24 May 2012 09:57 #87791
Culture Minister, Dr. Frank Anthony has shrugged off concerns about ethnic publications, arguing that rather than promote division they reflect Guyana’s unified diversity.
He made the comments Wednesday evening at the launch of Corbin Media Group’s (CMG) latest publication- ‘A Voz do Portugues Magazine- Recognizing Guyanese of Portuguese ancestry.’ In July 2011, CMG premiered Izwe- A Salute to People of African Descent.
“We are a multi-ethnic people and we must in a way celebrate our diversity and when we have a magazine that focuses on different parts of who we are as a people, we should be proud of it,†Anthony told the launch of the latest publication at the Umana Yana, Georgetown.
The Culture Minister underscored the importance of telling the story of the history and contributions of Portuguese who came from Madeira in 1835 to work as indentured servants on sugar plantations. “They have done so much for us and they have accomplished so much over the years but yet sometimes we pass these business successes along the way,†he said.
Anthony suggested that CMG might eventually publish a section of the magazine in Portuguese due to the increasing presence and influence of Brazilians- most of whom work in the gold and diamond mining industry.
The Culture Minister’s sentiments were echoed by historian, Sister Noel Menezes and Chairman of the Private Sector Commission, Ramesh Dookhoo who both pointed to the dwindled population of Madeiran ancestors. Official statistics show that Portuguese make up 0.20 percent of Guyana’s 751,223 persons. Around 1891, they had made up 4.3 percent of the then British colony’s population.
“Sadly, today the Portuguese segment of our population has dwindled down to miniscule proportions. The Portuguese business class was at the vanguard of the wave of emigration which resulted from our failed socialist experiment in the late 60s and the 70s,†said Dookhoo who works with Banks DIH, a company founded by Portuguese Peter D'Aguiar.
Many Portuguese have migrated to Canada, United States and England.
Dookhoo welcomed the new magazine, saying that it would focus on the history and contributions of Portuguese who carved a place in Guyana’s economic and social development.
Sister Menezes also recalled close collaboration and good political relations between Portuguese and Africans. “There were very few Portuguese to vote. Who voted them?...Black Peoples Association.
“There have been many instances of collaboration. Portuguese helping Blacks, Blacks helping Portuguese,†she said.
The British plantocracy had not wanted Portuguese to meddle in local politics and had not recognized their European heritage.
Madeirans had escaped poverty and compulsory military service in their homeland but many were scared away from immigrating to Guyana on grounds that they would have been branded and sold as slaves.
Publisher, Simeon Corbin said A Voz do Portuguese plans to also target the new generation with information to bridge the historical gap and promote Guyana’s diversity.
He noted that some areas of CMG’s work have not always attracted the expected support but the company will persevere. “I know there is no support for some of the projects that we pursue but we are prepared to live with that,†he said.
Corbin hopes that other companies will “see the benefits of being a part of this magazine and will throw your support behind it.â€
demerarawaves.com
24 May 2012 10:11 #87803
The Porto Indo offspring was the most handsome !
but their preference was Afro ... :blank:
24 May 2012 10:29 #87814
As a mid teen , this Portugese gyal absolutely loved me !
Elizabeth Gonsalves ...aaaahhhhh ...blue eyed brunette ....
wundah where she is :
I shouldda bring her to Canada !! :

: :

24 May 2012 10:44 #87821
back in titty Potogee made rum..had plenty land and money....inaccessible to people like me...
the Moorish memory did not wuk too well in titty
New magazine focuses on Guyana's Portuguese history
Time to create page: 0.230 seconds