Moores mystified by English malaise

23 Jul 2014 08:56 #203144 by chairman

Peter Moores admits he has yet to figure out whether England's whitewash Ashes defeat has left him with a clutch of cricketers with their best days behind them.

Moores has unequivocally backed captain Alastair Cook as the right man to help him take England into a new era.

Yet he concedes it is an unfathomable conundrum whether or not Cook, and others who played alongside him in England's descent to a 5-0 trouncing last winter, can rediscover the standards they once set.

Many of the early signs are far from encouraging as Cook, for example, battles to regain the run-scoring knack which has made him England's most prolific all-time centurion.

He has made a paltry 129 runs in nine attempts at the top of the order this year, dating back to the final Ashes Test in Sydney, and has also led England - including last winter's woes - to seven defeats in nine matches.

Asked if the 2013-14 debacle may continue to have a long-term effect on a generation of cricketers who travelled south with such hope, Moores said: "It's one of those questions you can never answer.

"The winter was tough. For some people, it will forge them and make them better over time; for some, it might not.

"It depends how you respond to it.

"But it was a tough experience - of that, there is no doubt."

Others who endured the Ashes are among those finding it most difficult so far this summer.

Matt Prior was dropped in Melbourne, recalled in the Moores regime and - after four Tests - has decided he can no longer do himself justice while injuries compromise him.

While the wicketkeeper takes the remainder of the Test summer off - he will be replaced by debutant Jos Buttler, named in England's 13-man squad for Sunday's third Investec Test against India in Southampton - frontline pace pair James Anderson and Stuart Broad also have questions to answer.

"We all know Test cricket is a challenge the longer you're in it," Moores added.

"What has got to happen is the senior players have got to look at their own games and decide how they are going to come back and play to the level needed to be in a successful England team.

"They will be desperate to start to make a really big contribution.

"It's been a frustration for them, as well as everybody else."

England's 95-run defeat at Lord's on Monday leaves them 1-0 down, with three to play and much to prove.

To that end, Moores acknowledges he must ask as much of himself as he does the players.

"Of course, I back myself as a coach. If I didn't, I wouldn't do the job," Moores added.

"If you're worth your salt, you're going to reflect on your bit - 'what could I have done better?'

"If you didn't, you're not going to keep improving. We ask players to improve, so coaches have to."

The same goes for Cook.

"We have some things to sort out, and we're not going to hide from any of that - and Alastair doesn't want to hide from it," Moores said.

"It's key that we look back honestly, and start to move forward as we need to.

"Cookie carries an enormous amount of respect in that dressing room.

"My job is to support him."

• boquiesse
23 Jul 2014 09:11 #203147 by boquiesse

Moores can't be serious. No wonder KP aint had time for he.

23 Jul 2014 09:22 #203155 by mapoui
typical head coach skunt.... he admits he can't do his job and he still working. how lucky can you get

fuh me alone he shud be fired immediately.  he is as incompetent as Gibson or worse.

deh shud make me ICC pres.  I would line up all head coaches past and current and have dem shot with shiite...a real proper solution, a nice lumpy gruel and let dem have it,

dat shud mark dem fuh life.  any time deh coming people know:

"Pheeeeeeeeew wot is dat! ::confused::  oh! is one of dem head coach fellers lookin' fuh wuk.  jess remember we have none!"

:D :D :D :D
:D :D :D
:D :D
:D

23 Jul 2014 09:43 - 23 Jul 2014 09:53 #203159 by mapoui
when Botham opened up predicting england would cut India rarse..win all the games...my response was no!  India is more likely to do that..win the series, but not all the games.  I claimed that both sides are cheesy but england is worse.

how in the hell I can stay in Canada and see that and Moores on the spot cannot see the cheese in his own side ::confused::.

Di'ze because he is incompetent.

he has a captain who has been beaten to a frazzle by the Oz, Sri Lanka.. and he cant get over it...wasted..too much lixxxxxx, pressure

he has no real good sturdy and exemplary experience in the side that may stabilise the youth.  Bell, Prior, Broad are all impse as leaders and example to the others.  Anderson is good but quiet

Ali and Root are good but not yet so established to be called on to save the side consistently.  they may do it a couple of times, show their class in smaller efforts... but at this stage they cannot be mainstays..consistent enough to be depended on to base the batting

Robson, Ballance, Root, Ali..all good and no doubt will make a really good batting side for england in a couple, 3 years..but not now.

Bell is supposed to provide stability and experience,  but Bell has flattered all along in the company of Trott, Pietersen, a flowing Cook. now shorn of these players and Cook failing Bell has returned to his real self...an ordinary batsman who does not have it to carry the side on his own despite all his experience.

Swann cut himself prematurely. Panesar is crazy.  there are no replacements for those guys.

and another problem is that Moores is selecting players he wants on the side while ignoring others with good claims.  he could have made use of Carberry for year or 2..even in the middle of the order. Carberry has peaked at 33 and was ready for a lil run.  He should have been used up.  he would have been very useful in the games so far

if Moores is selecting his players, the ones he wants then his incompetence is even clearer, greater. he does not really know the players he picks and what they are capable of..now that he admits he does not understand what's going on.  he speaks like they are not playing up to their potential and it is mysterious why.

there is no mystery to it.  they are doing the best they can thats all..especially the new players..doing the best they can at this time. they will do better in time

Moores is incompetent and should be fired, the HC position done away with comple... to save us all from a**holes like Moores. 
Last edit: 23 Jul 2014 09:53 by mapoui.

• boquiesse
23 Jul 2014 10:09 #203164 by boquiesse
Mr mapoui on a roll - all head coaches better watch out.

23 Jul 2014 10:11 #203166 by ketchim
mapster ,

Players BURN OUT .

Its gonna happen to more and more teams...

Tell that to Moores: no charge  ;)

23 Jul 2014 10:40 #203175 by mapoui
Mores is an impse ketchim.  I am sure he cant hear as well.

he is a poor judge of talent apparently.  he is in expectation of too much from this side he has here. 

england cannot win with this side.  they are really building if they decide to go this way but they doh seem aware of their state.  they expect to win with a side that cannot

once I accept the true state of the side and realise I must rebuild I would give Cook a rest for the season..until england played tests again after India.  I would pick Anderson to lead the side...recall Pietersen to solidify in Cooks absence.

as captain anderson's experience would come to the fore in a  helpful, exemplary manner.  stuart broad would just be a player...nowhere near the captaincy

I would go looking for the best young pace..the future and bring it in for Plunket..who is not the future at 30

• 1shanemarsh
23 Jul 2014 10:46 #203180 by 1shanemarsh
england will be soon worse than zimbabwe

• boquiesse
23 Jul 2014 11:05 #203187 by boquiesse

I dunno about bowlers leading a side. I know there have been all rounders who have had success doing it but IMO there is always the issue of them either bowling too little or too much.

England are not going to recall KP - he is too much of a "disruptive" influence.

One of the best young pacers was Finn but he seemed to think he could lick down the stumps once every over and the South Africans put paid to that. Now why this problem of his was not corrected before he got to test level is a mystery. Anyway I dunno what's the deal with him now.

• boquiesse
23 Jul 2014 11:10 #203189 by boquiesse

Time to create page: 0.224 seconds
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 10:44)(10:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 18:55)(18:55)0

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
KendraWest Indies cricket upcoming Test series(03.01.2025, 03:57)(03:57)0
LayneWest Indies vs England test match series(02.01.2025, 16:26)(16:26)0
Milaniwomen's cricket(02.01.2025, 15:26)(15:26)0
Thalia