R4D Guyana vs Leewards

12 Nov 2014 13:27 #223072 by chairman
November 12, 2014 | By KaiteurNews

Guyana Jaguars to hold first net session today

By Sean Devers
It can’t possibly get worse than last season! Guyana’s Head Coach Esuan Crandon, the former Guyana fast bowler

will have his hands full trying to lift Guyana’s cricket fortunes when the inaugural WICB Regional four-day First-Class Franchise season commences on Friday with the Jaguars facing the Leeward Islands at Providence.
“Our performance last season was very disappointing. We will have to put it behind us and seek to improve, try for greater consistency moving forward. We have done a lot of soul-searching and planning after last season and in our preparations for this season. With this new franchise system in place and a longer season ahead, the players are all eager to go,” Crandon said.
Asked what he thinks needs to be fixed for Guyana’s performance to improve Crandon said the team realised that one of the main problems was the opening pair had not performed as consistently as the team would have liked.
“This has meant that we did not have the base for big first innings totals to put our opponents under pressure. We have also been working hard on situational-awareness in the hope that the thought processes of the players would improve and we will be able to endure and come out on top during those pressure moments in the game. We have had a number of young players and we have asked them to learn the game – and quickly – prior to this season when they were only five or six matches, but this season presents a good opportunity and we have asked them to prepare themselves in every area, so they can perform well for the team, themselves and Guyana,” Crandon explained.
“We have a pretty good balance for the first few matches – no less than six Test players are available to us – a pretty good range of players from which to choose. It looks good on paper, but we have to prove it on the field. We are hoping that we can make full use of home advantage, something which we have failed to do in the recent past, and I think the players are all in the right frame of mind approaching the start of the new season,” Crandon continued.

Crandon feels in order to maintain intensity throughout the long season fitness will be vitally important and the players will have to manage their workloads throughout the season, specifically the bowlers, so that they can sustain the level of performance that is required to make the team a competitive force.
“It will also call for players to be honest with the management team about the nature of their injuries. Some players can play through the pain barrier and through their injuries, but others cannot, so we need to know to be able manage them properly,” the Berbican pointed out.
Crandon said Barbadian all-rounder Raymon Reifer is fitting in very well and getting accustomed to the playing conditions in Guyana.
“The pitch plays much lower and slower and favours the spin bowlers than they do in Barbados, but we have been talking to him about the lengths he has to bowl and how he will need to adjust his stroke-play as a batsman coming from Barbados where the pitches offer more pace and bounce. He is coping well and the players are making him feel welcomed. He has a key role to play as a batting all-rounder and we are looking forward for his contribution throughout this tournament.” the former Guyana pacer said.
Crandon thinks highly of opening batsman Rajindra Chandrika. “He scored a double-hundred in our Inter-County championship and we are expecting big things from him, seeing he was also a graduate of the Sagicor West Indies High Performance Centre. He has gotten a few good starts in previous matches, but we are hoping he can help solve our problem at the top of the order,” Crandon informed
“Further down the order, we have Vishal Singh and we are hoping with the presence of experienced batsman like Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine and Leon Johnson that he could add some depth to his game. We also expect Ronsford Beaton to play that leading role for us with the new-ball with our traditional strength in the spin bowling department to offer support,” the Head Coach concluded.

12 Nov 2014 17:30 #223115 by ketchim
Crandon said Barbadian all-rounder Raymon Reifer :
is fitting in very well and getting accustomed to the playing conditions in Guyana.

hook him up Crandon with a cousin or any nice berbice gyal ... 8)

13 Nov 2014 21:05 #223374 by The Captain
Local Bobice only

WICB Franchise cricket starts tomorrow
NOVEMBER 13, 2014 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER SPORTS
NCN to bring live ball-by-commentary
After a few years of absence, live Regional four-day cricket will be back on NCN’s Voice of Guyana (VOG) from 10:00hrs
Sean Devers
Sean Devers
tomorrow when the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Four-Day Franchise First-Class cricket starts with Guyana Jaguars face-off with the Leeward Islands at the Guyana National Stadium at Providence.
An initiative of NCN’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Molly Rampersaud Hassan, Marketing Manager Raymond Azeez and NCN’s cricket producer John Ramsingh, the local station has committed to bringing live ball-by-ball commentary for all of the home games this year with support from the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB).
Some of Guyana’s most experienced radio cricket broadcasters have been assembled including Sean Devers, who has commentated in the World Cup ODIs and at Test level and Iderjeet Persaud, who has commented in ODIs. Former International cricket commentator Niam Chan has also been recalled.
Devers returns to the local airwaves after a successful surgery and treatment for Brain Cancer and along with Matthew Kissoon and Berbican Anthony Khemraj have been selected to call play in the opening game with the analysts being former Test player Travis Dowlin and ex-Guyana Wicket-Keeper Sidney Jackman.
Inderjeet, Chan and News Anchor Avenash Ramzan will describe the action in the Jaguars’ second match against the Windwards Volcanoes from November 21-24 at Providence with the analysts being former National cricketers Neil Barry and Roderick Lovell.
The final game against Barbados, also at Providence from November 28 to December 1 will be broadcasted by the International team of Barbadian Andrew Mason, Devers and Persaud with Jackman and Dowlin doing the analytical work.
The Voice of Guyana is heard throughout Guyana and Companies interested in providing sponsorship for the cricket can call NCN’s Marketing Department on telephone numbers 226-1382 or 223-7549 for more information.

• boquiesse
14 Nov 2014 08:03 #223393 by boquiesse
Wait, the Windwards call themselves the "Volcanoes" - is who does dream up these names.

14 Nov 2014 09:16 #223396 by The Captain
Prior to the rain,

GUY won the toss and will bat first,

standby for TEAMS as the weather abates

• boquiesse
14 Nov 2014 09:29 #223397 by boquiesse

Oh rass - ground flood yet??

14 Nov 2014 09:44 #223398 by chairman
thats the old ground

14 Nov 2014 09:55 - 14 Nov 2014 10:06 #223400 by The Captain
GUY 13/0
Chandrika 7*
Fudadin 6*
Last edit: 14 Nov 2014 10:06 by The Captain.

14 Nov 2014 10:05 #223402 by The Captain
[color=rgb(41, 47, 51)]WICKET! Peters strike! Fudadin lbw b Peters 6 [/color]
[color=rgb(41, 47, 51)]GUY 14/1 [/color]
[color=rgb(41, 47, 51)]Johnson is new batsman, [/color]
[color=rgb(41, 47, 51)]Chandrika 8* [/color]

14 Nov 2014 10:48 #223415 by Googley
in this day and age and only radio commentary available???

Time to create page: 0.254 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Miles