Pakistan’s fractured foreign responses

12 Nov 2012 10:52 #110702 by chairman
The writer is a former parliamentarian.

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

President Barack Obama has won the mandate to rule US and by proxy the world for another four years. We as the key ‘problem child’ of the world need to be clear on what we are faced with in the future. It is not so important how we view the world. It is more important how the world views us. Only then can we make intelligent interventions to protect our sovereignty, and maximise the gains for our peoples. Currently, Pakistan’s foreign policy seems fractured. We seem too obsessed with our worldview. Frankly, we are constantly on the receiving end and have lost all initiative. Perhaps, if the government relied on taking advice on foreign policy positions from the opposition in Parliament, it could do better.
source!nation.com.pk

12 Nov 2012 10:57 #110705 by chairman
It is time for a wake up call in the corridors of the Foreign Office and presidency. In the last week, we have had many high level visits from Iran and Russia cancelled. We are being led on the Malala issue by million signature petitions by the world. And we are tolerating Karzai’s insulting comments: “Terrorism is a snake and when you train a snake, you can’t expect it will only go in the neighbour’s house. When the attack on Malala happened, this proved our point.”

12 Nov 2012 11:07 #110707 by chairman
What are the major powers thinking? What does Obama have on his foreign policy plate and how will that affect us? He has the Afghanistan withdrawal to plan with Pakistan involvement and not sans clearly. He needs to decide how he will hold Israel back from an attack on Iran, and why the two-state solution is stuck in limbo creating credibility issues for all stakeholders. He needs to decide how much involvement he will have in the Arab Spring/uprisings considering the backlash could be more on the US, since the dictator allies would have vanished leaving the masses to the potential influence of religious forces. He will have to decide on the Asian front how to manage shoring up alliances with Japan, Korea and India in wake of China’s predominance.

12 Nov 2012 12:57 #110772 by Kwami
Pakistan will never have an  independent and coherent foreign policy as long as they are addicted to US aid of one point two billion dollars per year

12 Nov 2012 12:59 #110774 by chairman
great point kwami

12 Nov 2012 13:01 #110778 by chairman
What does Europe have on its foreign policy plate? It is clear that after the Lisbon Treaty, the weaker EU institutions failed to create an equality grid for all EU members and the biggest three (namely UK, France and Germany) have an edge. Thus, the big three foreign policy priorities will be the key, which Pakistan needs to be better prepared for. Germany has a geo-economic world vision, which means its big businesses lead the way. France, whilst being keen on sovereignty, wishes to lead due to its penchant for ‘role de la France’. The UK is considered to have the Rolls Royce diplomats which have the Commonwealth forum as platform. Together they are concerned with Libya, Syria, Israel, Iran, Afghanistan and Pakistan, but they are not just there to echo US positions. They consider their role larger due to their historic connections with all these areas. In the final analysis, they are all committed to the European Parliament’s European Security and Defence policy. Pakistan needs to focus on that because the military interventions against terrorism will be coordinated, to a large extent, through an existentialist threat perception by the combined European force.

12 Nov 2012 13:32 #110807 by chairman
In the midst of these international priorities where does Pakistan find itself? Pakistan as a country does not have a foreign policy, which is coherent or coordinated. In a world where we are the focus in a negative way, we need to sort our story. The presidency/Foreign Office, the military and Parliament need to run with one narrative. Whilst we as opposition are clear on our foreign policy direction, the threesome is not coordinated. We don’t mind leading the debate, but then the sharing of information at tactical level has to be seamless. The following positions need consensus for us to face the world in a unified way:

12 Nov 2012 14:17 #110828 by ketchim
Bangladesh should invade Pakistan ..

12 Nov 2012 14:18 #110829 by chairman
yes for war crimes

12 Nov 2012 14:22 #110830 by ketchim

stewps....thats because its one and the same !

Musharaff did stage a military Coup ?

became the President of all of the above ....

And who B4 him ....all Military coups ?

Who wrote that article ?  ::rolleyes::

Time to create page: 0.198 seconds
TalonDozens of white South Africans arrive in US under Trump refugee plan(12.05.2025, 19:57)(19:57)0
BryantRomario Shepherd hits the FATEST FIFTY for any batter in RCB colours!
Second fastest fifty in the history of the IPL.
(03.05.2025, 15:16)(15:16)0
JamisonTrump celebrates the Super Bowl champ Eagles at White House(30.04.2025, 18:26)(18:26)0
JamisonUNC’s Belichick defends Hudson as ‘doing her job’ after interjecting during CBS interview(30.04.2025, 18:25)(18:25)0
JamisonHundreds of scholars say U.S. is swiftly heading toward authoritarianism(22.04.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
BridgerWest Indies cricket team official website(23.03.2025, 00:23)(00:23)0
LyricUnfortunately, after spending 9 months in space, looking over the entire earth, the two Astronauts failed to locate APNU/AFC SOPs.(18.03.2025, 22:04)(22:04)0
LyricThe hour we lost was the one when I was planning to go to the gym(11.03.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
GianniWest Indies latest Test match scorecard(11.03.2025, 11:34)(11:34)0
ScarletSteven Smith South Africa cricket(10.03.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
ketchimCanada get new Prime Minister : Edmonton Mark Carney !(09.03.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
ConnerDr. Ashni Singh quote on government's stance on corrupt practices(08.03.2025, 16:12)(16:12)0
LyricGuy scored 368 bowl out Jam for 44 & didn't enforce the follow-on? That's bull crap(07.03.2025, 09:37)(09:37)0
LyricYesterday, my wife thought she saw a cockroach in the kitchen. She sprayed everything down and cleaned thoroughly.
Today I'm putting the cockroach in the bathroom.
(06.03.2025, 17:19)(17:19)0
ShilohU.S. says consequences for Maduro regime if provocation continues(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
Shiloh–Guyana stands firmly against Venezuela’s incursion(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 21:22)(21:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 03:16)(03:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 12:35)(12:35)0
(30.01.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 07:40)(07:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 11:44)(11:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 19:55)(19:55)0
DeaconCumberbatch(22.01.2025, 12:19)(12:19)0
Marissa$135 fuh reporting yuh mattie to ICE,deez nex few monts going to be quite interesting(22.01.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
AndersExxonMobil write-down natural gas fields(21.01.2025, 00:42)(00:42)0
MarissaJangoo should be in next game , captain should be dropped,Kacy karty, should be dropped,if roach is fit I would bring him in at the expense of st Clair.(20.01.2025, 17:41)(17:41)0
Baileymessage(20.01.2025, 15:25)(15:25)0
MercyKensington Oval stadium ticket policy(20.01.2025, 00:36)(00:36)0

(18.01.2025, 19:00)(19:00)0
(17.01.2025, 18:56)(18:56)0
ByronAmir jangoo replace dasilva(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
ByronTevin imlach gets debut(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
LindaMy question about the West Indies cricket team.(13.01.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
ByronWhy doesn't England have big cricket stadiums like those in Australia and India..?(11.01.2025, 16:31)(16:31)0
MaliyahHow do I purchase tickets for the upcoming cricket match at Kensington Oval in Barbados?(11.01.2025, 16:27)(16:27)0
ArielWest Indies vs India T20 match(11.01.2025, 15:59)(15:59)0
LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 19:11)(19:11)0
AmosAndrew Strauss steps down as England's director of cricket(10.01.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
DylanChris Gayle T20 statistics(09.01.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
SeanHello, I'm excited to join the conversation!(09.01.2025, 05:47)(05:47)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 21:03)(21:03)0
LanceYounis Khan to mentor Afghanistan at Champions Trophy 2025(08.01.2025, 21:02)(21:02)0
MercySouth Africa cricket team upcoming matches schedule(07.01.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
JavierType something here and click Submit or hit Enter...(07.01.2025, 08:37)(08:37)0
IvannaTest comment for registration.(06.01.2025, 17:33)(17:33)0
Alina