26 Aug 2014 12:39 #209589
Windies board to allow players to play in Champions League while a Test is underway.
Primacy for Test cricket! That is something the cricket boards all over world swear by. But not everyone walks the talk. The talk in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Indian Premier League (IPL) circles is that the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has decided to let its players take part in the Champions League Twenty20 ahead of a Test match that the Caribbean team will be involved in. The players surely are not complaining.
The Twenty20 tournament starts on September 13 in India while the second Test between the West Indies and Bangladesh ends in Gros Islet on September 17. The clash of dates could have prevented a few players from taking part in the richest tournament in the game and the WICB decided not to come their way.
So, for players like Kirk Edwards (Barbados Tridents), Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings) and may be even Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders), participation in the Champions League will not be a problem. They will be given the right to choose between the country and the club.
26 Aug 2014 12:58 #209598
Mercenaries : Cricketers for Hire !
Windies will now be FORCED to introduce Youth players.
serves em right !
26 Aug 2014 13:26 #209605
Methink it was a great Plan :
Windies get like a coupla hundred Grand IPL compensation PLUS the Young players !
Its called having yuh cake and eat it too ! ::LOL::
you can't have your cake and eat it too
This phrase is easier to understand if it is read as "You can't eat your cake, and have it too".
Obviously once you've eaten your cake, you won't have it any more.
Used for expressing the impossibility of having something both ways,
bala24
27 Aug 2014 04:24 #209710
by bala24
Is WICB a bitch of the BCCI..? They seem to be accepting anything that BCCI offers..I mean no offense but shouldn't they put national interest first..?
WICB should sideline them and make sure they don't feature in international games.
Is it all completely based on players choice..??
rayking
27 Aug 2014 04:50 #209711
by rayking
While I am a bigger fan of players playing for their country, and like to see more matches in this format, this is good news and an added bonus for WI players. In fact it took a long time for me to actually accept and gather interest in a Premiere League format of the game, since you don't feel the same urge of cheering for your own country men. But a players career is short, and it is great if he can gather more experience playing and some moolah at the same time.
27 Aug 2014 12:40 #209804
Richard Oybus Director of cricket touted a WI FIRST policy.
Sunil Narine and West Indies
suffered vs. New Zealand as a result of its Enforcement !
Dunno what is going on here >
allswl
27 Aug 2014 15:43 #209838
by allswl
I cant see why they cant organise test cricket and other tournaments in such a way that they do not over lap. It is a difficulty decision for a player to choose between playing for country, which does not pay him much, and playing in a tournament which pays him a lot.
Windies to allow players to play in Champions League while a Test is underway
Time to create page: 0.197 seconds