17 Jul 2014 20:57 #202080
by dillinger10
30 years ago this week, Malcolm Marshall literally single-handedly took down England en route to a third test victory at Headingley in July 1984.
Having broke his left thumb in the field early on the first day many assumed Marshall was out of the game. He bowled just six overs in England's first innings and didn't return to the field of play.
At the close of play on day two, the West Indies trailed England by 31 runs with 3 wickets in hand.
Day three began with the game in the balance. Joel Garner was the ninth man out, ran out for 0, leaving the West Indies ahead by 20 runs. As Garner made his way back to pavilion, Marshall marched down the dressing-room steps and batted one-handed long enough (8 balls and 16 minutes) for Larry Gomes to complete his century.
Then, with his left arm encased in a pink plaster cast, Marshall tore through England's lineup, taking 7 for 53 (a new career best). The West Indies recorded an 8 wicket victory and went on to sweep the series. Larry Gomes was named man of the match but it is Marshall's feat that will live on in folklore.
It's also worth noting that during this test match, Maco took his 700th first-class wicket, the scalp of Paul Downton.
18 Jul 2014 05:48 #202108
Remember this very well.......
Marshall, for me, is the best Windian bowler of all time. Excellent SR and could do something with the ball in all conditions.
18 Jul 2014 10:34 #202124
by dillinger10
I agree. While there are so many greats to choose from, Marshall for me was the greatest. His average of 20.94 is still the lowest of any bowler with 200+ test wickets.
Marshall was my favorite cricketer growing up. I was blessed to have seen him many a time for Hampshire at the old County Ground.
30 Years Ago This Week...
Time to create page: 0.193 seconds