23 Aug 2014 10:01 #209034 by Chin
MUIRHEAD - GLOBAL SEARCH ON FOR COACH

published by ikhan on Sat, 08/23/2014 - 04:38
By CMC.

PARAMARIBO, Suriname, CMC -

West Indians are being encouraged to apply for the vacant position of head coach of the West Indies Cricket team, Chief Executive Officer of the West Indies Cricket Board Michael Muirhead has announced.

However Muirhead revealed that the WICB has begun a global search to find a replacement for Ottis Gibson who ended his tenure as head coach of the regional side this week before the contract expired in 2016.

Media reports in Trinidad and Tobago are suggesting that Gibson’s replacement is likely to be the former South Africa and Australia coach Mickey Arthur, who recently finished his duties with the Jamaica Tallawahs in the Caribbean Premier League.

“We would talk to everybody. We are going on a worldwide hunt. We would like to put it out there,” said Muirhead in an exclusive interview with the Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC).

“We always would encourage West Indians but we have to evaluate them and put out our criteria. We would encourage West Indians. I can’t put a time table until we see what the pool of coaches is”.

A WICB statement earlier this week said Gibson and WICB ‘mutually agreed’ to terminate their association with immediate effect.

Team Manager, Sir Richie Richardson, has been asked to take charge of the team on an interim basis for the series against Bangladesh which started in Grenada on Wednesday with victory for West Indies.

“We are quite capable of functioning so as to carry the team through the Bangladesh series,” said Muirhead, speaking to CMC in Suriname while attending the 46th meeting of the Caribbean Broadcasting Union (CBU).

“Ritchie has the experience to keep players together. He is someone to maintain the cohesiveness.”

Gibson and WICB Cricket operations director Richard Pybus did not see eye to eye during a meeting which discussed a string of poor performances from the regional side, the Trinidad guardian reported.

WICB directors, who held a teleconference last weekend and were informed of the views of both Pybus and Gibson, decided to terminate Gibson’s services, the Guardian also reported.

“At some point we needed to reevaluate our position. We did and he did. This was the point where we reevaluated,” Muirhead told CMC.

“It was not a situation where we woke up and said time to go. It is a process. It evolved. It was not a single event that precipitated this. We have a director Mr. Pybus, I am accountable to a board”

West Indies have shown improvements under Gibson by winning the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka but the poor performances that have followed including losing the recent series in the Caribbean to New Zealand have triggered calls in many quarters for him to be sacked.

“From our side having offered his resignation we accepted,” said the  CEO.

“It is no secret the team has not performed. He did take us to the T20. But we have a goal to be  the number one side in the world.”

By CMC.

23 Aug 2014 18:44 #209133 by chairman
By CMC.

PARAMARIBO, Suriname, CMC - West Indians are being encouraged to apply for the vacant position of head coach of the West Indies Cricket team, Chief Executive Officer of the West Indies Cricket Board Michael Muirhead has announced.

However Muirhead revealed that the WICB has begun a global search to find a replacement for Ottis Gibson who ended his tenure as head coach of the regional side this week before the contract expired in 2016.

Media reports in Trinidad and Tobago are suggesting that Gibson’s replacement is likely to be the former South Africa and Australia coach Mickey Arthur, who recently finished his duties with the Jamaica Tallawahs in the Caribbean Premier League.

“We would talk to everybody. We are going on a worldwide hunt. We would like to put it out there,” said Muirhead in an exclusive interview with the Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC).

“We always would encourage West Indians but we have to evaluate them and put out our criteria. We would encourage West Indians. I can’t put a time table until we see what the pool of coaches is”.

A WICB statement earlier this week said Gibson and WICB ‘mutually agreed’ to terminate their association with immediate effect.

Team Manager, Sir Richie Richardson, has been asked to take charge of the team on an interim basis for the series against Bangladesh which started in Grenada on Wednesday with victory for West Indies.

“We are quite capable of functioning so as to carry the team through the Bangladesh series,” said Muirhead, speaking to CMC in Suriname while attending the 46th meeting of the Caribbean Broadcasting Union (CBU).

“Ritchie has the experience to keep players together. He is someone to maintain the cohesiveness.”

Gibson and WICB Cricket operations director Richard Pybus did not see eye to eye during a meeting which discussed a string of poor performances from the regional side, the Trinidad guardian reported.

WICB directors, who held a teleconference last weekend and were informed of the views of both Pybus and Gibson, decided to terminate Gibson’s services, the Guardian also reported.

“At some point we needed to reevaluate our position. We did and he did. This was the point where we reevaluated,” Muirhead told CMC.

“It was not a situation where we woke up and said time to go. It is a process. It evolved. It was not a single event that precipitated this. We have a director Mr. Pybus, I am accountable to a board”

West Indies have shown improvements under Gibson by winning the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka but the poor performances that have followed including losing the recent series in the Caribbean to New Zealand have triggered calls in many quarters for him to be sacked.

“From our side having offered his resignation we accepted,” said the  CEO.

“It is no secret the team has not performed. He did take us to the T20. But we have a goal to be  the number one side in the world.”

By CMC.

• Barbosa
23 Aug 2014 18:55 #209137 by Barbosa
[color=rgb(26, 26, 26)]I like this new approach by the WICB, it's about time we stop with the monkey business and take West Indies cricket serious, look we have searched for an overseas coaches in the past and the idea still didn't work, although i am a lonely voice in the mix of millions, i still believe Junior Bennett would be a good coach for the team, he is consistent, he demands performance, and he knows how to win tournaments, we are a west Indies team we should have a west Indian coach.[/color]

25 Aug 2014 08:21 #209309 by Calypso
Carl Hooper ........

25 Aug 2014 09:00 #209315 by Rohan99
I would apply for the coaching position but I don't think I qualify, however that didn't stop other people in the past from being chosen so I may try my luck.LOL. All jokes aside I don't think hiring ten coaches will help West Indies at this point. It is all with the players. They WICB better start seriously invest in the youth cricketers because the current generation of test players is a lost cause.

25 Aug 2014 09:14 #209319 by mapoui
who cares!
for the first time in ages any west indian side is playing like its old self against any opposition and cyar get the message....

all we have now is a coach and a manager really.  that is the message for the bounders up in there.  no more HC

trust me!  make Lloyd head Selector{HS} and team manager.  we will get the best out of LLoyd when he has some authority in his job.
case closed

25 Aug 2014 10:14 #209325 by ketchim
Maybe the guys in W.I. : sees it as a poisoned chalice.  :-\

Cause we all know that Roger Harper is certified and meets all the criteria :

PLUS taking his CPL coached team to both of its FINALS.

25 Aug 2014 10:55 #209350 by mapoui
yes.  well!  :( :(

I think any of Logie, Harper, Simmons, Baptiste, Roberts, Adams, David Williams...would be far, far, far, far, far, far..........bettah than any forriner at all as HC if deh insist on having one :)

25 Aug 2014 10:57 #209353 by ketchim
mapoui ,

west indian Coaches once said the PLAYERS :

are NOT coachable ....

25 Aug 2014 11:05 #209363 by mapoui

noted but still...

it was Harper who said dat.  he alone.  what about the rest ::confused::

and I fuhget Alvin 'Kallie' and Robin Singh.  I doh thinks these guys believe that.  and as you remind me of Harper dat prolly kills his chances one more time.  that is if he would even accept if asked ::confused::

yet now we talking millions of dollars...huge salary and millions if he sticks around for a few years

Time to create page: 0.235 seconds
ketchimLost the final Game but win series 3 games to 2 !(05.05.2024, 12:27)(12:27)0
NasirJohnson Charles 101* off 55 balls vs Nepal today

On the day the West Indies WC squad is named, a timely knock to remind us of what he is capable of
(01.05.2024, 13:09)(13:09)0
ketchimNepal beat West Indies in 1st T20 !(27.04.2024, 11:00)(11:00)0
CindyYes he is trying commentator gig !(26.04.2024, 21:52)(21:52)0
JudeQuestion??? Has Carlos Brathwaite retired from cricket ????(26.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimCongrats to Guyana for 4 day red ball and CPL white ball Champions !(20.04.2024, 21:20)(21:20)0
JaniyahCongrats to Guyana Harpy Eagles on winning 4 day regional tournament - 2 years in a row(20.04.2024, 18:48)(18:48)0
ketchimEid Mubarak !(10.04.2024, 08:58)(08:58)0
ketchimGuyana Win the U-15 with Adrian Hetmeyer !(04.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimU-15 Guyana Hetmeyer doing great !(01.04.2024, 22:35)(22:35)0
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
Memphis