30 Sep 2014 19:17 #216045
Viv is not a great brain but he is able. he can cope well with the world.
to know Viv you have to have an idea of Antigua. those people did not have it easy at all socially. they had a brutal dictatorship of struggling sugar planters that preyed on them, treated them all how.
and Antigua is not Trinidad....Trinidad is larger, the former administrative focus of the empire in the region, with, relatively speaking, lots of facilities, food, opportunities, money and more into the world than the Dots...colonial backwaters really. the experienced they internalised is not what Trinnys internalized. it was much less..still is a lot less..as is exposed by their state after their 'independence'
I take what they have achieved despite that heritage and history as pretty good. they have nothing there but sun and sand..tourism and not a nice one at all. they are basically for sale and a succession of rich white men have had that island as satrap in succession..the last being the one they put in jail in the USA.
relatively speaking Viv and dem are ok! as personalities...all of them we know as cricketers and others. don't judge them by our standards. tuff as our conditions were they had it harder..still have it hard. and as per their reality they were poorly lead then as they are now
shaped by that experience Viv is fine! I have no problem with him. just don't look for Worrell from him. he does not have that in him...cant have that in him. he was never so exposed or experienced to produce anything of the sort. but as it has been he is fine relatively speaking
01 Oct 2014 10:51 #216119
well Viv is focal today..still! Merv is remembered mostly in relation to Viv.
Take yuh pik
zacaroni
01 Oct 2014 12:42 #216173
by zacaroni
Viv said his best innings is the 60 odd he made in 1983 against India at Sabina. I had the good fortune of seeing it and it is the most I have jumped and shouted at a cricket match.
It's mentioned here
The Original Master Blaster
I have heard a few persons say they meeting him was a bad experience, including cricket officials. Might have not been a great person but he was undoubtedly a great player. One of the greatest in fact.
01 Oct 2014 12:56 #216180
hahahahaha! which one, Merv or Waugh?
I recall Sobers double century against DENNIS LILLEE!!
Now, that was masterclass!