28 Jun 2014 10:22 #198737
June 28 (Reuters) - Sacked batsman Kevin Pietersen has put the blow-torch on Alastair Cook's England, saying the team's series defeat to Sri Lanka showed senior players were still shell-shocked from the 5-0 Ashes whitewash.
Pietersen also heaped additional pressure on out-of-form skipper Cook, claiming his lack of runs was playing on his mind and making him appear a "rabbit in the headlights".
"England were in winning positions in both matches but blew it, and I believe that is a symptom of the senior players being very unsettled," Pietersen, controversially dumped from the team in the wake of the Ashes debacle, wrote in his column in British newspaper, the Telegraph.
28 Jun 2014 10:25 #198738
way to go Kevin!
sink the knife in deep. then twiss it!
28 Jun 2014 10:34 #198743
LOL, I guess Cook will now lodge a complaint with the Telegraph
28 Jun 2014 10:35 #198744
"They are not turning up for the captain or coach. (Stuart) Broad and (James) Anderson looked jaded at Headingley,"
28 Jun 2014 10:38 #198747
But wha happen with the great new hope - Chris Jordan?
28 Jun 2014 10:49 #198752
"Why? Why was Jimmy so emotional? We have lost a lot of matches in the past but he has never shown such emotion.
28 Jun 2014 11:43 #198761
"You can only kid the public for so long," he said.
"If you tell them this is a brave new dawn, that the team will play an aggressive brand of cricket and try to be positive, but then play the same old negative stuff, the supporters will soon turn away from the team in droves."
28 Jun 2014 11:45 #198762
"I saw in Cook at Headingley the same look (former captain) Andrew Strauss had when he played his last test at Lord's," he said.
"He was a rabbit in the headlights. It was a shame to see Cooky looking that way."
28 Jun 2014 12:11 #198768
shame! seriously! waste of emotion on skook.
let him fail. if he is worthy he will work his way out, if he is not hewill continue to sink and be forced to give it up soon. skunt cud be out of cricket by the time he is 31. :-[
now wud that not be sweet. Kevin wud be catatonic in laffter. if jocularity cud kill it wud be Kevin in that event
ash2014uk
28 Jun 2014 12:22 #198770
by ash2014uk
England needs Pietersen back to be honest!
They are struggling and his consistency could really save England in this bad form they are in!
Rally Around West Indies!
We dont like Cricket. We love it.
Axed Pietersen sinks boot into struggling England
Time to create page: 0.205 seconds