KUMAR SANGAKKARA: A Subcontinent and Minnow Bully

08 Jan 2014 18:16 #172265 by mapoui

I am not horning in on your territory.

you are the numbers man.  you can pull them up quick quick.  is you raise the issue, the thread.  you are in the lead period.

so I not usurping your lead.  go ahead..  yuh said 35 in england.. that's low..not supposed to be for a great bastman. 

so I interested.  wat yuh making noise for?  you doh want to win yuh argument ::confused::

I dont use cricinfo's stats gyuru anyway.  there are others ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

08 Jan 2014 18:25 #172267 by TRINIDADDY
Pakistan and India aren't minnows, but yes, everyone knows Sanga pads his stats against Bangladesh, on flat traks or vs bad bowling.

Sangakkara cites being a wicket keeper and watching Lara from behind with inspiring a change in his batting. He goes out of his way to make big scores and is trying to rival Lara's 9 double centuries.

But half his double centuries are against Zimbabwe and Bangladesh and only one big innings was played outside of Asia and Sri Lanka.

I judge batsmen on how they perform against the biggest teams, the best attacks and when they're put in seemingly insurmountable situations. Sanga's always been an overrated great, in my eyes. Clarke has big scores too, but is he a great? I dont rate him or Sanga as "all time greats". 

08 Jan 2014 18:39 #172269 by mapoui
wat about Gayle them...2 triples..a double..a few big hundreds ::confused::

08 Jan 2014 21:50 #172281 by TRINIDADDY
Gayle is a waste. His 2013 odi average is 19.

08 Jan 2014 22:43 #172291 by Kyle
How the FLIP is Pakistan a minnow?
Their batting is fragile as feck, but their bowling is solid. Junaid Khan is quality and close to world class, Ajmal despite his recent off color performances is by far the best spinner in the world. Their back up bowlers are still damn fine.You're bleeding kidding me if you think 43 and 48 are "ordinary". Are you serious dude?

09 Jan 2014 08:40 #172305 by Rev Al

Kyle:

* CALM DOWN!

* I never said Pakistan is a minnow.

* What I said was Sangakkara is a subcontinent and minnow bully.

* He has dominated subcontinent teams like Bangladesh, India and Pakistan and he has also mauled minnows like the West Indies and Zimbabwe.

* Regarding Sanga's 43 avg vs Aus and 48 avg vs SA----those are solid numbers.

* But there is a huge disparity between Sanga's 72 average against subcontinent teams and the 2 minnows(WI/Zim) and his 42 average against Aus, Eng, SA and NZ.

BOTTOM LINE:

* Sangakkara has great numbers
10,500+ runs at a 56 average----that's great stuff.

* But a closer look at Sanga reveals he has not been dominant against the white teams.

09 Jan 2014 10:55 #172323 by ketchim
BTW......Kumar is a qualified Lawyer and like Lawsuits that call him " Bully "  ::LOL::

09 Jan 2014 11:15 #172330 by Rev Al
THESE ARE SANGAKKARA'S SCORES IN HIS LAST 2 TESTS AGAINST BANGLADESH

142, 105, 139, 55

================

SANGA VS PAKISTAN

* It is quite surprising that in 3 innings against the Pakis in the current series Sanga has yet to score a hundred.

* His 3 scores so far: 16, 55, 26

* Sanga has scored 9 hundreds in 18 tests versus Pakistan.

LIKE I SAID---SANGAKKARA IS A SUBCONTINENT AND MINNOW BULLY.

* Hopefully Sanga will average 50+ against Australia, South Africa, England or New Zealand by the end of his career.

09 Jan 2014 11:24 #172339 by ketchim
Dubai.....Sand Desserts and humid conditions.

Not your typical dust bowl and curry powder pitches of the Sub Continent

This after all is the Middle East ....where Hermits and Nomads ROAM  ;)

09 Jan 2014 11:25 #172340 by Rev Al

49.38----He needs to get it back to 50.

stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/i...results;type=batting

Time to create page: 0.225 seconds
LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 18:11)(18:11)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 20:03)(20:03)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
AllenWest Indies vs India first test(03.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
MackenzieWest Indies vs England test match series 2023(03.01.2025, 05:24)(05:24)0
KendraWest Indies cricket upcoming Test series(03.01.2025, 03:57)(03:57)0
LayneWest Indies vs England test match series(02.01.2025, 16:26)(16:26)0
Milaniwomen's cricket(02.01.2025, 15:26)(15:26)0
Braxtonketchim(02.01.2025, 10:03)(10:03)0
ReedCARIVS 2020 contact(01.01.2025, 23:21)(23:21)0
CyrusBrian Lara Stadium inaugural match(01.01.2025, 23:17)(23:17)0
AlysonSuper User(01.01.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
VeraWest Indies vs England test match series(01.01.2025, 17:52)(17:52)0
MilaniWest Indies vs Bangladesh cricket series(01.01.2025, 12:45)(12:45)0
Lancehappy new year(01.01.2025, 01:08)(01:08)0
ByronAustralia beat up on india(31.12.2024, 14:24)(14:24)0
JuliannaWest Indies vs England test match series(30.12.2024, 21:31)(21:31)0