21 Oct 2014 21:42 #219614
Look BCCI/IPL/Franchises know that WI players in the IPL are a huge draw card ......worth more that 65 million to the IPL.
They aren't stupid and it's no secret that for Bravo ... IPL first, T&T cricket second and WI cricket third. Once he/they knew that participation in the IPL was not going to be affected, the decision to abandon playing was made for them.
21 Oct 2014 21:43 - 21 Oct 2014 21:50 #219615
that wud be restraint of trade wud it not ::confused::
and indeed if deh get ban deh doh need NOC ::confused::
Last edit: 21 Oct 2014 21:50 by mapoui.
22 Oct 2014 08:11 #219642
so what these guys cannot play
Saleem Malik
Kaneria, Butt, asif, amir, azharudin
not even backyard cricket
shamzblueworld
22 Oct 2014 10:52 #219660
by shamzblueworld
I think the players responsible should be punished accordingly and if the board is at fault, things need some revision.
22 Oct 2014 11:09 #219667
if the board should become involve then they should
take charge,take over WIPA and dismantle it , players will now deal with the boss himself
22 Oct 2014 16:18 #219786
You are Crazy , cappo ;
in the ghetto you need players to be unionised .
Tha plantation mentality is now with the Afro caribbean Board
22 Oct 2014 16:39 #219798
Well first off, I don't believe any player is going to get banned or disqualified from representing the Wondies as a result of this dispute. If this happens then those players will simply retire from international cricket and play domestic T20's for a living.
This is essentially a wild cat strike. The parties should simply begin fresh negotiations or take the matter straight to arbitration. One or the other post haste. What is particularly troubling for the WICB is their future dealings with WIPA. How can they trust that the next MOU and CBA won't be scuttled by the players on the same basis again?
The whole point in having a union representative within the established framework and mechanism of industrial relations is for that rep to represent the collective/unanimous wishes of its members and enter into binding contracts as the duly authorized agent (the law of agency applies here). The players however, are saying that their duly authorized representative (Hinds) acted outside the scope of his authority when he signed that MOU. That is a MAJOR allegation and, if proven, the MOU is not worth the paper its written on.
22 Oct 2014 16:47 #219799
which is the first order of business by the players!
so what about the request made by the players asking the board to step in and ignore the MOU because it is not what they agreed to?
Could the board have done that?
22 Oct 2014 16:54 #219802
Legally, no. Absent a court order declaring the the MOU is void ab initio the WICB could not on it own volition make such a decision. It would have violated the terms and conditions of the collective bargaining agreement and numerous labour laws/regulations.
What the WICB could have done was to temporarily suspend the application of that MOU pending the players sorting out their dispute with WIPA within a short but reasonable time frame. If the players failed to sort out their house within that time frame then the WICB could have very well stated "you had your chance but we are sticking to a legally binding agreement". No tour would have been called off pending everyone reserving all their respective rights.
But that would have been the sensible approach.
22 Oct 2014 16:58 #219803
not gonna happen in WI cricket!!!!
thats expecting too much now!
Rally Around West Indies!
We dont like Cricket. We love it.
Conspiracy of IPL players :W.I. crisis
Time to create page: 0.260 seconds