01 Feb 2015 07:53 #237978
by DownUnda
An injury scare to James Faulkner has soured Australia’s commanding 112-run win over England in the final of the Carlton Mid ODI Tri-Series in Perth. Faulkner left the field midway through his third over with what Cricket Australia later confirmed to be side soreness, a cause of concern for the star allrounder less than two weeks out from Australia’s opening World Cup match.
While Faulkner’s day was soured by the injury, fellow allrounder Glenn Maxwell cemented his position with his best game in the green and gold of his country. The Victorian scored his highest one-day international score of 95 and claimed career best bowling figures of 4-46 to rout England and deliver Australia its fourth piece of silverware this summer.
Fast-bowler Mitchell Johnson also made a successful return to international cricket, crashing through the tourists’ top order to finish with 3-27.
bleacherreport.com/tb/dfVP3
01 Feb 2015 08:12 #237979
by DownUnda
Haha
World Cup opponents beware – Mitch is back in business.
Johnson wouldn’t have recognised the three Englishmen he turned into bunnies in Australia’s tri-series final win in Perth – James Taylor, Moeen Ali and Eoin Morgan.
That’s because he’s already ended the careers of the tourists he decimated last season.
01 Feb 2015 08:16 #237980
by DownUnda
Ok Eoyin if yuh seh suh
Eoin Morgan, the England captain, seemed in denial after his side crashed to a 112-run drubbing against Australia in the final of the tri-series on Sunday (February 1). Morgan said he couldn’t put a finger on what happened – “It was just a bad day for us†– but more surprisingly, refused to concede that Mitchell Johnson had played a key part in England’s humiliation, especially given that the paceman had fired out James Taylor, Moeen Ali and Morgan himself in his first spell.
Asked if Johnson had reopened some old wounds, Morgan countered, “Absolutely not, I don’t think he swung it. I think that the guys up front (Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood) bowled well, swung it a little bit. We must have put ourselves under pressure but I don’t know why we performed like this today. We will reassess over the next few days and come back stronger hopefully. I think it could probably have been anybody bowling. We had a really bad day. That’s the best way to describe it.
01 Feb 2015 10:48 #238022
But IF you had asked me , I would say Moustache upgraded his Stereo to surround sound ! ::LOL::
AND Eoin seh his luck of the Irish ran out when that off stick when cartwheeling fuss ball !
bala24
01 Feb 2015 11:22 #238053
by bala24
Ode to MAxwell..A true creator and destroyer.From 60-4 to 278 is something astonishing and i am sure this is a perfect warning to all other teams.
bala24
01 Feb 2015 11:55 #238066
by bala24
Lolz,we do respect what he did today,but it was completely overshadowed by Maxwell's show.People often look at who is "best" and not second best.
We are all people..
Aus sends loud message by thrashing England in final
Time to create page: 0.205 seconds