15 May 2014 06:46 #190815
Former West Indies skipper Daren Ganga has backed new Test captain Denesh Ramdin to be a success in the role, saying he has the tactical nous to push the side up the ICC rankings, past New Zealand.
15 May 2014 07:02 #190818
Ganga feels Ramdin, widely agreed to be the best wicketkeeper they have, will be a good leader, telling Cricinfo: "It's a great opportunity to show his worth.
"He has been groomed as a leader in the Regional Four-Day tournament for Trinidad and his experience at junior levels leading show he is ready to grab the reins of leadership.
"His tactical knowledge and understanding of the game is pretty sound. I've played for many years with Denesh. I think he can mesh the various personalities and motivate players of different backgrounds on the team.
"He can make a positive difference. Denesh can help West Indies leapfrog New Zealand in the rankings (NZ are sixth, WI are eighth)."
15 May 2014 09:10 #190826
You can have as much tactical knowledge etc etc but if you have batsmen who cannot bat or bowlers who bowl rubbish then the most brilliant captain in the world is not going to help.
It's good that Best is no longer on the WI test team and unlikely to return - he bowled some real crap in NZ and no cappo in the world can deal with that other than taking him off.
I just hope the pacers given to Ramdin can bowl decently - if they do WI will win the home series against NZ.
15 May 2014 10:31 #190845
High expectations ... but I wouldn't be putting that sort of pressure on Ramdin at this stage (though it would be great if WI finally moved up the rankings)...
Let's just wait and see how it goes ........ after all Sammy had a free run for 4 years compliments of H&H :-[
15 May 2014 10:46 #190854
Certainly a dressing room filled with confidence :
It is such a pleasure to play under a deserving Captain.
Truss me , any of you who played in a club would know
15 May 2014 10:54 #190861
Hope Ramdin got a note in his pocket which says .........
Get rid of Ottis... get rid of Chief Selector ... and bring back Shiv to ODI's ;D
15 May 2014 11:02 #190865
well yes! Ramdin as cappo is not quite enough.
di'ze like sending a test to a psychiatirst and at the end of the day sending him back into the environment that caused the problem in the fus' place
the coach mus' go by which I mean the man and the position. then reconstitution of the selectors with Lloyd as chair and team manager. that shud wuk well!
but I have said dat before too :-[ :-[
15 May 2014 11:34 #190871
Why Lloyd? What is it about Lloyd that have you so enthralled.
He does not live in the Caribbean so who is going to pay the large sums of money that will be needed for his temporary accommodation in the Caribbean.
Ganga: Ramdin will push Windies up rankings
Time to create page: 0.203 seconds