Shimron Hetmeyer – in pursuit of a Windies cricketing career

30 Oct 2013 14:17 #160734 by chairman

“OVER the next five years, I will be working hard at my game with the hope of gaining selection to represent the West Indies senior team,” stated the jubilant National and West Indies youth opening batsman, Shimron Odilon Hetmeyer, after graduating from the Berbice High School as the Best Male Athlete for the 2012/13 academic year.

With good academic performances at the 2013 CXC, CSEC, .the versatile East Canje, Berbice lad, who is the last of four siblings of GuySuCO Engineer, Gladston Hetmeyer, has no immediate plans to pursue an academic career or skilled profession; his only ambition is to become an internationally recognised cricketer.
“For now, I will just be playing cricket on a full-time basis; I enjoyed playing football for my school as a striker but, I will no longer be playing that game at a competitive level,” he told Chronicle Sport.

ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT
Hetmeyer, who celebrates his 17th birthday on Boxing Day, secured 6 subjects at the 2013 CSEC; he obtained a Grade 1 in Physical Education, Grade 2 in Agricultural Science (Double Award), English ‘A’, Social Studies and Integrated Science.
When asked how he managed to cope with studies for examinations while participating in sports, he said: “At times, I never really balanced sports with my studies but, I had lots of advice from my parents, teachers and friends. Their advice paid off for me in the end.”
The aspiring international cricketer, who recently represented the West Indies Under- 19 team in the seven-match One Day series against Bangladesh, said that he is setting high standards when it comes to his ‘game’ and sees Tagenarine Chanderpaul (son of West Indies middle-order batsman, Shivnarine Chanderpaul), as a perfect opening partner who offers lots of inspiration when it comes to building an innings and assessing batting conditions.
“I always like to play alongside Tage (Tagenarine), he’s the best opening partner I’ve had in my career so far; he’s a real inspiration,” he admitted.
Hetmeyer, who represents the Young Warriors team at the club level in East Berbice, said that he is blessed to have the support of his coach, club mates and village folks to offer him words of encouragement in pursuit of his dreams.
He then advised other young aspiring sportsmen and women: “Stay in school and if you are pursuing a career in any sporting discipline, just balance yourself and approach everything you do with the right attitude. You may not always meet the best of people but you always need to demonstrate the best behaviour and be tolerant.”
(By Michael Khan)
guyana chronicle

29 Jul 2015 17:12 #265650 by ketchim
Shimron Hetmeyer led the way at the top with a boundary-studded 98 off 68 balls, striking 16 fours and one six

www.bcacricket.org/2010/articles.php?link=4879

31 Jul 2015 07:15 #265874 by mapoui
THIS BWOY BRIGHT BUT HE NOT SMART...A CAREER IN CRICKET FOR THE WEST INDIES UNDER THE BUREAU ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

a few things appear certain: 

he will have to sign his life away to the wicb for very little.  it wont get better with them as their power over the players increase they will impose themselves in very feudal ways in their control and feeding frenzy.

any resistance, even the slightest indication on his part will be met with severe punishment, drop and hindering of his progress.

the wicb will seek always to maintain sides they have control over and selection will be geared towards that goal or end.  by this there is even less guarantee that west indies will ever be competitive again.  there is little to no chance he will ever be part of a champion west indies team in his time

I see he likes to hit 44444'a and 666666666s  he better continue in that vein and aim for the T20 leagues.  he might also consider migration out of the west indies to england or australia..even new zealand if he wants a serious cricket career.  he should have focused on basketball or athletics.  but then again is BG he from. no future in anything but cricket deh.  and look at the state for cricket deh and in the region

how smart is this kid again ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

man look... he better re-calibrate  his focus outwards yes... or he will make a bad life fuh himslf..or endure a lot of trouble for a few years before he smartens-up and changes.

he shud check out academic full scholarships at english and Oz universities..even canadian ones-thy playing better cricket in canada..and man can get IPL contract in Canada too if he good enuff.  once he fins out he shud go upgrade and shape his qualifications to suit and apply..and leave the west indies.

that is my advice.  doh neglect his academic bizness at all at all..continue to do both..play cricket and academia.  come back to BG in 20-25 years with plenty money, high professional qualifications and become president and run the country
:D :D :D :D :D

that wont happen..or happen smoothly if he places himself at the mercy of skunt, rarse, skameron and the wicb parasites
>:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

31 Jul 2015 09:53 #265896 by ketchim
terrible advice    :P

31 Jul 2015 11:55 #265946 by mapoui
the best advice.  you want to sell the boy down the river to the wicb bloodsuckers.
I hope the people around him smarter than that

there is no glory is fighting for the nation when those who lead the nation not fighting with you..who using your fight to feed themselves at high level while they arks you to fight and sacrifice for the nation.

whole generations of people fight and die, get maimed for life in that kind of sacrifice.  the dead poor and brolken those who survived and watched the billionaire get fat off their death and sacrifice and come back and tek way they pensions and refuse to pay fuh they health care as they promise..

all ah dem end up living under bridges although deh sacrifice. deh had to sell deh military medals and other stuiffe to get a bite to eat.

allyuh go see weh Skameron and Hunter, Hall and Teddy Griff and all dem so livin'  see their big houses and children and grand children in fine schools and compare dat to where they players livin'..all ah dem.

allyuh doh mind sketchim.  sketchim getting paid to shill for the wicb in these and other pages...no doubt about that.  sketchim is one ah dem too.

sacrifice for the nation when the people own the nation and run it.  so when you sacrifice for the nation you sacrificing for you..for yuhself and yuh family.  sacrifice fuh the nation now and yuh sacrificing for the parasites and exploiters.

do it if you are a fool.  if yuh smart den now is the time to look after yuhself period..not afterwards...NOW!

and let sketchim go to his paymaster, pleading for a chance when they find nobody paying attention to him and deh kick him to the kurb
:P :P :P :P :P :P

31 Jul 2015 12:03 #265951 by ketchim

hahahaha : yeah .....your kinda thinking is all islands Go It Alone.

fine with me ... ;)

31 Jul 2015 12:16 #265955 by mapoui
no!  not at all. it is opposed to that

my kind of thinking is to overthrow the wicb..overthrow all the government s in the region and set up a proper regional democracy in one nation..the people for the people by the people.

then the boy can play for a proper nation in which all his sacrifice would be welcomed and rewarded fully

31 Jul 2015 13:07 #265973 by mapoui
these wicb test and dem kick yuh rarse out jess so..arks shivenarine chanderpaul

Shive gave his life fuh west indies cricket.  shive did all that sketchim advising this young boy to do.  shive was for the administration, played with them, did all deh arks him to do.

den deh bring in Otis and dat was dat.  Otis took a turn in shive rass jess like dat.  and right dong to Lloyd who kick him to the kurb with not even a tenks man for years of good work.

shive never challenged dem, never went ot the IPL did and would do all they wanted.  and yet look how deh treat him

and now sketchin tellin me I givin' the boy bad advice....in the face of all dat experience, in the face of what happened to most of the legends in their time..total diss before the end of their careers

oh mi god.

again!  I hope there are people around that young boy who can and are guiding him right...will not abandon him to the tender mercies of the wicb.  as long as he doh lissen to people like sketchim dat wud be a big help fuh him

31 Jul 2015 13:14 #265977 by ketchim

Shimoh , doan lissen to mapoui  :P

31 Jul 2015 13:17 #265981 by ketchim

I am really looking forward to these 2 Opening for West Indies

aaaahhhhh : memories of Freddo and Comacho    ;)

Time to create page: 0.207 seconds
BryantRomario Shepherd hits the FATEST FIFTY for any batter in RCB colours!
Second fastest fifty in the history of the IPL.
(03.05.2025, 15:16)(15:16)0
JamisonTrump celebrates the Super Bowl champ Eagles at White House(30.04.2025, 18:26)(18:26)0
JamisonUNC’s Belichick defends Hudson as ‘doing her job’ after interjecting during CBS interview(30.04.2025, 18:25)(18:25)0
JamisonHundreds of scholars say U.S. is swiftly heading toward authoritarianism(22.04.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
BridgerWest Indies cricket team official website(23.03.2025, 00:23)(00:23)0
LyricUnfortunately, after spending 9 months in space, looking over the entire earth, the two Astronauts failed to locate APNU/AFC SOPs.(18.03.2025, 22:04)(22:04)0
LyricThe hour we lost was the one when I was planning to go to the gym(11.03.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
GianniWest Indies latest Test match scorecard(11.03.2025, 11:34)(11:34)0
ScarletSteven Smith South Africa cricket(10.03.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
ketchimCanada get new Prime Minister : Edmonton Mark Carney !(09.03.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
ConnerDr. Ashni Singh quote on government's stance on corrupt practices(08.03.2025, 16:12)(16:12)0
LyricGuy scored 368 bowl out Jam for 44 & didn't enforce the follow-on? That's bull crap(07.03.2025, 09:37)(09:37)0
LyricYesterday, my wife thought she saw a cockroach in the kitchen. She sprayed everything down and cleaned thoroughly.
Today I'm putting the cockroach in the bathroom.
(06.03.2025, 17:19)(17:19)0
ShilohU.S. says consequences for Maduro regime if provocation continues(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
Shiloh–Guyana stands firmly against Venezuela’s incursion(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 21:22)(21:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 03:16)(03:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 12:35)(12:35)0
(30.01.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 07:40)(07:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 11:44)(11:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 19:55)(19:55)0
DeaconCumberbatch(22.01.2025, 12:19)(12:19)0
Marissa$135 fuh reporting yuh mattie to ICE,deez nex few monts going to be quite interesting(22.01.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
AndersExxonMobil write-down natural gas fields(21.01.2025, 00:42)(00:42)0
MarissaJangoo should be in next game , captain should be dropped,Kacy karty, should be dropped,if roach is fit I would bring him in at the expense of st Clair.(20.01.2025, 17:41)(17:41)0
Baileymessage(20.01.2025, 15:25)(15:25)0
MercyKensington Oval stadium ticket policy(20.01.2025, 00:36)(00:36)0

(18.01.2025, 19:00)(19:00)0
(17.01.2025, 18:56)(18:56)0
ByronAmir jangoo replace dasilva(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
ByronTevin imlach gets debut(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
LindaMy question about the West Indies cricket team.(13.01.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
ByronWhy doesn't England have big cricket stadiums like those in Australia and India..?(11.01.2025, 16:31)(16:31)0
MaliyahHow do I purchase tickets for the upcoming cricket match at Kensington Oval in Barbados?(11.01.2025, 16:27)(16:27)0
ArielWest Indies vs India T20 match(11.01.2025, 15:59)(15:59)0
LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 19:11)(19:11)0
AmosAndrew Strauss steps down as England's director of cricket(10.01.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
DylanChris Gayle T20 statistics(09.01.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
SeanHello, I'm excited to join the conversation!(09.01.2025, 05:47)(05:47)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 21:03)(21:03)0
LanceYounis Khan to mentor Afghanistan at Champions Trophy 2025(08.01.2025, 21:02)(21:02)0
MercySouth Africa cricket team upcoming matches schedule(07.01.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
JavierType something here and click Submit or hit Enter...(07.01.2025, 08:37)(08:37)0
IvannaTest comment for registration.(06.01.2025, 17:33)(17:33)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Autumn