24 Mar 2015 10:45 - 24 Mar 2015 12:41 #248378
Duckworth Lewis doesnt take into account ABDV beast mode. There is no way New Zealand would have chased the 350+ score ABDV was determined to take South Africa to.
Still, I'm glad New Zealand won. Watching SA choke again, and Amla fail again in a meaningful match/series, takes my mind off the comedy show that is WI cricket.
By the way, 10th Consecutive ODI victory for New Zealand; never been done before by them.
24 Mar 2015 11:12 #248383
by Rowe992
Well South Africa had 280 runs to defend and still managed to lose so I don't think dwl should be blamed for there defeat. South Africa are tournament chokers and they did so again last night. Good to see New Zealand in the finals. My money is on the team that wins the other semi-final.
24 Mar 2015 14:19 #248413
by dillinger10
Chasing down 298 off 43 overs is easier than chasing down 350 from 50 overs though. South Africa were really impacted as they were poised to post a huge total. They had two set batsman at the crease (not just any two batsman either, South Africa's best two batsman, AB & Faf), plenty of wickets in hand, a lot of momentum on their side and New Zealand were going to have bowl 5 overs from Anderson, Elliott or Willamson out of the last 12.
24 Mar 2015 15:32 #248426
End of over 35 (9 runs) South Africa 184/3 (RR: 5.25)
End of over 43 (15 runs) South Africa 281/5
97 runs in 8 overs with a 2 hour break between 38 and 43
You fighting a LOSING battle
24 Mar 2015 15:44 #248430
well dat is good...5.25 by 6.1 or something like dat..that is less than 35 added to 298...which is 334 to win or so.
but I am generous..I am giving the Saffys 25 more runs so the Kiwi have to make 361 to win in 50....and the Saffy still gettin' deh arse cut..easier than 298 in 42
:-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[