05 Sep 2014 14:51 #211141
Kraigg Brathwaite, aka Paint, is the next great WI opener. In 2014, he has averaged 100+ in tests. We need to find someone to permanently partner him with; someone who runs well but plays big shots.
Paint has incredible focus, is patient and he seems to like scoring big.
More importantly, Kraigg drops anchor, blunts the bowlers and stresses them out with his gritty batting. And unlike Darren Bravo, who only likes to play a few stylish shots (cover drive, cut and lofty drive), Kraigg takes runs any way he can and on every corner of the field. As he builds muscle, I can see him developing some aggressive, big shots, not that he needs to.
So far, Kraigg seems to handle the short ball well, though he plays too many of them; he needs to dodge more or duck under them. He seems to play spin very well, mostly off the backfoot and by stepping deep to his left. Little Bravo, in contrast, doesnt play spin deep in his crease or off the backfoot. Instead, he stretches forward and tries to look sexy.
It's a shame Edwards keeps failing. It would be nice to have Paint and another Barbados player clicking together. Maybe put Holder to open with Paint.
It would be interesting to see Paint handle good bowlers like Steyn.
wowtgp
06 Sep 2014 00:21 #211194
by wowtgp
He can be the next great batsman for WI without a doubt. While his shorts are not always convincing, he manages to sore runs.
karlaa
07 Sep 2014 14:24 #211528
by karlaa
I was priviledge to watch 2 shots played by this youngster,a front foot and back foot cover drive:Having seen those 2 shots,right away one can see the class of this player.In terms of concentration,this player said, he patterns himself after Chanderpaul,a monument of patience,the sky is not the limit for Mr.Kraigg Brathwaite.This youngster is extremely discipline, PRAYS,has the backing of his parents,what a foundation to launch his cricketing skills and ability from.A Diamond in the rough,a player to follow,we need more players of this PEDIGREE to formulate the new brand of West Indies Players.Happy Hunting Brother.
07 Sep 2014 23:04 #211598
by Rowe992
Great knock by Brathwaite. Its good to have another WI batsman who is patient enough to actually bat in a test match. This is what the West Indies batsmen for the most part have lacked and its great to see Brathwaite being patient and reaping the rewards.
13 Sep 2014 13:20 #212766
Brathwaite is doing well here. I feel very proud, watching him bat. I like the look of Leon so far too.
Now that we have a handful of batsmen who can provide some stability, sans Shiv, we have to learn to be aggressive. Learn to attack and pick up the pace. Hopefully this aspect of the game will click for us as well.
13 Sep 2014 13:25 #212771
Guyana have a proverb: "One ,one dutty bild Dam"
translate to mean , a Slow climb back to the Top....
1 ICC promotion at a time !
Kraigg Brathwaite is the next great WI opener
Time to create page: 0.222 seconds