Lloyd wants Windies to show passion for the sport

22 Feb 2014 12:02 #179391 by chairman
PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad (CMC) — Legendary former West Indies Cricket captain Clive Lloyd wants current players to recommit themselves to the improvement of the game in the region.

Considered the most successful Test captain of all time, Lloyd said that the players must develop a passion for cricket, and not just the money.

"We must have our best players playing in our cricket — all aspects of our cricket," he said in a recent interview with former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop.

"You can't just think that you want all the money. (The) fellas are being paid pretty well, but (they) must have some love for West Indies cricket. And at the moment I'm not seeing how it could move forward. I would like to see more of a skill set."

Lloyd, who played in 110 Tests and 87 One-Day Internationals for West Indies between 1974 and 1985, said that regional players are being overwhelmed by their opponents in forms of the game.

"You [look] at our players and you are not seeing this extra fight that is needed to compete. We don't seem to be competing against other nations. They [seem] to be outmaeuvring us in all departments of the game, which is unfortunate," he said.

"We still have people here who are interested in the game, people still support cricket and we have to because as West Indians we want our cricket to get back up that hill. But at the moment it is not there. We have one or two good players, no doubt about that, but we are not kicking on."

The former captain is also concerned about the fitness of the young players who are representing the regional side. He said the fitness of the players is affecting the performance of the West Indies team.

"I found that our players don't look as fit as they should be. I still would like to have someone like Dennis Waite with our guys. To me, too many of them are being injured and I don't know why 19- and 20-year-old guys getting injured and they are not playing a lot of cricket. So I think it's a fitness situation and we would have to try and do that over a period of time, but fitness is going to be very important to us."

Lloyd is also concerned about West Indies' selection policy and the output of the Sagicor West Indies High Performance Centre (HPC) based at the Cave Hill Campus of the University of the West Indies (UWI).

"We don't have that cohesion at the moment. We seem to be a bit sporadic with our selection and so on and I think that comes from not winning," he said.

22 Feb 2014 12:13 #179394 by ketchim

hahahahaha.....Lloyd is losing it  ;D

22 Feb 2014 12:54 #179398 by mapoui
here we go with this passion again.....

oh mi gord!  this passion shiite is like religion.  all  kinds of trouble yuh face..the reality around you, right there in yuh face.  yuh can see what yuh mus' to to solve..you can see what caused the problem but deh arks you to pray tuh rarse.  gord will anser yuh prayers, solve yuh problems

the wicb rioting rioting in the cricket, mashing up everything, paying demselves big salary, squeezing the players, totally totalitarian and dictatorial. 

the side in response if dead, brought to its knees by the wicb and ICC.  the cricket team is non cohesive.  deh see whats goin' orn in the cricket world and it dispirits them, breaks their emotion and deh respond accordingly.

so what does skunt Lloyd want.  he wants Dennis Waith and passion. he wants the boys to hold onto the cricket and kiss it and love and romance it on the field of play.  he wants passion.

there are times I think Lloyd is quite nuts allyuh know, a giant phucking simpleton.  I don't even like to hear the rarse speak he chats so much nonsense.

the stage of the day is the problem. cricket administration is now old and rotted to its core, corrupt and out of sync with the modern needs of the game..from the ICC down to the national boards.. its done.  cricket like all else must be revolutionized from the ground up, free to find an operational structure and international frequency and formats consistent with the needs of the game for long term survival.

the current way based on old imperialism is done, no longer functional, no longer useful.  it has brought the game to its knees finally and cannot make it upright again.  it is time for a new way or the game will die.  and no player passion will resurect its dead skunt >:( >:( >:(

22 Feb 2014 12:58 - 22 Feb 2014 19:09 #179399 by mapoui

he sure is..has lost it in fact

he is just like the wicb..the people in charge.  they want the players to love the game but do they?

they bleed the game, feed off it, literally kiil the game and they put it all on the players.."they mus' love the game"

well what about them..don't they love the game MC an' dem? 

they eff up all the time and are accountable to no one.  but the players are accountable eh!

man funk LLoyd eh!  he is no solution! >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Last edit: 22 Feb 2014 19:09 by mapoui.

22 Feb 2014 12:59 #179400 by ketchim

I concur. But in Clive's defense , the chap loves the Game  8)

22 Feb 2014 13:13 - 22 Feb 2014 14:18 #179404 by mapoui
he loves the game eh.  sometimes love can kill.  you might as well doh love.  it makes no sense

look Sammy is not loved by the team.  it is doubtful the team will play for him.

the team clearly does not love Gibson

those were 2 serious, basic and large factors imposed on the team that seriously mitigates its cohesion.  how in the hell can the players love that?  why wud we ask the players to bite that bullet and be happy when it does not have to be.. can be solved immediately by the removal of both men captain and coach?

how from the wicb point of view can 2 men..Sammy and Gibson... be greater and more important than the cohesion of the 15 who make up the team?

and Lloyd comes and talks about love and passion.  that is religion yuh see, turn the other cheek, no matter what love yuh bretherin and all dat pointless crap..the have faith shiit the elites always invoke to justify their program
Last edit: 22 Feb 2014 14:18 by mapoui.

22 Feb 2014 16:50 #179429 by ketchim

Clive , go look at the roster of the management XI and U will CRINGE !

22 Feb 2014 17:51 #179431 by Kwami
Loyd is a dinosaur and his words do not  carry much weight anymore

Time to create page: 0.218 seconds
LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
KendraWest Indies cricket upcoming Test series(03.01.2025, 03:57)(03:57)0
LayneWest Indies vs England test match series(02.01.2025, 16:26)(16:26)0
Milaniwomen's cricket(02.01.2025, 15:26)(15:26)0
Braxtonketchim(02.01.2025, 10:03)(10:03)0
ReedCARIVS 2020 contact(01.01.2025, 23:21)(23:21)0
CyrusBrian Lara Stadium inaugural match(01.01.2025, 23:17)(23:17)0
AlysonSuper User(01.01.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
VeraWest Indies vs England test match series(01.01.2025, 17:52)(17:52)0
MilaniWest Indies vs Bangladesh cricket series(01.01.2025, 12:45)(12:45)0
Lancehappy new year(01.01.2025, 01:08)(01:08)0
ByronAustralia beat up on india(31.12.2024, 14:24)(14:24)0
JuliannaWest Indies vs England test match series(30.12.2024, 21:31)(21:31)0