Thank you received: 30
08 Nov 2012 13:01 #110355
Mese....to experience that, all you had to do was cross the demerara river and visit my lil village :cool:
that was day-to-day life for me growing up in Guyana.
Thank you received: 6
08 Nov 2012 13:09 #110361
Mapoui will get along great with Guyana First people...
He will hold conferences extolling the virtues of :
Living Organic....
Thank you received: 30
08 Nov 2012 13:09 #110362
who said anything about swimming in the dutty demerara river??
there was a trench with nice black running water right in front of our house
every child in our village learned to swim in it
Thank you received: 6
08 Nov 2012 13:14 #110368
Belle, it was a different lifestyle altogether. No cars, no traffic to worry about. At nights we cooked dinner and ate under the stars sitting in a circle on a discarded tractor tyre. We lived in a compound and it was like a community lifestyle where everyone just brought what they made and we sat and shared, played guitars, sang songs etc.
of course the men did their thing .... their thing
it was so peaceful and quiet, we could hear a vehicle approaching and never see it until about 45 minutes to an hour after ....
the children ran free .. they all learnt to swim by the time they were three .... they spoke Wapishana like the natives (although now they can only say "hello" and "rain is coming" .....
08 Nov 2012 13:34 #110375
really.... :

all I thinking is feet up on a verandah, sunset, river fish and pepper..with german beer nearby.
if I can help no problem..always...anybody but I ent looking fuh dat.
THE Tavern Talk Shop
German's beef soup
Time to create page: 0.223 seconds