* YOU SEE WHAT HAPPENED TO JAYAWARDENE AND INZAMAM ? THEIR TEST AVERAGE DIPPED BELOW 50.

BACK TO SHIV

* It would have been nice for him to be given a farewell test----just one----but West Indians are a nasty minded people----hope their cricket never recovers.

30 May 2015 10:09 #257460 by 654321
Chanderpaul is a West Indies legend and is being treated quite shabbily as far as I see it. He should have been asked to retire if they don't want him in the side anymore.

30 May 2015 10:37 - 30 May 2015 10:52 #257466 by mapoui
Rev..its getting too hard to talk with you.  too many hairs to split...or are needlessly splitting

I am am happy for Lara's records.  I wish he had broken every batting record that ever existed and set the bars so high no one would ever be able to reach them.

Tendulkar did that!

I am happy for all of that about Lara, all west indian batsmen... so will any west indian be with any normalcy about them. but there are other considerations just as important.  so it is appropriate to ask then:  if Shive does not break Lara's west indian aggregate record will you still like him,  will you still respect him in the morning..given that that record is all you kerry orn about ::confused::

I figure that you will but some doubt creeps in given your discussion above.  and if you do still love Shive, record or no record that is the way the west indian people have demonstrated they feel about Shive...which is what I have said above. 

in the end the essence of Shive is what shines through that the people love.  what the people love is what I respect and appreciate about Shive..a fisherman's son, limited in every way imaginable, from an environment perhaps not the most developed in the region, not enough formal education...and he beat it all, was a rock for the west indies, built a secure life for himself, has a family for which he provided, his children secure and safe, with opportunity he himself did not have, that he made sure to provide as husband and father.

that is he essential Shive..a true working man's hero..you see..not an Indian hero alone, but a west indian hero in every sense of that term. 

even his stubborness which might not have helped in the end, is to be admired about Shive. that is how he got where he is. 

you are trying your best to make Shive into an Indian hero, clear of his social class. but you cant. he is a hero of the people..an ordinary man...a WORKING MANS HERO. and that is why the people love him..and perhaps why he has been so shabbily treated by the elites. they will not allow the people any heros of their own, if they can avoid it..or the heros of the people must be sanctioned by them.  "your heros are who we tell you they are... not those you decide are in fact your heros"
:D :D :D :D
:D :D :D
:D :D
Last edit: 30 May 2015 10:52 by mapoui.

30 May 2015 13:43 #257511 by Rev Al

* POPPYCOCK!

* The Rev isn't trying to make Shiv into anything.

* Shiv is the most capped WI test cricketer in history. He ends his long, illustrious and outstanding career as the 7th highest ranked scorer in test cricket. And he is the first ever Guyanese to average 50+ in tests.

*  The refusal of the WICB to grant such a remarkable and productive servant a farewell test match in recognition of his loyalty and dedication says a lot about that organization---they are a bunch of ungracious, narrow-minded scoundrels who will forever be failures when it comes to administering WI cricket.

CONCLUSION:

* It will be an absolute joy celebrating every single WI defeat from henceforth. Sure the WI will win a test once and far, they won their last test against England, but 90% of the time they will do what they do best---LOSE!

31 May 2015 10:09 #257582 by myballfield
Chanderpaul has been a legendary batsman, but he’s soon to turn 41 years old and looked clueless against short pitched bowling from England in the recent series, continuing a recent trend of being vulnerable to bouncers.

If England’s 135kmh quicks were roughing him up, what would Johnson and Starc have done to him at 150kmh? The manner in which his exit has been handled has been poor but the decision to drop him was not.

Time to create page: 0.186 seconds
BryantRomario Shepherd hits the FATEST FIFTY for any batter in RCB colours!
Second fastest fifty in the history of the IPL.
(03.05.2025, 15:16)(15:16)0
JamisonTrump celebrates the Super Bowl champ Eagles at White House(30.04.2025, 18:26)(18:26)0
JamisonUNC’s Belichick defends Hudson as ‘doing her job’ after interjecting during CBS interview(30.04.2025, 18:25)(18:25)0
JamisonHundreds of scholars say U.S. is swiftly heading toward authoritarianism(22.04.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
BridgerWest Indies cricket team official website(23.03.2025, 00:23)(00:23)0
LyricUnfortunately, after spending 9 months in space, looking over the entire earth, the two Astronauts failed to locate APNU/AFC SOPs.(18.03.2025, 22:04)(22:04)0
LyricThe hour we lost was the one when I was planning to go to the gym(11.03.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
GianniWest Indies latest Test match scorecard(11.03.2025, 11:34)(11:34)0
ScarletSteven Smith South Africa cricket(10.03.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
ketchimCanada get new Prime Minister : Edmonton Mark Carney !(09.03.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
ConnerDr. Ashni Singh quote on government's stance on corrupt practices(08.03.2025, 16:12)(16:12)0
LyricGuy scored 368 bowl out Jam for 44 & didn't enforce the follow-on? That's bull crap(07.03.2025, 09:37)(09:37)0
LyricYesterday, my wife thought she saw a cockroach in the kitchen. She sprayed everything down and cleaned thoroughly.
Today I'm putting the cockroach in the bathroom.
(06.03.2025, 17:19)(17:19)0
ShilohU.S. says consequences for Maduro regime if provocation continues(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
Shiloh–Guyana stands firmly against Venezuela’s incursion(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 21:22)(21:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 03:16)(03:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 12:35)(12:35)0
(30.01.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 07:40)(07:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 11:44)(11:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 19:55)(19:55)0
DeaconCumberbatch(22.01.2025, 12:19)(12:19)0
Marissa$135 fuh reporting yuh mattie to ICE,deez nex few monts going to be quite interesting(22.01.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
AndersExxonMobil write-down natural gas fields(21.01.2025, 00:42)(00:42)0
MarissaJangoo should be in next game , captain should be dropped,Kacy karty, should be dropped,if roach is fit I would bring him in at the expense of st Clair.(20.01.2025, 17:41)(17:41)0
Baileymessage(20.01.2025, 15:25)(15:25)0
MercyKensington Oval stadium ticket policy(20.01.2025, 00:36)(00:36)0

(18.01.2025, 19:00)(19:00)0
(17.01.2025, 18:56)(18:56)0
ByronAmir jangoo replace dasilva(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
ByronTevin imlach gets debut(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
LindaMy question about the West Indies cricket team.(13.01.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
ByronWhy doesn't England have big cricket stadiums like those in Australia and India..?(11.01.2025, 16:31)(16:31)0
MaliyahHow do I purchase tickets for the upcoming cricket match at Kensington Oval in Barbados?(11.01.2025, 16:27)(16:27)0
ArielWest Indies vs India T20 match(11.01.2025, 15:59)(15:59)0
LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 19:11)(19:11)0
AmosAndrew Strauss steps down as England's director of cricket(10.01.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
DylanChris Gayle T20 statistics(09.01.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
SeanHello, I'm excited to join the conversation!(09.01.2025, 05:47)(05:47)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 21:03)(21:03)0
LanceYounis Khan to mentor Afghanistan at Champions Trophy 2025(08.01.2025, 21:02)(21:02)0
MercySouth Africa cricket team upcoming matches schedule(07.01.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
JavierType something here and click Submit or hit Enter...(07.01.2025, 08:37)(08:37)0
IvannaTest comment for registration.(06.01.2025, 17:33)(17:33)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Ford