England's Moeen Ali rails against cricket corruption

• 1shanemarsh
18 May 2014 11:19 #191253 by 1shanemarsh

England batsman Moeen Ali issues a stern warning to anyone seeking to corrupt the game.

The 26-year-old all-rounder explains to BBC Sport's Joe Wilson that his Muslim faith guides his career and guards against corruption.

Ali's all-round abilities saw him selected for England over the winter, and he's expected to make his Test debut this summer.

18 May 2014 12:21 #191272 by ketchim

Mashallah !  8)

• boquiesse
18 May 2014 16:05 #191342 by boquiesse
LOL so wha about his "brothers" in Pakistan who seem to be at de forefront of dis ting - is what guiding dem?

• Mail
18 May 2014 20:19 #191370 by Mail
Lack of faith for that small proportion of cheats.

18 May 2014 22:57 #191376 by Kyle
Err, faith (or lack thereof) has jack all to do with it. I don't need faith to tell me to remain ethical - I'm a non believer and although I'm no saint, I try to be ethical as possible.

If Moeen feels like he needs faith to "guard him against corruption", good for him, whatever floats his boat.

• Mail
19 May 2014 05:11 #191390 by Mail
Kylester,

As a revert to Islam I know exactly what he is saying. He is speaking for himself and not anyone else. He is not preaching.

As Islam is a way of life, with the demands of prayer etc, there is the emphasis on God's will, equality, fairness, lying etc. this may well apply to others but he is simply talking about himself. When you prayer 5 times a day, it is almost impossible to be focused on anything but good.

Cronje was a devout Christian, as I was, but yet he found the need.

19 May 2014 22:32 #191498 by Kyle

I was rather responding to your comment just above my post, Mail :P You don't know if they lack faith. That's very convenient IMO - they probably had faith too. Who's to say that they lacked faith? I just don't think you have to attribute that to "faith" and "lack of faith". Rather attribute that to them being corrupt pricks (especially Butt and Asif). "Lack of faith" isn't something that leads a person to unethical actions. That's all what I'm saying.

Moeen's case is fair enough - if he feels that somehow helps him, fair play to him again.

• Mail
20 May 2014 03:21 - 20 May 2014 09:13 #191505 by Mail
Kylester,

Point duly noted my friend but for me faith goes hand in hand with integrity.

Faith is not praying but a belief in certain values, confidence in a view and in this case fairness.

Whether it is Lou Vincent, Conje, Gibbs, Asif, Samuels etc, they cleary did not have the faith or confidence in th view of fairness. Cronje was a church goer but cleary lacked faith whether that be a religious or moral doctrine.

Anyway in Lou's case I am saddened because he has had some time of depression, known to have travelled and lived around the UK in a camper van, not always in the best circumstances, also being ripped off a significant amount of money. However I do not condone his actions or that of others in  a similar situation. I suppose Lou will have a lot of support for what some may see as  his mental/ emotionl fragility.

Is Amir's ban completed as yet?

20 May 2014 09:07 #191511 by ketchim

Well put !

• Mail
20 May 2014 09:14 #191514 by Mail
Alhamdulillah.

Time to create page: 0.215 seconds

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
KendraWest Indies cricket upcoming Test series(03.01.2025, 03:57)(03:57)0
LayneWest Indies vs England test match series(02.01.2025, 16:26)(16:26)0
Milaniwomen's cricket(02.01.2025, 15:26)(15:26)0
Braxtonketchim(02.01.2025, 10:03)(10:03)0
ReedCARIVS 2020 contact(01.01.2025, 23:21)(23:21)0
CyrusBrian Lara Stadium inaugural match(01.01.2025, 23:17)(23:17)0
AlysonSuper User(01.01.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
VeraWest Indies vs England test match series(01.01.2025, 17:52)(17:52)0
Kevin