03 Jul 2014 00:06 #199666
The Black Caps won just their 12th test series on foreign soil after beating the West Indies in Barbados.
In the last eight months, Brendon McCullum's team has started to perform on the field, with series wins in long-form cricket over India and the Windies twice.
We've seen the likes of McCullum, Ross Taylor and Kane Williamson score big hundreds while Jimmy Neesham has effectively played outstanding all-rounder Corey Anderson out of the team for now.
On the bowling front, Tim Southee and Trent Boult are, excuse the pun, delivering the goods and Mark Craig appears to be a legitimate spinning option.
The question, then, is whether New Zealand cricket is about to enter a golden era? Or are we getting carried away?
Can this New Zealand team start beating the world's top test nations or do recent results flatter to deceive?
Is there room in this team for both Neesham and Anderson? And are the days of finding a place in the side for bad boy Jesse Ryder well and truly over?
bala24
03 Jul 2014 04:51 #199668
by bala24
Of course,every team is a capable one of beating the bigger rivals.It is just that they been clicking well as a unit for some time now.if they can sustain this for long,we wouldn't have any doubts about them then.Even WI team is capable of beating a SA/Aus/Indian team.They just need to click on those 5 days,together..
03 Jul 2014 08:35 #199673
There is no doubt that over the last couple of years New Zealand has improved.
Williamson now averages 55.19, Southee has 123 wickets at 29.83, Boult 91 wickets at 27.45 and that's just 3 of them.
New Zealand have also shown that they can hang with the big boys at home.
The real question is what can they do when they play the likes of Australia, India, South Africa, England away. We will just have to wait and see.
03 Jul 2014 09:43 #199694
wat wurl beaters. deh ketchin deh arse with jackarse west indies and deh are world beaters ::confused::
dat mus' be comedy
deh play smart, can harnest to the best most times whatever abilities deh have... which is not a great deal. but thats it.
McCullum is a weak link himself..deh dont have openers. deh beat west indies with ah debut spinner
Taylor, Williamson, Neeshah, Boult, Southee..the keepr is also decent. thats it.
03 Jul 2014 09:51 #199696
by Rev Al
* The Black caps have 2 bowlers ranked in the Top 10 in the ICC Rankings----Boult and Southee.
* Any team with 2 Top 10 bowlers will be competitive.
* Are the black caps world beaters ?
* Well, they recently whipped #4 India.
* I am curious to see how they perform against #1 Australia and #2 South Africa.
03 Jul 2014 09:57 #199700
india is in a regroup mess. and over the years I dont really rate India due to unpredictability. I rated Ganguly's side..and the collection to came to a peak under Dhoni
but just when you think India is going to do well they falter. then do well when not expected to. or else excel on curry powders but falter elsewhere.
so if the Kiwi beat India I dont know if I shud rate or temper with the fact that it is India playing away from home ::confused::
03 Jul 2014 10:17 #199712
The series against India was two tests. Why they even bother to call two tests a series is something of a mystery.
Anyway the Indian performances were way better than the the capitulation of the WI when they toured.
Let us see what NZ does when they play the big boys away from NZ
03 Jul 2014 10:26 #199718
World Beaters ?
My new TEAM is just pleased with a # 4 ranking :
Everything above that in the Future would be a Bonus.
I explained to Baz the translation of Guyana's : " One , one dutty, bild Dam "
03 Jul 2014 10:42 #199725
I would say NZ have a way to go .... but while the cricketing world/fans have been focussing on the Big 3 ... the Kiwis have been quietly moving forward.
...and their young 4 prong is impressive ... certainly not in the mode of the likes of Dale Steyn currently but very promising !!!
Go Kiwis !!!
Black Caps: world beaters or pretenders?
Time to create page: 0.251 seconds