10 Sep 2014 11:19 #212138
by Big Cat
The pacer took 3 wickets in the Test but impressed onlookers with his consistent pace, touching speeds close to 150 kph regularly.
"I thought he bowled extremely quick on a very slow pitch, he bowled very well. As the bowling consultant, I keep telling him that you are bowling well and it is only a matter of time before luck comes your way. I am quite impressed with him. He bowled quickly," said Ambrose.
10 Sep 2014 11:43 #212147
C'mon Curtly ! You of all people should know :
Poor Seam position from his Grip ( scrambled NOT Upright ).
Delivers in no mans land when at the Crease.( also not from top of his skull cap )
The Ball goes nowhere : looking for him to reverse swing !
Pace will not get wickets against Modern top order batsmen.
"The Faster you come , the faster you go "......will be ShaNone wicket taking stats !
10 Sep 2014 11:48 #212148
by Rev Al
* If Ambrose is impressed with Gabriel and his pace, and believes he can improve, who are we to disagree ?
* But Ambrose should also know that TINO BEST regularly bowled at 90 MPH/145 KM/H
* Gabriel has a long way to go before he can trouble international batsmen.
10 Sep 2014 12:26 #212162
SURELY NOT AS LONG AS YOU THINK EH....... ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
10 Sep 2014 13:03 #212183
maybe Gabriel trying to replace Tino Best...in all aspects as he too holds the ball across the seam instead of upright!
10 Sep 2014 15:25 #212239
AS A MAN WHO PLAYED CRICKET i CAN TELL ALL AH ALLYUH THAT FOR SOME PEOPLE IT DOES NOT MATTER HOW DEH HOLD THE BALL. IT IS WHAT DEH GET OUT OF IT HOWEVER THEY HOLD IT.
I noted that with spinners back in Titty. every off spinner I knew held the ball a different way to produce their off spin. same with the leggies.
sure with pace yu have to try use the seam to point in and out swing. but some guys get their in and outswing differently. I put it dong to how man grow up playing. when we start no one told us anything at all. we just did it and however we got it to work then that was it..what you stuck to for life
I have seen all kinds of grips, finger formations etc in bowlers..good bowlers all. it is how they get the ball to do what they want and that's that
10 Sep 2014 18:21 #212290
You are a mad rarse : You cannot get Inswing without an Upright seam ..
Why yuh think bowlers are always fcuking with the Seam ?
getting suspended and Fines ...
It all about the SEAM :they are not even called Pace bowlers anymore but
Seamers ...
seems to me you were never a seamer
07 Dec 2015 18:05 #282320
Mr chairman, I thought you was posting a recent quote by Sir Curtley.
I suspect he change he mind long time now.
Curtly Ambrose impressed with Shannon Gabriel's pace
Time to create page: 0.225 seconds