A great day to be a West Indian

13 Aug 2012 14:34 #96187 by chairman
Now I realise what David Rudder meant when he sang,…Little keys can open up mighty doors,” in Rally ’round the West Indies. That sentiment transcends cricket and surely defines this Olympics where these little islands pulled off some mighty achievements. It wasn’t just the medals. It was all those finals that featured West Indians starting with George Bovell III.

To think that a Trini can count himself as one of the fastest swimmers in the world is enough to make my head swim. Yes, medals are nice, but the Olympics were about so much more than medals. The Olympics were about that special honour of being something more than a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago cheering on the local team. It was about a feeling that transcends nationalism and spreads out into regionalism. If the Olympics didn’t make you feel like a West Indian, then I fear nothing will.

It is impossible to separate the feeling of pride in Lalonde Gordon’s bronze medal for Trinidad and Tobago in the 400 metres from the pride  we felt in a clean, Caribbean sweep in that race with Luguelin Santos of the Dominican Republic winning a silver medal and Kirani James of Grenada winning a gold medal. 

How sweet it was to close our eyes and imagine Grenada celebrating its first gold medal in history. Months from now we’ll still envision Kirani James standing on the podium singing Grenada’s national anthem with all his heart. Little Grenada became the smallest nation in the Olympics to win a gold medal. That is West Indian pride.

In the Olympics, we were more than a scattering of islands in the Caribbean Sea. We were an undeniable presence in so many track and field finals. We were “little keys opening mighty doors.” Even the US, which tends to ignore the rest of the world’s Olympic achievements, couldn’t resist the charismatic pull of Jamaica’s Usain Bolt. And how about those Jamaicans who ran riveting races with Bolt capturing the 100 metres and his training partner Yohan Blake earning a silver?

By the time the Jamaicans swept the 200 metres taking every medal in the race, sports announcers were calling the winner, Bolt, a living legend. Didn’t it seem like the Jamaicans owned the track? Yes, the Jamaicans ruled, but their victories transcended nation and became West Indian victories.

The Olympics are a time where we cheer on everyone from the West Indies: Jamaicans, Grenadians—and even the Spanish Caribbean like Cuba and the Dominican Republic. There is a heightened sense of what it means to be a West Indian.
There are those who focus on the medal count and the tally that shows the countries at the top of the heap, but the West Indies captured the essence of the Olympics as a place where any nation can shine.

The Olympics spout rhetoric about camaraderie and competition on a world stage, but it is when little Caribbean islands keep pounding the pavement and stroking the waves, throwing a javelin and leaping across hurdles that we realise we can’t be ignored in this world. We count.

Our presence brings another dimension to the games and to the world. We are more than a fun-loving bunch of Carnival masqueraders. We can compete with those who are propelled by complex political and economic machines that we can never match. The West Indies presence in this Olympics brought a refreshing new excitement to tired sports troubled by scandalous allegations of cheating.

There is no way to convey our appreciation to all the West Indian athletes who have sacrificed so much of their young lives for a dream that so many people must have told them they can never achieve. I can’t imagine many people saying, “Sure, you have a great chance of winning against an American or Russian or Chinese.” They all demonstrated perseverance and pride that will inspire a whole new generation of West Indian competitors to dream of competing in the Olympics.

The Olympics proved that anything is possible—if you put your heart and soul in it. No obstacle is too great. No country is too large to conquer. Those are invaluable lessons for little islands with a common history defined by colonialism. That history is never forgotten. You could see it in the faces of West Indian supporters living in England who cheered on the West Indies they have left behind. This is not over just because the Olympics have come to an end. This is merely another stage for West Indians to shine.

All over the Caribbean there are children who carry the memories of these Olympics with them as they run and jump and swim and dream of being an Olympic athlete. Their dreams sweep across the Caribbean to all those athletes who won or made the finals. Our Caribbean children ponder all those glorious moments and in those dreams the boundaries of these islands blur into a wave of pride for West Indian glory that goes beyond the boundary of cricket. It is a good day to be a West Indian.

source: trinidad guardian

13 Aug 2012 14:52 #96191 by ketchim
Pity they are so Insular :

when it comes to " Team " sports !  ::redface::

13 Aug 2012 15:10 #96195 by mapoui
yu know what a government shud do now..collect them all together and send then around the region to meet the people..especially the school kids

13 Aug 2012 15:20 #96197 by ketchim
that is an Excellent suggestion !

should Foster a Team spirit inter Island !  :cool:

13 Aug 2012 17:27 #96239 by mapoui

SOMBODY SHUD WRITE KAMLA AND PORTIA AND GET THEM GOING ON THIS. THAT WUD BE REAL NICE :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy: .

i WILL CALL THE TITTY CONSULATE IN TORONTO TOMORROW AND PUSH THEM ON IT!

13 Aug 2012 17:50 #96240 by The Captain
good to see maps volunteer to contact the titty govt to get a movement going

now Ketch and SCA shud contact ramu to help with this idea

13 Aug 2012 17:52 #96241 by mapoui
tremendous.  I done contact 6 people arready.

tonight I will do more.  and i will call the westrindian weeklies in toronto as well

this is nice thing and all it will take are calls by the telephone

Time to create page: 0.163 seconds
BryantRomario Shepherd hits the FATEST FIFTY for any batter in RCB colours!
Second fastest fifty in the history of the IPL.
(03.05.2025, 15:16)(15:16)0
JamisonTrump celebrates the Super Bowl champ Eagles at White House(30.04.2025, 18:26)(18:26)0
JamisonUNC’s Belichick defends Hudson as ‘doing her job’ after interjecting during CBS interview(30.04.2025, 18:25)(18:25)0
JamisonHundreds of scholars say U.S. is swiftly heading toward authoritarianism(22.04.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
BridgerWest Indies cricket team official website(23.03.2025, 00:23)(00:23)0
LyricUnfortunately, after spending 9 months in space, looking over the entire earth, the two Astronauts failed to locate APNU/AFC SOPs.(18.03.2025, 22:04)(22:04)0
LyricThe hour we lost was the one when I was planning to go to the gym(11.03.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
GianniWest Indies latest Test match scorecard(11.03.2025, 11:34)(11:34)0
ScarletSteven Smith South Africa cricket(10.03.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
ketchimCanada get new Prime Minister : Edmonton Mark Carney !(09.03.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
ConnerDr. Ashni Singh quote on government's stance on corrupt practices(08.03.2025, 16:12)(16:12)0
LyricGuy scored 368 bowl out Jam for 44 & didn't enforce the follow-on? That's bull crap(07.03.2025, 09:37)(09:37)0
LyricYesterday, my wife thought she saw a cockroach in the kitchen. She sprayed everything down and cleaned thoroughly.
Today I'm putting the cockroach in the bathroom.
(06.03.2025, 17:19)(17:19)0
ShilohU.S. says consequences for Maduro regime if provocation continues(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
Shiloh–Guyana stands firmly against Venezuela’s incursion(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 21:22)(21:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 03:16)(03:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 12:35)(12:35)0
(30.01.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 07:40)(07:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 11:44)(11:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 19:55)(19:55)0
DeaconCumberbatch(22.01.2025, 12:19)(12:19)0
Marissa$135 fuh reporting yuh mattie to ICE,deez nex few monts going to be quite interesting(22.01.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
AndersExxonMobil write-down natural gas fields(21.01.2025, 00:42)(00:42)0
MarissaJangoo should be in next game , captain should be dropped,Kacy karty, should be dropped,if roach is fit I would bring him in at the expense of st Clair.(20.01.2025, 17:41)(17:41)0
Baileymessage(20.01.2025, 15:25)(15:25)0
MercyKensington Oval stadium ticket policy(20.01.2025, 00:36)(00:36)0

(18.01.2025, 19:00)(19:00)0
(17.01.2025, 18:56)(18:56)0
ByronAmir jangoo replace dasilva(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
ByronTevin imlach gets debut(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
LindaMy question about the West Indies cricket team.(13.01.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
ByronWhy doesn't England have big cricket stadiums like those in Australia and India..?(11.01.2025, 16:31)(16:31)0
MaliyahHow do I purchase tickets for the upcoming cricket match at Kensington Oval in Barbados?(11.01.2025, 16:27)(16:27)0
ArielWest Indies vs India T20 match(11.01.2025, 15:59)(15:59)0
LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 19:11)(19:11)0
AmosAndrew Strauss steps down as England's director of cricket(10.01.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
DylanChris Gayle T20 statistics(09.01.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
SeanHello, I'm excited to join the conversation!(09.01.2025, 05:47)(05:47)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 21:03)(21:03)0
LanceYounis Khan to mentor Afghanistan at Champions Trophy 2025(08.01.2025, 21:02)(21:02)0
MercySouth Africa cricket team upcoming matches schedule(07.01.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
JavierType something here and click Submit or hit Enter...(07.01.2025, 08:37)(08:37)0
IvannaTest comment for registration.(06.01.2025, 17:33)(17:33)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Jessica