Is there any future for West Indies cricket? Oscar Ramjeet asks!

18 Nov 2013 12:47 #163564 by chairman
Dear Sports Editor,
There is absolutely no doubt that West Indies cricket has deteriorated and instead of getting better, it is getting worse. The reasons are numerous, but international commentators have attributed the decline to failure of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) to move the game from an amateur part time to a professional sport coupled with the general economic decline in the Caribbean.
I will add to that by blaming the authorities for not selecting the best team and in order to do so there must be competent and impartial selectors. I strongly feel that the selection panel should be past experienced players like Sir Viv Richards, Clive Lloyd, Curtley Ambrose etc. Frankly speaking I do not think that Clyde Butts is the right person to head the selection panel, although he was a successful regional spin bowler.
It saddens me about the state of affairs in our cricket. Windies won the first two World Cup tournaments in 1975 and 1979 and was the runner up in 1983. We also won the ICC competition in 2004 and the World Twenty/20 in 2012, and there are 17 West Indians in the Hall of fame including Sobers, Gibbs, Headley, Lara, Lloyd, Marshal, Roberts, Kanhai, Kallicharran, Weekes, Worrell, Walcott, Ambrose, Holding, Walsh, Garner and Richards and soon or later Chanderpaul and Gayle would be included in the prestigious group.
One wonders if the current captain Darren Julius Garvey Sammy is the correct person to lead the squad. In fact many feel that he should not even be in the team. He played 35 tests and scored less than 1200 runs at an average of 21 and in ODIs he has a little over 1300 runs to his credit in his 103 ODIs averaging a little over 21 also. He claimed 77 Test wickets and 74 in ODIs…not good enough to be a certainty in the team.
The selectors made a big blunder in naming the team to India. It is unbelievable that the mystery spinner Sunil Narine was not in the squad or Jamaican Nikita Miller to assist Shane Shillingford who bowled his heart out delivering 46 overs of the 104 bowled in the match.
I cannot see why the selectors do not name our best batsman, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, in the One Day games, stating that he is not aggressive enough to play the shorter version of the game. This is rubbish. In the first innings in the test in India, he struck the second delivery he faced for a six, and he scored the third fastest century in the history of test cricket.
The selectors keep changing the team so often that it is difficult to keep up with the names of the players and there are far too many so called officials in the touring party in the like of assistant coach, strength and conditioning co-ordinator, and massage therapist. Commentators also feel that Head Coach Ottis Gibson is not the correct person for the job. Besides his inability as a coach, his relationship with the players is not the best.
Former Jamaican Prime Minister, PJ Patterson, a cricket enthusiast, had carried out an Inquiry about West Indies cricket, and I am not sure whether his recommendations were ever adopted.  Something must be done as quickly as possible to bring back the West Indies to the glory days.

Oscar Ramjeet
kaiteur news

18 Nov 2013 13:22 #163579 by Kwami
Holy shit , is Oscar Ramjeet still around?

18 Nov 2013 13:50 #163583 by mapoui
is there hope for west indies cricket ::confused::

no...and yes!

what did mapoui establish many years ago when I began posting:  that west indies cricket will not revive, get good again,  until there is social reformation in the west indies from the ground up

and if there is none the west indies itself will decline all to hell until we are replaced by others coming into the region.

the west indies are paralyzed by what remains of Ole' Marse in the form of domination by a black and brown colonial class of people who are not west indian in orientation at all, from the perspective of the nationalist interest of ordinary west indians, who have no alternative but to be west indian, regardless of their current ideological orientation or whatever ideological fragmentation their collective perspective currently represent.

the black/brown elites  who run every aspect of west indian society are for all intent and purpose forriners for all their black and brown skins.  they are not even as nationalistic as the white planters who ran west indies cricket up to 1995, and produced 2 championships along the way.

just take a look at Dave Cameron.  he is worse than skunt Hunter..which is why I have call him already SKAMERON.  they guy simply does not care about cricket as ordinary west indians d.  the guy is even more forrin-minded than Hunter.  he is prepared to bring in 2 cheap and chump forrin teams to the west indies ODI next year so he has made room by cutting out the CCC, last years finalist.

Skameron is very keen on money it appears, profits and so he is focused on the shorter forms of the game in the region.  and so he has sold out our patrimony to to a forrin investor who now exploits our T20 potential..when we should have developed that ourselves.

our refusal to develop our own potential, giving it away to forrin 'investors' is the chief reason the west indies is in economic decline.  and despite this stark reality our elites keep doing the same old traitorous policies of forrin investment and forrin control of  west indian finance.

there is no hope unless the ordinary folk rise up and intervene, cull the elites and start again.  that is all that can revitalize the west indies in all areas of life , culture..including cricket!

short of that the west indies is toast no matter the thousands of university degrees walking the streets, employed everywhere running the region into the ground. 

why?

every single degree represents an uncle Tom, a traitor who has been trained, conditioned to represent forrin interests..not the interests of the west indian nation and the masses of the west indian people.  those are who must rise up and and insert their collective interest where the elitist traitors now reside

18 Nov 2013 13:52 #163585 by mapoui
great comment Soca!  you are on the ball!

18 Nov 2013 15:01 #163602 by ketchim
Mapoui , please doan encourage Insularity !

TnT Red Force got their asses rinsed in south africa :

by a mediocre Yorkshire County team.

World stage, my ass  :P

18 Nov 2013 15:22 #163605 by mapoui

you mus' mean Soca ketchim ::confused::

dat woman beatin' you up so bad yuh get bazody bwoy

18 Nov 2013 15:53 #163609 by chairman
soca train is comin our way 8)

Time to create page: 0.224 seconds
NasirJohnson Charles 101* off 55 balls vs Nepal today

On the day the West Indies WC squad is named, a timely knock to remind us of what he is capable of
(01.05.2024, 13:09)(13:09)0
ketchimNepal beat West Indies in 1st T20 !(27.04.2024, 11:00)(11:00)0
CindyYes he is trying commentator gig !(26.04.2024, 21:52)(21:52)0
JudeQuestion??? Has Carlos Brathwaite retired from cricket ????(26.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimCongrats to Guyana for 4 day red ball and CPL white ball Champions !(20.04.2024, 21:20)(21:20)0
JaniyahCongrats to Guyana Harpy Eagles on winning 4 day regional tournament - 2 years in a row(20.04.2024, 18:48)(18:48)0
ketchimEid Mubarak !(10.04.2024, 08:58)(08:58)0
ketchimGuyana Win the U-15 with Adrian Hetmeyer !(04.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimU-15 Guyana Hetmeyer doing great !(01.04.2024, 22:35)(22:35)0
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
ketchim6:30 p.m. EST(16.01.2024, 17:09)(17:09)0
Ernesto