28 Nov 2014 14:12 #225679
Bowlers are already crying out that all benefits are going to Batsmen.
with that 15 degree rule , now this ... :-\
30 Nov 2014 10:55 - 30 Nov 2014 14:07 #225819
make sure that Mail sees this. like he forget how business works in the world. business never does anything right but always for profit.the first consideration
the products are usually far from good enough and their improvement almost always depends on consumer complaints and class action litigation.
he mussee fuhget ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
Last edit: 30 Nov 2014 14:07 by mapoui.
30 Nov 2014 13:44 #225856
by 7643664
This was in the main a tragic accident. I presume that Hughes, while taking evasive action, swayed into the path of a swinging ball.
The Laws of Cricket deal with 'dangerous and unfair bowling'. Enforcement is the responsibility of the umpires and to a lesser extent the captains.
Future attention should be directed to helmet design and technique in playing the short-pitched bal
30 Nov 2014 17:04 #225872
Nope !! Too early on the hook , missed and on his natural follow thru was hit at
the back of just below ears on his neck : see "approximate point of impact"
on 1st post diagram of thread !
02 Dec 2014 08:07 #226068
Everyone here seems to be talking about the use of baseball helmets for cricket .... BUT... I've looked at some images of these helmets and honestly there was only one, maybe two that actually came down lower at the back of the neck which could've prevented this injury.
Manufacturers need to come up with a different design specifically for cricket, NOT baseball .... and certainly an improvement with the grille is long overdue after the injuries to Mark Boucher and Herchelle Gibbs ::yawn::
02 Dec 2014 09:32 #226083
yuh like any opposition to me eh Mail.
well my suggestion was never to replace the cricket helmet with a baseball helmet..but to use it as model..and to expose the fact that others had addressed a similar problem in satisfactory ways...why the hell couldn't cricket in the fus' place
then I went on to accuses and prove that he manufacturers of cricket helmets were purpose in making a defective helmet and that they should be sued...and all evidence to support this has been flowing out to the public subsequently.
my argument is that there is a long, long history of the design and manufacture helmetry in human experience..thousands of years worth of it. on the basis of this tremendous level of available technique, to make a proper helmet for the game of cricket should be no problem at all at all at all at all..... it is a travesty of greed and manufacturer malfeasance for a proper helmet not to have been made in the first place
that is my case...not advocacy for the substitution of the baseball helmet...which is indeed an improvement over the cricket helmet. indeed the very redesign of the helmet..and the grill issue.. I argued when this debate began on one of the helmet threads, for there to be a fourth grill line added, to reduce the space between the current grill and the rim of the helmet to keep the ball out from smashing the face, regardless of the force/speed of the ball
####
and for the baseball helmet that appear to be be too short, there are attachments that do the trick. I not sure that every helmet is built to accept attachments but some are. there are a great many baseball helmet designs...literally hundreds of them
04 Dec 2014 07:57 #226342
PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad (CMC) — West Indies Test Captain Denesh Ramdin has appealed to makers of cricket helmets to improve on their product, following the death of Australian batsman Phillip Hughes, who was hit by a bouncer from Sean Abbott.
Ramdin made the call as the West Indies left the Caribbean Sunday for South Africa to play that country in a three- Test series.
“The helmets that we have need to be improved because when you get a lash on it, you really feel the pain,†said Ramdin. “It is basically just a piece of fibreglass and this is not adequate protection.â€
Last year the International Cricket Council appointed a committee to look at an international benchmark for standards on helmets and is likely to fast-track the process in light of Hughes’ death.
Source >>>
Rally Around West Indies!
We dont like Cricket. We love it.
Cricket Helmets
Time to create page: 0.230 seconds