09 Jul 2014 11:34 #200643
yuh ketch the chaiman out Googs!
but wadekar frustrtated crap out of Sobers and the west indies in 1971. out of me too..and west indians fans.
the man was on Sobers like stink on s..t....always a step ahead. Indian batsmen not falling like ten pins..sardesai and gavaskar cyant get out....venkat, prasanna and bedi spinning rings..and waderkar dong the right thing consistently
pheeeeeeew! that was real hard to swallow. but it was a turning point in cricket history. waderkar led the change, prepared the ground for Indian cricket today. Ganguly and Dhoni stand on his shoulders
09 Jul 2014 11:40 #200647
allyuh know who was my favourite Indian cricketer in those days ::confused::
allyuh never guess!
'Jaisimha'... the opening batsman ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
dat fella scored some hard runs for India and by 1971 I had come to have some respect for him. he did not score well on that tour but he fought hard..especially in the fifth at the Oval..third innings of the game
09 Jul 2014 11:59 #200649
There were odda names that started with the letter J in that team ::LOL::
Jaishima was the fave ....
Jayantilal played that Test in Jamaica and disappeared from TEST cricket :-[
09 Jul 2014 12:32 #200653
by Rev Al
* You know your cricket Mappy.
* He won a series against the WI in the Caribbean in 1971 and then won a series against England in England in 1971.
09 Jul 2014 12:36 #200654
Rev,
you might be the Chairman of the Sushi Elite club and a Sushi connoisseur,
but it comes to cricket Maps is the Chairman!
09 Jul 2014 12:43 #200659
Maaannnn...everybaddy knows that 71 series that Gavaskar came into his own:
and Ajit skippered...
Whappen to Nari Contractor ?
09 Jul 2014 12:51 #200661
by Rev Al
Googs:
The Rev gives credit where it's rightfully due, and that old geezer mapoui is a boss when it comes to cricket knowledge