17 Jan 2015 08:46 #234251
by DownUnda
Cricket captaincy is never easy. As well as worrying about your own game, you also have to think about your team-mates, tactics and the opposition.
Ranking the current Test captains is not easy either.
While you can look at their statistical performances when in charge, including their team's record, you also have to take into consideration intangibles that are needed in leadership roles.
Of course, captains can be made to look even better when they have star players in their line-up. Being in charge of the West Indies was an easier job when they boasted a battery of fast bowlers decades ago.
Likewise, several captains of Australia were able to benefit from having both Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne in the same attack.
bleacherreport.com/articles/2330787-rank...leadership-qualities
17 Jan 2015 08:48 #234252
by DownUnda
Topping the list is my bloke Pup!
Michael Clarke, even if Australia's captain did end up watching most of the recent series against India from the sidelines (or commentary box).
The batsman took over from Ricky Ponting and steered his country through a transitional period to rise back up the ICC rankings—they currently sit second in the table.
Since being put in charge, Clarke has also seen his batting average rise—he has hit 14 hundreds in 40 Tests as skipper, the same number he had hit in his previous 68 appearances.
His most recent Test century saw him defy a back injury to make 128 against India in Adelaide, while on the tour to South Africa in 2014, Clarke overcame a barrage from Morne Morkel to hit 161 in the series decider.
However, perhaps Clarke showed his true leadership qualities following the death of team-mate Phillip Hughes.
He read out the family statement after Hughes had died two days after being struck by a bouncer, then also delivered a moving eulogy at the funeral when the batsman was laid to rest in his home town of Macksville.
Clarke's strength during such a difficult time was admirable, proving he leads by example on and off the field. It can only be hoped now that injury does not cut short his international career.
17 Jan 2015 09:39 #234266
by DownUnda
No dude I just chose to pull Pup from the write up to highlight the fact he's the best
Lemme hear yuh pump up Ramadin vol
17 Jan 2015 09:42 #234267
Ramdin ??? naahhhh : gotta look at the lower ranked XI without big names.
Like Kiwis for example in Tests and ODIs.
they are thumping a higher ranked SriLanka.
Captaincy ??