10 Apr 2015 13:29 #250935
Kolkata Knight Riders’ mystery spinner Sunil Narine found a fan in Virat Kohli.
India's Test captain says the West Indies bowler is "a class act in Twenty20 cricket and that is why even the Mumbai batsmen knew that even if he is bowling slower, it is going to be difficult for the batsmen to pick him up".
Narine conceded just 28 runs from his four overs against Mumbai Indians as Kolkata Knight Riders won the opening match of IPL 8 by seven wickets.
"All the issues with the bowling action and what not, he has got the skill and that is why he is able to pitch the ball in the right areas and get so many wickets in the IPL.
"It is not a thing that his action was the reason why he was bowling well, he has got the skill in his hand. Otherwise, you won’t be bowling at this level and getting world class batsmen out in the IPL," he said about Narine.
Kohli said Narine is bowling slower but still difficult to pick.
"I saw him bowl. I felt he is bowling slower than what he was bowling before, but even then he was difficult to pick. He has got the skill whatever said and done," Kohli said.
10 Apr 2015 14:00 #250951
Narine was the coolest bowler I'd seen in a decade. Watching him was more fun that watching even Steyn at his best. In the IPL especially, he routinely bamboozled quality batsmen like Sanga, ABDV, Hussey and Kohli.
Now he's illegal, seems neuteured and rarely plays for the West Indies. One of the most exciting West Indian bowlers, gone. That the WICB never selects him for Tests, is all the more annoying. Warne and Murali sucked in Tests for years before becomming great. Nobody on our selection panels seems to have any foresight.
10 Apr 2015 14:20 #250961
So let me get this straight TriniDaddy.
Are you saying that Narine would have played this upcoming Test series against England if selected, instead of the IPL?
10 Apr 2015 15:20 #250976
I am saying that if I were a selector, I would select Narine to play in this test series. If Narine is selected and refuses, we know clearly where his priorities lie.
One could argue that the WICB are using the IPL to test Narine's remodelled bowling action. The feeling I get, though, is that they have no interest in playing him in Tests.
10 Apr 2015 15:24 #250978
what remodelled action
he was reinstated to the IPL wah questioned his action
no ICC umps called him so BCCI created a money grabbing scheme using him as bait
10 Apr 2015 16:24 #250983
He's changed his action, though. His arm is straighter and he bowls slower, at least based on the one game he played so far.
We were told that Narine didn't play in the World Cup because of his bowling action. He was never called by an ICC umpire, but he was tested several times (once by the ICC?) and found to have an illegal action, even after working on remodelling his action himself.
Rather than Narine being called by umpires in the England tests, the WICB may be watching to see how he holds up in the IPL. I personally don't think this is what the WICB is doing, but it is possible.
10 Apr 2015 16:28 #250986
That's a pile of horseshyte and you know it.
Narine has clearly shown his preference (and loyalty) to the IPL over Test cricket.
And for what it's worth, Narine is an ordinary Test bowler. Batsmen aren't forced to attack and score off him like the do in T20's. Now that he can't pelt, he will be even worst in Test matches.
10 Apr 2015 16:48 #250990
Maybe. We need more info before forming an opinion, though.
Did Narine inform the WICB that he will be playing in the IPL and will not be available for the Eng games? Will Narine play in the Aussie tests? Did Narine opt for the IPL because the WICB deem him not good enough for Tests? Are the WICB letting Narine play in the IPL so that he can work on his action? We don't know.
The old, pelty version of Narine was a more dangerous test bowler than Benn and most of our pacers. He's played only 6 tests. Here are three of them...
www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/560929.html
www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/661683.html
www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/560930.html
Those are very good stats; better than Warnie's first six games.
Yes, he might be rubbish now that he can't pelt. We don't know for sure, though.
Narine is a class act in T20 cricket: Kohli
Time to create page: 0.233 seconds