Sea Food: Bugs of the Ocean

24 May 2012 12:37 #87847 by Nargis

vegans dont eat any animal byproducts period! no eggs, no dairy no fish etc....

right now i am vegetarian - lacto ovo

24 May 2012 13:06 #87854 by The Captain
over ruled

24 May 2012 13:20 #87856 by Nargis
[/t][/t]
Share ' The Four Types of Vegetarian Diets Explained'      
Four Types of Vegetarian Diets Explained If you’re considering giving up meat, you may be confused by the different types of vegetarian diets available to you. Vegetarian diets range from the super restrictive vegan style of vegetarianism to the more liberal flexitarian diet which incorporates limited amounts of meat. Here’s how to understand the different options available to you when you choose to go vegetarian.
The vegan diet
This is the most restrictive type of vegetarian diet. Vegans not only eliminate all animal-based foods but avoid dairy products of all types as well as eggs. While generally considered to be a healthy diet in terms of preventing disease, it takes planning to get enough protein, iron , and calcium on a vegan diet, although it’s not impossible. Many people start out with less restrictive form of vegetarianism and gradually progress to a vegan diet over time. 
Lacto-vegetarianism
People who adopt a lacto-vegetarian diet abstain from all meat products, including eggs, but continue to eat dairy products. The advantage to this form of vegetarianism is you’re less likely to develop a calcium deficiency due to the inclusion of calcium rich milk products.
Lacto-ovo vegetarianism
Lacto-ovo vegetarians avoid all meat but allow themselves to eat both dairy products and eggs. The inclusion of eggs and milk makes it easier to maintain calcium and protein levels and is, in general, an easier form of vegetarianism to adapt to, particularly if you eat out a great deal. Have you ever stopped to consider how many baked goods contain eggs and dairy products?
Pescatarians
One of the least restrictive forms of vegetarianism is the pescatarian lifestyle where you avoid all meat products with the exception of fish. Many people don’t consider pescatarians to be true vegetarians since they allow themselves to eat seafood. They also consume dairy products and eggs.
Flexitarians
Flexitarian is a relatively new term for a type of “on and off” vegetarian who eats a basic lacto-ovo vegetarian diet with the addition of meat products on occasion. This group of vegetarians is sometimes criticized for their lack of commitment to the vegetarian cause. Some flexitarians use this more flexible form of vegetarianism to test the waters and eventually transition over to more restrictive types of vegetarianism. 
Which type of vegetarian diet is right for you? It can be easier to transition to a vegetarian diet slowly by starting out as a flexitarian and gradually reducing meat consumption over time. Some people start by eliminating red meat and pork, followed by poultry, and fish as they become more accustomed to less meat in their diet. You may or may not choose to eliminate dairy and eggs to become a full vegan. Some vegans even take it a step further by becoming raw vegans, meaning they consume no food that’s been cooked or heated.
The good news is there are lots of options when it comes to choosing a vegetarian diet. Spend some time and explore the different possibilities before making your decision. Most of these options are healthier than the traditional American diet when it comes to preventing chronic diseases such as diabetes and heart disease.

Health Disclaimer . Copyright ©2009. Published with permission. Dr. Kristie Leong is a freelance writer and is not affiliated with Aviva.ca.
The Four Types of Vegetarian Diets Explained -  Dr. Kristie Leong - Health Disclaimer [/t]
  Aviva Home | More Natural Health Articles | Product Categories | Newsletter Signup | Find [/t]

Read more: www.aviva.ca/article.asp?articleid=136#ixzz1voChhW00

24 May 2012 15:46 #87867 by Nargis
maps dude, there is good cholesterol and bad cholesterol.

yes you need good cholesterol, you dont need the bad one.

you can effectively get rid of bad C with changes in diet and exercise.

24 May 2012 15:48 #87868 by ketchim
You have a Cholesterol problem ?

what is your HDL / LDL ratio ?

24 May 2012 15:53 #87870 by Nargis
my bad C is a little high, not to high to worry about but high enough that i should start to take care of it.

i have that because of my previous high red meat intake

• Errol
24 May 2012 16:03 #87872 by Errol
Vegetarianism goes against the laws of evolution and religion.  The Almighty did not give us molars and canines to crush oatmeal or tear lettuce.  They were given to us to crush bones and tear meat! 

24 May 2012 16:08 #87873 by ketchim

He gave us Teeth to Floss....  :blank:

24 May 2012 16:09 #87874 by ketchim
and to make Dentists and Orthodontists ,....Wealthy !  ::lol::

24 May 2012 16:10 #87875 by ketchim
and give Females work as a Hygenist !  :wink:

Time to create page: 0.217 seconds
JamisonHundreds of scholars say U.S. is swiftly heading toward authoritarianism(22.04.2025, 18:58)(18:58)0
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
BridgerWest Indies cricket team official website(23.03.2025, 00:23)(00:23)0
LyricUnfortunately, after spending 9 months in space, looking over the entire earth, the two Astronauts failed to locate APNU/AFC SOPs.(18.03.2025, 22:04)(22:04)0
LyricThe hour we lost was the one when I was planning to go to the gym(11.03.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
GianniWest Indies latest Test match scorecard(11.03.2025, 11:34)(11:34)0
ScarletSteven Smith South Africa cricket(10.03.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
ketchimCanada get new Prime Minister : Edmonton Mark Carney !(09.03.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
ConnerDr. Ashni Singh quote on government's stance on corrupt practices(08.03.2025, 16:12)(16:12)0
LyricGuy scored 368 bowl out Jam for 44 & didn't enforce the follow-on? That's bull crap(07.03.2025, 09:37)(09:37)0
LyricYesterday, my wife thought she saw a cockroach in the kitchen. She sprayed everything down and cleaned thoroughly.
Today I'm putting the cockroach in the bathroom.
(06.03.2025, 17:19)(17:19)0
ShilohU.S. says consequences for Maduro regime if provocation continues(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
Shiloh–Guyana stands firmly against Venezuela’s incursion(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 21:22)(21:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 03:16)(03:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 12:35)(12:35)0
(30.01.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 07:40)(07:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 11:44)(11:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 19:55)(19:55)0
DeaconCumberbatch(22.01.2025, 12:19)(12:19)0
Marissa$135 fuh reporting yuh mattie to ICE,deez nex few monts going to be quite interesting(22.01.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
AndersExxonMobil write-down natural gas fields(21.01.2025, 00:42)(00:42)0
MarissaJangoo should be in next game , captain should be dropped,Kacy karty, should be dropped,if roach is fit I would bring him in at the expense of st Clair.(20.01.2025, 17:41)(17:41)0
Baileymessage(20.01.2025, 15:25)(15:25)0
MercyKensington Oval stadium ticket policy(20.01.2025, 00:36)(00:36)0

(18.01.2025, 19:00)(19:00)0
(17.01.2025, 18:56)(18:56)0
ByronAmir jangoo replace dasilva(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
ByronTevin imlach gets debut(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
LindaMy question about the West Indies cricket team.(13.01.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
ByronWhy doesn't England have big cricket stadiums like those in Australia and India..?(11.01.2025, 16:31)(16:31)0
MaliyahHow do I purchase tickets for the upcoming cricket match at Kensington Oval in Barbados?(11.01.2025, 16:27)(16:27)0
ArielWest Indies vs India T20 match(11.01.2025, 15:59)(15:59)0
LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 19:11)(19:11)0
AmosAndrew Strauss steps down as England's director of cricket(10.01.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
DylanChris Gayle T20 statistics(09.01.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
SeanHello, I'm excited to join the conversation!(09.01.2025, 05:47)(05:47)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 21:03)(21:03)0
LanceYounis Khan to mentor Afghanistan at Champions Trophy 2025(08.01.2025, 21:02)(21:02)0
MercySouth Africa cricket team upcoming matches schedule(07.01.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
JavierType something here and click Submit or hit Enter...(07.01.2025, 08:37)(08:37)0
IvannaTest comment for registration.(06.01.2025, 17:33)(17:33)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
RileyCan you provide me with the contact information for the Czech Cricket Union (Českomoravský Kriketový Svaz)?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
RyleeI am looking for the contact information for the Czech Cricket Union (Českomoravský Kriketový Svaz). Can you please provide it?(05.01.2025, 22:05)(22:05)0
Karsyn2023 West Indies vs England test match series(04.01.2025, 20:29)(20:29)0
Nora