05 Dec 2014 13:55 #226685
Barbadian batsman Omar Phillips has reportedly been rushed to hospital in St Vincent after being struck in the head.
The incident occurred at the Arnos Vale cricket ground where the Barbados Pride are currently playing against the Windwards Volcanoes.
According to reports, Phillips was at the non-striker’s end when he was struck by a ball which was hit by the batsman on strike.
He was said to have dropped to the ground, where he remained unconscious for a period of time before emergency personnel rushed him to the hospital.
When Barbados TODAY contacted the player’s mom Joann just before 1PM, she said he had telephoned her a short while ago to say he was feeling better and that he was awaiting a CT scan.
-Barbados TODAY
05 Dec 2014 14:17 #226711
Veteran Barbados Pride all-rounder Ryan Hinds will miss the fourth round WICB Professional Cricket League (PCL) first-class match against Windward Islands Volcanoes at Arnos Vale in St. Vincent, starting tomorrow, following the death of his grandmother, who had been ailing.
Hinds has been replaced in the 13-man squad by another all-rounder, Kenroy Williams, who left for Kingstown this evening.
-BCA
05 Dec 2014 14:41 #226728
this is how I know cricket in the west indies...man getting lick all the time, from any angle. but nobody I know died and every body who get lick eventually get up. we did not have no CT and doctor and all dat. dat was fuh rich people. and even dem had only what was available
now dat we have the means and the experience we shud put them both to use to prevent injury and save lives