Sammy's sacking premature, says former WICB CEO

14 May 2014 15:31 #190765 by chairman
CASTRIES, St Lucia (CMC) — Former West Indies Cricket Board chief executive Ernest Hilaire has branded Darren Sammy's axing as Test captain as "premature".

Hilaire, an often controversial and straight-talking administrator, told HTS Channel Four here that Sammy had been appointed to carry out the specific task of rebuilding the regional team, but contended that process had not yet been completed.

Last Friday, the WICB sacked Sammy as captain after nearly four years in charge, in favour of wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin. Sammy subsequently retired from the Test game.

"As to whether it (sacking) is the best timing, personally I think it is premature. I think there was always an understanding that Darren was going to be interim as a new team was being built and that he was going to lead the interim and rebuilding phase until the team had reached a stage and had the players that would constitute what one could call the ideal team structure," said Hilaire, who stepped down from the WICB in 2012 after three years in charge.

"As to whether the West Indies have reached that stage, I don't think so. I still don't think they have all the requirements in place where they can move in that direction and therefore it is probably premature to have removed Darren as captain, and certainly discarded him as even a player.

"But that's what it is and that's what the selectors have informed him and he acted in a manner which the thought was in his best interest."

Sammy led West Indies in 30 of his 38 Tests, finishing with eight wins, 12 defeats and 10 draws. A vibrant and well-respected personality, Sammy was credited for returning discipline and stability to the West Indies side.

However, with a batting average of 21 and a bowling average of 35, his place in the side came under constant scrutiny. And with the Test side suffering heavy defeats away to India and New Zealand last year, more pressure was brought to bear on Sammy's position.

Hilaire, who is now St Lucia's High Commissioner to London, said it was evident Sammy's decision to retire stemmed from an understanding he was no longer in the future plans of selectors.

"There seems to be the view that Sammy was told by the selectors that they had changed their direction as it relates to selecting the team," said Hilaire, who presided over one of the most turbulent periods in West Indies cricket.

"They wanted to move to specialist bowlers and specialist batsmen and in that context, they felt he no longer had a pick on the team and could no longer be captain and therefore Ramdin was going to assume the captaincy."

He continued: "Now if you're told there are no plans for you as a player or as a captain, it is time for you to move on, and against the background Darren announced his retirement and of course Ramdin was announced as captain."

Despite Sammy's modest record as skipper, Hilaire said the Windward Islands all-rounder had a made an outstanding contribution, especially at a time when the sport in the region was at a crossroads.

"I think there will always be people who know cricket, who know the sport and who can see what has happened and the contribution Darren has made," Hilaire contended.

"Darren came in when there was turmoil. The senior players were not available, they had chosen instead to go and play cricket in other parts of the world.

"There was a lot of disenchantment, there was a lot of disappointment and he brought some stability, he brought some pride, he brought some honour to West Indies cricket and the leadership as a whole. He brought something refreshing."

• Barbosa
14 May 2014 15:36 #190767 by Barbosa
Get lost Hilaire, AND STAY LOST, and just remember YOU WERE CENTRAL TO THE TURMOIL YOU SO BOLDLY CITED, including your BOORISH and DISRESPECTFUL behavior towards the Jamaican Prime Minister, Mrs. Portia Simpson-Miller. You did not have the decency to apologise to her, leaving that task to your fellow St. Lucian Julian Hunte. The removal of Sammy brings closure to that FAILED St. Lucian experiment for Windies cricket. We don't need to hear from you, as you have NOTHING meaningful to contribute to Windies cricket.

• Mail
14 May 2014 16:02 #190769 by Mail
The turmoil was in fact created by Hillaire.

From his words, it appears Sammy was appointed for life or something close as 4 years of personal and leadership mediocrity does not seem adequate for Hillaire.

Attention Kylester....... Please read this mate if you did not, previously,  get a flavour for the 'hate' going out to Sammy.

Forget the debacle in India. If you look at how rapidly NZ, previously beaten in the Windies, had improved under Hesson and big Mac then you have a benchmark for where Sammy was taking this team.

I really wonder how long Hillaire would have wanted Sammy in post?

Answers on a a postcard please!

14 May 2014 22:50 #190804 by Kyle

This does put things in context - but my point was shouldn't the hate be directed at HILLAIRE rather than Sammy, as much of a shit job he might have done with the test side? I don't know.

Also the whole Hesson thing - it's more complex. They've had their dire days and good days under him, and it's been a while since he took over. But the improvement recently in post McCullum captaincy times has been pretty solid, granted.

15 May 2014 11:00 #190864 by ketchim

a real man would have told Hillaire to " kiss meh ass ".

I aint NO stooge .

I am a Players association man , I am a teammates man

and I dont undermine proven TEST and ODI teammates  !

Find some odda cock sucker  :P

• boquiesse
15 May 2014 11:48 #190874 by boquiesse

Hate was directed at Sammy because he was such an obvious yes man.

While I have no proof I have absolutely no doubt that he would have told Hilaire what anyone might have been saying in the dressing room.

Second his strings were being pulled by Hilaire. Why on earth would you act the fool over a WIPA awards ceremony unless you have someone advising you to act that way.

15 May 2014 22:27 #190942 by Kyle
Wow, so the hate is because he didn't actively resist when he was given captaincy? That might be a good reason to be not a FAN of him, not for the HATE directed at him. Most cricketers would gobble up if they're given the captaincy.

The problem is squarely with Hillaire on this, for being such a twathead. Sammy did a dire job as captain, but that doesn't justify the HATE towards him IMO.

• boquiesse
16 May 2014 07:57 #190961 by boquiesse

The hate is not because " he didn't actively resist when he was given captaincy".

IMO it's more to do with Sammy's behaviour and utterances after he became captain. He really seemed to believe the nonsense that was spouted by Hilaire in many interviews.

When he quit  he said this:
" The team was in complete disarray when I was given the job four years ago. I’m proud of what I’ve contributed to the team as a captain"

As I said before a lot of the so called "disarray" was caused by Hilaire so as far as I am concerned this statement is a load of crap.

What the fcuk has he contributed as test captain?

16 May 2014 11:25 #191004 by ketchim

Not true ...

Many guys will never sell their Teammates for a few pieces of Silver !

16 May 2014 11:26 #191006 by ketchim

ronnie291
18 hours ago
What a surprise, should keep his mouth shut !

Time to create page: 0.233 seconds

LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
KendraWest Indies cricket upcoming Test series(03.01.2025, 03:57)(03:57)0
LayneWest Indies vs England test match series(02.01.2025, 16:26)(16:26)0
Milaniwomen's cricket(02.01.2025, 15:26)(15:26)0
Braxtonketchim(02.01.2025, 10:03)(10:03)0
ReedCARIVS 2020 contact(01.01.2025, 23:21)(23:21)0
CyrusBrian Lara Stadium inaugural match(01.01.2025, 23:17)(23:17)0
AlysonSuper User(01.01.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
VeraWest Indies vs England test match series(01.01.2025, 17:52)(17:52)0
Spencer