TnT's umpire Ralph Gosein

09 Jul 2014 13:15 #200672 by Googley
Former umpire recalls some moments of his career:

archive.today/c9X36

When asked which countries he hated umpiring with, Gosein quickly replied, "It's Australia and England."

09 Jul 2014 13:16 #200674 by Googley
As for the individuals, Gosein does not hesitate in naming controversial former Australian captain Ian Chappell ad Pakistani Safraz Nawaz as the two 'worst behaved."

09 Jul 2014 13:17 #200676 by Googley
Gosein names Sir Garfield Sobers as the 'gentleman' of cricket."
"I believe this is one of the qualities which made Gary so great. He always accepted decisions whichever way they went."

09 Jul 2014 13:18 #200677 by ketchim
Safraz was so cool and humble at Kitty Masjid.... ::LOL::

09 Jul 2014 13:20 #200679 by Googley
There was one occasion in particular, on which the soft-spoken umpire felt that he was never going to take the field again.
It was in 1973 when the West Indies team, led by Guyanese Rohan Kanhai, was playing against the Aussies in Jamaica.
"Ian Chappell was the batsman and I can't remember the bowler offhand. Ian swept at a ball going down the leg side and the wicketkeeper who was Mike Findlay caught the ball sending all the fielders up in the air shouting their appeals." 
"Now, every umpire would know that this is one of the hardest decisions to make because with the bat facing downwards, there is no way an umpire can see bat hitting ball, so my decision was 'not out'." 
"The incident took place with just a few minutes remaining before lunch and as usual at lunch time I went about my usual routine." 
"In those days, there was no special room for umpires so we hung our coats and washed our faces in the same room as the players." 
"So lunch time, as usual I went about doing this. But obviously Kanhai was very cut up with my 'not out' decision with Chappell, so while in the room he was using some very unhealthy language inquiring of the manager 'Whey alyuh get dem so and so umpire from?'" 
"The cursing went on for a while and when I could no longer take it I turned to Kanhai and asked him "Excuse me, but are you referring to me?" 
"That was a very big mistake I made, for Kanhai turned and started to direct his 'cuss words' to me with 'Who the so and so tell you to come in this room', 'why the so and so you don't get out.'" 
"I was really embarrassed and humiliated." 
"I mean this is happening in front of all the players. I cannot really explain how I felt at the moment. I just left the room and went to the pavilion." 
"I did not even bother to go and eat and in fact I was not thinking of going back to the field. My first thought was to get to my hotel, collect my things and get on the first flight back to Trinidad and forget about umpiring." 
"But the West Indian manager Clyde Walcott came to me and saw my tears. Clyde did a good job in consoling me and I went back to the field and resumed my job." 
"The truth is I did not really know what was happening on the field of play in that session."

09 Jul 2014 13:24 #200680 by chairman
yall heroes are not perfect people

09 Jul 2014 13:29 #200682 by ketchim

Dont buy it ..too Englishfied ...IF de Trini had quoted the babu :

" Leff abbi hay ...and pull meh eat " and dem tings:

he would be believeable .

BUT this is Macomere..... ::LOL::

09 Jul 2014 13:53 #200688 by Googley

hahahaha, the white gal taught the Babu english by then!  ::LOL::

09 Jul 2014 14:33 #200700 by mapoui
Kanhai wasn't easy as a person was he ::LOL:: ::LOL::

but Gosein was an impse too....pulled off a lot of bad decisions that did nt help west indies.  no wonder Kanhai was pissed
:D :D :D :D

• Mail
10 Jul 2014 05:00 #200778 by Mail
Ralph Gosein goes with Douglas Sang Hue much like Ramadhin and Valentine.

Standards were quite different in those days and like MAPPIPPEE says.....

Time to create page: 0.236 seconds

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
KendraWest Indies cricket upcoming Test series(03.01.2025, 03:57)(03:57)0
LayneWest Indies vs England test match series(02.01.2025, 16:26)(16:26)0
Milaniwomen's cricket(02.01.2025, 15:26)(15:26)0
Braxtonketchim(02.01.2025, 10:03)(10:03)0
ReedCARIVS 2020 contact(01.01.2025, 23:21)(23:21)0
Roy