18 May 2014 10:59 #191241
Last Thursday the Government of Guyana with support for the main opposition party APNU, successfully passed a piece of legislation called the “Cricket Administration Bill.â€
The Bill was opposed by the Alliance for Change (AFC), with Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan arguing against its passage.
Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports, Dr. Frank Anthony in presenting the Bill informed the House that the enactment of this bill is likely to solve many issues surrounding the national game. He also stated that similar pieces of legislation were enacted in Barbados and Trinidad.
It appeared as though not many in the cricketing and legal fraternity agree with Minister Anthony and the Attorney General Anil Nandlall that the Guyana “Cricket Administration Bill,†is in any way, similar or can be compared to the pieces of legislation that incorporated the Barbados Cricket Association and the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board.
Cricket bill will create more chaos
18 May 2014 15:47 #191336
Me start reading de article and my head start hurting. Mek I leff dat for dem legal luminaries in Guyana to sort out.
Sometime in the next century there may be some resolution to the matter.
20 May 2014 09:26 #191519
WICB does NOT have the Credibility to be Autonomous.
Neither do the regional feeder Boards.
These Folks IGNORE even the Caricom leaders....
I say have some aspect of Government legislated involvement...
For the West Indies ONLY because of its Uniqueness:
NOT being 1 Country BUT a collection of what ...7 ??
Heck , we dont even have a National anthem ... :-[
Cricket bill will create more chaos! Kaiteurnews
Time to create page: 0.204 seconds