26 Mar 2015 19:04 #248781
I don't know the reasoning behind the selectors' decision to call up Philander, but it did seem very odd that they dropped an in-form player for an injured one.
30 Mar 2015 15:38 #249390
I am inclined to believe the story.
It just seemed very very strange that SA would opt for Philander instead of Abbott.
30 Mar 2015 16:16 #249399
A selector said the panel “had to okay four players of colour†for last Tuesday‘s semifinal,
in which Philander was thrust in from the cold after an injury lay-off
to play alongside Hashim Amla, Imran Tahir and JP Duminy.
31 Mar 2015 08:59 #249416
The 'pebble' was probably when AB said he couldn't win the WC by himself ... trouble was obviously brewing ... and hey you're right Snoops.
I do believe now it was a quota pick and that was the 'rock' .... as it didn't make sense selecting an injured player over an in-form one ... Cost them the WC most probably !!!
Pay attention to the pebble before the rock hits yuh !!!
31 Mar 2015 10:41 #249421
That's right Cal.
I think the quota selections need to be abolished from SA cricket. A lot of the coloured SA players can earn their selection on merit. There will therefore always be coloured players on the team. As long as that system is in place SA will always be a bridesmaid at the WC.
31 Mar 2015 18:56 #249558
by Gina145
I hadn't seen that story until now, but I had been wondering whether that was the reason for Kyle Abbott's exclusion. It the story is true, I doubt anyone will ever admit it.
It's strange how things worked out, because a few weeks ago I questioned Abbott's place in the world cup squad, yet he certainly proved he deserved to be there.
South Africa messed with the team-shape mojo
Time to create page: 0.259 seconds