Thank you received: 6
18 Jul 2012 21:26 #93034
Three die during Linden power protest - fire raging in Linmine Secretariat building
By STABROEK EDITOR | LOCAL | WEDNESDAY, JULY 18, 2012 Updated: 8:50 pm
Protests over an increase in Linden power tariffs took a tragic turn tonight with three people dying and a fire raging in the Linden Secretariat compound.
A man was fatally shot around 6.30 pm today as police began moving Linden protesters off the Wismar-McKenzie Bridge over the Demerara River where they were encamped all day in protest at the removal of the electricity subsidy for the mining town.
Hospital officials confirmed the death of the man who was shot in the face. It is unclear how the man was shot. He was shot on the bridge at the same time as police began firing tear gas and pellets to disperse the crowd. Several persons have been rushed to the Linden Hospital Complex for treatment and two other persons were later reported to have died.
Relatives at the Linden Hospital have given the names of the three dead men as Lindon Lewis, Ron Samuels and Shemroy Bouyea.
The fire service has been unable to get to the blaze in the compound because the road is blocked. The compound houses the offices of the Guyana Revenue Authority, the Institute of Distance and Continuing Education and the Linden Electricity Company Inc among others. There are six buildings in the compound and the largest one is on fire.
When contacted shortly before 7pm, Commissioner of Police Leroy Brumell told Stabroek News that he was not aware of any fatalities but confirmed use of tear gas and pellets as his commanding officer at Linden informed him that protestors had retaliated. “The officers said that they were attempting to clear the bridge and bottles were thrown at them and they fired tear gas and afterwards pellets. I am not aware of any death …I will have to confirm with my commander†he said.
Residents stated that the first attempt made by law enforcement for dispersal of the crowd was asking, over a loudspeaker, that persons return to their places of abode. When this was not complied with, police began firing tear gas canisters. However from a vantage point of more than a quarter mile away their targeting was off since the persons affected were not those on the bridge but in the Linden Secretariat Compound. This triggered an angry response from some residents in the community who were not protesting and they, too, took to the streets.
Protests over the power tariff hikes have been going on for several weeks. Today was the start of an intensified five-day protest.
18 Jul 2012 21:57 #93036
Without knowing any of the facts on this episode , I can state quite clearly without fear of contradiction that the police had no choice but to use lethal force.
18 Jul 2012 22:24 #93038
I do remember Wismar Kwam, but My God, is the cycle of violence in Guyana never going to stop?
19 Jul 2012 09:04 #93042
anyhow this looks serious. allyuh appear worried. ignore my post above Meseret. I was just stoking...obviously.
hopefully this is resolved soon in the interest of all
19 Jul 2012 09:08 #93044
Yes Maps, it is serious.
And yes, we are worried.
And we are worried because Guyanese are a peaceful people on the whole. I reiterate that. Do not let scattered incidents and hateful inciting make you believe otherwise. For every violent Guyanese, there are thousands of peaceful ones.
Politicians are the bane of our very existence.
Trouble in Guyana
Time to create page: 0.180 seconds