CHECK THIS: Did Lara Do A Selfish Thing While Scoring 400* ?

15 Sep 2014 20:08 #213271 by Rev Al
On day 3 at Lunch of that test match, the West Indies were 734/5 with Lara on 390* having already broken Hayden's 380 record and Jacobs on 100*. But Lara came out to bat after lunch and his sole purpose was to push his score to 400*.

QUESTION:

* Was Lara being selfish ? Was he just looking out for himself and personal glory, getting to 400 ?

* Remember, at Lunch Lara was on 390*---he had already broken Hayden's 380 record.

* The only reason Lara came out to bat after lunch with the WI on 734/5 was personal glory---400*

* Click on the link for the scorecard and match notes:

www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/64080.html

15 Sep 2014 20:15 #213272 by Rev Al
* So Lara came out to bat after lunch on day 3 when the WI were already 734/5

* But Ramdin declared at 484/7 one hour into day 3---he couldn't give Shiv an additional 15 minutes he needed to make his hundred.

* And remember, the WI won the test with 2 sessions to spare.

* GOOD TO SEE RAMDIN FAIL WITH THE BAT THIS SERIES----5 and DUCK.

* If Ramdin was captain no way Lara would have ever reached the historic 400 *

15 Sep 2014 21:38 - 15 Sep 2014 22:44 #213275 by mapoui
no one is at war with you as far as I see Rev

I was terrorising you googs and ketchim on the strike rate.  I mean you guys are ripe for the picking with allyuh faith and belief.  that is what it is with you guys on Shive..nothing but religion. 

I mean anyone can pull allyuh legs all day long with this, have allyuh explaining and justifying and accusing people of all manner of jealousy and hate all day long, 7 days a week, all freaking year long.  that is the way the religious behave in defense of their faith.

I am not in any war with you at least.  I am happy for Shive and it is a west indian achievement regardless of you 3 trying to coop it for allyuhselves and likely for Indian people alone.  IT IS WEST INDIAN WHETHER ALLYUH LIKE IT OR NOT  SO THERE..ALLYUH 3 IMPSE ALLYUH!

ALLYUH MAKING THIS THING A BAD TIME WHEN TI SHUD BE A HAPPY ONE. I KNOW WEST INDIAN CRICKET FOR ALL MY LIFE..I KNOW WEST INDIANS WHEN IT COMES TO CRICKET..AND FOR WEST INDIAN BLACK PEOPLE THERE IS NO RACE WHEN IT COMES TO CRICKET.  THERE ARE NO BLACK HATERS OF SHIVE PERIOD..THERE IS NONE FOR ANY INDO CRICKETER.

now!  there may be Indo haters of African cricketers but I can assure you there are none on our side.  it is all in allyuh imagination.  it is how allyuh stop..so allyuh expects others to be the same and scared dat we do not like shive.  well we/they aren't..and everybody love Shive.  so stop allyuh paranoia

the problem is you 3  Rev, Googs and Ketchim
Last edit: 15 Sep 2014 22:44 by mapoui.

15 Sep 2014 21:41 #213276 by mapoui

your tongue better be firmly placed between your cheek and gum relative to this post. you have to be playing with words here to get man riled
:o :o :o :o
:o :o :o
:o :o
:o

• Mail
15 Sep 2014 22:00 #213280 by Mail

Perfectly said but particularly what I have underlined.

15 Sep 2014 23:41 #213283 by TRINIDADDY
"I was terrorising you googs and ketchim on the strike rate."

And people were only complaining about his strike rate in ONE INNINGS of ONE MATCH and RIGHTFULLY SO. Nobody cares about his strike rate in any of these other innings because the match requirements are different.

• Mail
16 Sep 2014 06:17 #213285 by Mail
Absolutely correct. Any reasonable, rational person would accept the observation as true instead of these plethora of duplicate threads regurgitating the same bile which has been quite pointless.

Instead of a sensible retort to real observations,  all of this has been concocted into some ethnic and personal vendetta and that is pure paranoia.

Whilst it is reasonable to have an opinion and a right to express such, I have hardly, if ever, experienced such narrowmindedness and bigotry.

A plethora of duplicated and senseless threads churning out the same repetative garbage akin to neurosis.

• bala24
16 Sep 2014 07:53 #213286 by bala24
How is that topics like these go "off topic" and drift away from main context.
Pls guys...I joined here because i loved you all,the bond you were all having..
Pls don't make people regret joining here.Why spread hate..??

I really was upset to read through the comments.Let us not spread hate..!!.We hold the responsibility to conduct ourself good in front of new members.
it is just a game and what's the big fight all abt..??

16 Sep 2014 09:32 #213295 by Rev Al
PAGING MAPOUI:

* Give me a straightforward answer, no convoluted obfuscation. Was the great Lara being selfish when he chose to continue batting after lunch on day 3 of that test when he was on 390* and had already broken Hayden's 380 record ? He came out after lunch on day 3 just to make the 10 runs needed for 400*.

• bala24
16 Sep 2014 09:42 #213298 by bala24
yes he did..acc to me,but it was justifiable since that landmark was the one that redefined him.It was an elusive test score and until now it has been beaten..and moreover..the gap was just 10 runs.
I would say though he was greedy,his action was justifiable..
honestly..400* looks much better than 390*

Time to create page: 0.237 seconds
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 11:35)(11:35)0
(30.01.2025, 12:21)(12:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
Kody