Shimron Hetmeyer – in pursuit of a Windies cricketing career

30 Oct 2013 14:17 #160734 by chairman

“OVER the next five years, I will be working hard at my game with the hope of gaining selection to represent the West Indies senior team,” stated the jubilant National and West Indies youth opening batsman, Shimron Odilon Hetmeyer, after graduating from the Berbice High School as the Best Male Athlete for the 2012/13 academic year.

With good academic performances at the 2013 CXC, CSEC, .the versatile East Canje, Berbice lad, who is the last of four siblings of GuySuCO Engineer, Gladston Hetmeyer, has no immediate plans to pursue an academic career or skilled profession; his only ambition is to become an internationally recognised cricketer.
“For now, I will just be playing cricket on a full-time basis; I enjoyed playing football for my school as a striker but, I will no longer be playing that game at a competitive level,” he told Chronicle Sport.

ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT
Hetmeyer, who celebrates his 17th birthday on Boxing Day, secured 6 subjects at the 2013 CSEC; he obtained a Grade 1 in Physical Education, Grade 2 in Agricultural Science (Double Award), English ‘A’, Social Studies and Integrated Science.
When asked how he managed to cope with studies for examinations while participating in sports, he said: “At times, I never really balanced sports with my studies but, I had lots of advice from my parents, teachers and friends. Their advice paid off for me in the end.”
The aspiring international cricketer, who recently represented the West Indies Under- 19 team in the seven-match One Day series against Bangladesh, said that he is setting high standards when it comes to his ‘game’ and sees Tagenarine Chanderpaul (son of West Indies middle-order batsman, Shivnarine Chanderpaul), as a perfect opening partner who offers lots of inspiration when it comes to building an innings and assessing batting conditions.
“I always like to play alongside Tage (Tagenarine), he’s the best opening partner I’ve had in my career so far; he’s a real inspiration,” he admitted.
Hetmeyer, who represents the Young Warriors team at the club level in East Berbice, said that he is blessed to have the support of his coach, club mates and village folks to offer him words of encouragement in pursuit of his dreams.
He then advised other young aspiring sportsmen and women: “Stay in school and if you are pursuing a career in any sporting discipline, just balance yourself and approach everything you do with the right attitude. You may not always meet the best of people but you always need to demonstrate the best behaviour and be tolerant.”
(By Michael Khan)
guyana chronicle

29 Jul 2015 17:12 #265650 by ketchim
Shimron Hetmeyer led the way at the top with a boundary-studded 98 off 68 balls, striking 16 fours and one six

www.bcacricket.org/2010/articles.php?link=4879

31 Jul 2015 07:15 #265874 by mapoui
THIS BWOY BRIGHT BUT HE NOT SMART...A CAREER IN CRICKET FOR THE WEST INDIES UNDER THE BUREAU ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

a few things appear certain: 

he will have to sign his life away to the wicb for very little.  it wont get better with them as their power over the players increase they will impose themselves in very feudal ways in their control and feeding frenzy.

any resistance, even the slightest indication on his part will be met with severe punishment, drop and hindering of his progress.

the wicb will seek always to maintain sides they have control over and selection will be geared towards that goal or end.  by this there is even less guarantee that west indies will ever be competitive again.  there is little to no chance he will ever be part of a champion west indies team in his time

I see he likes to hit 44444'a and 666666666s  he better continue in that vein and aim for the T20 leagues.  he might also consider migration out of the west indies to england or australia..even new zealand if he wants a serious cricket career.  he should have focused on basketball or athletics.  but then again is BG he from. no future in anything but cricket deh.  and look at the state for cricket deh and in the region

how smart is this kid again ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

man look... he better re-calibrate  his focus outwards yes... or he will make a bad life fuh himslf..or endure a lot of trouble for a few years before he smartens-up and changes.

he shud check out academic full scholarships at english and Oz universities..even canadian ones-thy playing better cricket in canada..and man can get IPL contract in Canada too if he good enuff.  once he fins out he shud go upgrade and shape his qualifications to suit and apply..and leave the west indies.

that is my advice.  doh neglect his academic bizness at all at all..continue to do both..play cricket and academia.  come back to BG in 20-25 years with plenty money, high professional qualifications and become president and run the country
:D :D :D :D :D

that wont happen..or happen smoothly if he places himself at the mercy of skunt, rarse, skameron and the wicb parasites
>:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

31 Jul 2015 09:53 #265896 by ketchim
terrible advice    :P

31 Jul 2015 11:55 #265946 by mapoui
the best advice.  you want to sell the boy down the river to the wicb bloodsuckers.
I hope the people around him smarter than that

there is no glory is fighting for the nation when those who lead the nation not fighting with you..who using your fight to feed themselves at high level while they arks you to fight and sacrifice for the nation.

whole generations of people fight and die, get maimed for life in that kind of sacrifice.  the dead poor and brolken those who survived and watched the billionaire get fat off their death and sacrifice and come back and tek way they pensions and refuse to pay fuh they health care as they promise..

all ah dem end up living under bridges although deh sacrifice. deh had to sell deh military medals and other stuiffe to get a bite to eat.

allyuh go see weh Skameron and Hunter, Hall and Teddy Griff and all dem so livin'  see their big houses and children and grand children in fine schools and compare dat to where they players livin'..all ah dem.

allyuh doh mind sketchim.  sketchim getting paid to shill for the wicb in these and other pages...no doubt about that.  sketchim is one ah dem too.

sacrifice for the nation when the people own the nation and run it.  so when you sacrifice for the nation you sacrificing for you..for yuhself and yuh family.  sacrifice fuh the nation now and yuh sacrificing for the parasites and exploiters.

do it if you are a fool.  if yuh smart den now is the time to look after yuhself period..not afterwards...NOW!

and let sketchim go to his paymaster, pleading for a chance when they find nobody paying attention to him and deh kick him to the kurb
:P :P :P :P :P :P

31 Jul 2015 12:03 #265951 by ketchim

hahahaha : yeah .....your kinda thinking is all islands Go It Alone.

fine with me ... ;)

31 Jul 2015 12:16 #265955 by mapoui
no!  not at all. it is opposed to that

my kind of thinking is to overthrow the wicb..overthrow all the government s in the region and set up a proper regional democracy in one nation..the people for the people by the people.

then the boy can play for a proper nation in which all his sacrifice would be welcomed and rewarded fully

31 Jul 2015 13:07 #265973 by mapoui
these wicb test and dem kick yuh rarse out jess so..arks shivenarine chanderpaul

Shive gave his life fuh west indies cricket.  shive did all that sketchim advising this young boy to do.  shive was for the administration, played with them, did all deh arks him to do.

den deh bring in Otis and dat was dat.  Otis took a turn in shive rass jess like dat.  and right dong to Lloyd who kick him to the kurb with not even a tenks man for years of good work.

shive never challenged dem, never went ot the IPL did and would do all they wanted.  and yet look how deh treat him

and now sketchin tellin me I givin' the boy bad advice....in the face of all dat experience, in the face of what happened to most of the legends in their time..total diss before the end of their careers

oh mi god.

again!  I hope there are people around that young boy who can and are guiding him right...will not abandon him to the tender mercies of the wicb.  as long as he doh lissen to people like sketchim dat wud be a big help fuh him

31 Jul 2015 13:14 #265977 by ketchim

Shimoh , doan lissen to mapoui  :P

31 Jul 2015 13:17 #265981 by ketchim

I am really looking forward to these 2 Opening for West Indies

aaaahhhhh : memories of Freddo and Comacho    ;)

Time to create page: 0.183 seconds
BrooklynINJURY UPDATE: ?

Tagenarine Chanderpaul has been ruled out of the second test between the West Indies and New Zealand due to a side strain.

Chanderpaul suffered the injury while playing a shot in the nets on Tuesday.

The left handed batter is currently being examined by the medical team to determine the full extent of the injury as well as his availability for the remainder of the series.
(09.12.2025, 19:01)(19:01)0
Brooklyn"Defence becomes an all-encompassing routine: eyes on ball, move your feet, keep head still, pat it down, repeat. No matter whether you need one run to win, or a couple hundred, you defend the same"(08.12.2025, 16:26)(16:26)0
LondonSo if chase fails again then what? ?(08.12.2025, 14:23)(14:23)0
JulieEngland cricket icon Robin Smith has passed away at the age of 62.(03.12.2025, 20:30)(20:30)0
JulieFormer Jets and Commanders WR Laveranues Coles completed nine months of training at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Academy and will officially become an officer after his probationary period ?(02.12.2025, 14:36)(14:36)0
JulieHeartbreaking to hear of the passing of former England cricketer Robin Smith ?

Our thoughts are with his friends and family at this difficult time ?

Rest in peace, Judge ?
(02.12.2025, 12:56)(12:56)0
JulieJUST IN: Andre Russell calls time on his IPL career and will join KKR’s support staff for 2026 ‼️(30.11.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
TravisShoppers spend billions on Black Friday to snag holiday deals, despite wider economic uncertainty(29.11.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
TravisSnow, rain and cold in store for some Thanksgiving travelers(29.11.2025, 17:10)(17:10)0
TravisThe pitch at Perth Stadium was rated "very good" despite a two-day finish in the first Ashes Test(29.11.2025, 10:57)(10:57)0
TravisWe are two days out or so from the start of the New Zealand vs West Indies test series.(29.11.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
TravisPat Cummins did look brilliant in the nets over in Perth but will only be readier for his return come the 3rd Test in Adelaide, which should work perfectly for Australia, especially now that they’re 1-0 up going to the Gabba(29.11.2025, 10:41)(10:41)0
JulieSad news: Thirty minutes ago in Dallas, the family of former Dallas Cowboys icon Drew Pearson, aged 73, unexpectedly announced that he has passed away(29.11.2025, 08:00)(08:00)0
TravisPat Cummins is set to be included in Australia’s squad for the upcoming second Ashes Test against England in Brisbane, according to reports.(28.11.2025, 15:19)(15:19)0
TravisSuspect in shooting of National Guard members now facing a first-degree murder charge(28.11.2025, 14:24)(14:24)0
TravisLake effect snow piles up in Great Lakes region, impacting Thanksgiving travel(28.11.2025, 08:50)(08:50)0
TravisChiefs vs. Cowboys preview Week 13

Perhaps the most perplexing aspect of AT&T Stadium, otherwise known as “Jerry World,” is the glare from the sun that bursts through the windows and shines directly onto the field. Time and time again the glare has impacted players’ visibility during games, yet Jerry Jones refuses to make any changes to account for the sun.

Rather than install curtains, Jones has previously said he feels it’s a home-field advantage to have that type of stadium factor impacting games. Well, the glare ended up benefitting the Chiefs early into Thursday’s Thanksgiving game, as a pass from Dak Prescott to George Pickens fell incomplete, at least in part due to the impact of the sun’s glare.
(27.11.2025, 21:18)(21:18)0
TravisAT&T Stadium Glare Led to Plenty of Comments From NFL Fans During Chiefs-Cowboys(27.11.2025, 21:17)(21:17)0
TravisKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call upKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call up(27.11.2025, 13:19)(13:19)0
Travis'Wanted them to really grovel' - SA coach Shukri Conrad on keeping India on the field(25.11.2025, 18:29)(18:29)0
JulieHi(25.11.2025, 08:45)(08:45)0
Juliemotie 130 notout guyana 250(25.11.2025, 08:44)(08:44)0
Matthewhi(25.11.2025, 07:00)(07:00)0
Julie19 wickets fall between Aus and Eng and it’s great cricket, 19 wickets fall between W.I and any other country and we should be relegated…the double standards in world cricket.(21.11.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
Travisketchim?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviskwami?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviswho is this(12.11.2025, 17:39)(17:39)0
AlvinChairmsn, I cant Log in(11.11.2025, 17:16)(17:16)0
SerenaThis batting performance by the West Indies in the second innings blew me away. I kept closing my eyes and then rubbing and opening them again and sat transfixed as I watch that unbelievable partnership between John Campbell and Shai Hope. What a magnificent performance by these two! It just goes to show that patience, determination and effort can go a long way to improve the performances of the West Indies team. Let us hope that this effort by West Indies batsmen would not be a one-off performance, but will be the beginning of a renewed effort to improve the performances of the team, going forward.(13.10.2025, 09:28)(09:28)0
SerenaJohn Campbell breaks a 23-year drought for West Indies openers with a Test hundred in India!

#INDvsWI #INDvWI #JohnCampbell
(13.10.2025, 05:49)(05:49)0
SerenaLet's celebrate that Ind will have to bat again as a notable achievement(13.10.2025, 05:32)(05:32)0
SerenaDefeat in Ahmedabad, we move to Delhi with an aim to the level the series.

#INDvWI | #MenInMaroon
(04.10.2025, 10:38)(10:38)0
Serena? USA Cricket Files for Bankruptcy

The Chapter 11 filing makes it the first known ICC member to declare bankruptcy. ⚡?
(03.10.2025, 12:22)(12:22)0
SerenaA maiden test wicket for Khary Pierre ends a challenging day 2️⃣

#INDvWI
(03.10.2025, 12:15)(12:15)0
SerenaWhy is WI best batter batting at #6 and why is he even keeping wickets in test?(03.10.2025, 07:26)(07:26)0
SerenaGive warrican vice captain on wat basis the man does nothing not even help chase(03.10.2025, 07:10)(07:10)0
SerenaWI waiting for declaration. India most likely will declare if or when both Jurel and Jadeja get to their 100s.(03.10.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Kade162 all out : India 121-2 stumps, day1(02.10.2025, 16:00)(16:00)0
Serenaif marriage certificate could get expire like driver's licence a lot of married men will never renew it(27.09.2025, 10:54)(10:54)0
WarrenJameis Winston is asked about being named QB3 on the Giants' roster behind Russell Wilson and Jaxson Dart:

"As a competitor, you want to be the starter. But I prepare to be the starter, I know I'm a starter in this league.

But you have to be able to be grateful for your role...my role right now is to assist Russ and Jaxson to be the best that they can be while preparing to be the best that I can be.

No matter if I'm 3, 33, this is my first year being number 19, so it's always a first for everything.

I focus on what I would love. And what I would love is for this team to have success."
(13.09.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Monicae(11.09.2025, 17:03)(17:03)0
RylandLol... Hetmyer. Fell agonizingly short of his century! Just 91 more he needed!(08.09.2025, 05:53)(05:53)0
RylandThe progress of the PPP government should not be judged by the dissenting voices of a few, but by the tangible benefits it has brought to everyone.(02.09.2025, 17:51)(17:51)0
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 12:36)(12:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 12:07)(12:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 13:41)(13:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 11:27)(11:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 12:54)(12:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 18:08)(18:08)0
Crystal